PDA

View Full Version : SageTV for Server2003/2008


Oats
02-16-2008, 10:19 PM
Does Sage have any plans on releasing a version for Server2003 or 2008 similar to the one they have for Windows Home Server? With no UI and a free placeshifter/extender license?

I'm dissapointed that WHS gets a free license and Server2003 does not. I tried installing Sage for WHS on Server2003 and like I expected there is no free placeshifter license. They really should change the WHS installer to work the same with Server2003.

Humanzee
03-07-2008, 03:26 PM
I'm just starting to select parts for a server, so beyond the placeshifter thing, is there a version that will work on a 2003/2008 server platform. I'm just wondering about hardware drivers for capture cards etc.

stanger89
03-07-2008, 06:42 PM
SageTV runs just fine (no playback of course) on Server 2003. All the cards I've tried have XP drivers that work fine in 2003 Server. Nevermind, I should read. That would be nice, in fact, I think it would be nice if the just gave the option period: SageTV w/ Psuedoclient or SageTV w/ Placeshifter/extender. No reason to leave XP/Vista users who have no desire for a local UI out in the cold :)

trini0
03-07-2008, 06:52 PM
I tried Sage on Server 2008, but for some reason, the capture card wasn't being recognised properly
Server 2003 works great so far...

soccerdad
04-04-2008, 07:07 AM
I tried SageTV on Windows Server 2008 also, tuners do not work as the BDA parts of the operating system are missing. Network encoders running on other computers do work. I've heard it should be possible to copy the required components from Vista into Server 2008, but haven't found anybody reporting success yet.

If Silicondust hadn't moved to BDA drivers for the HDHomerun, and blocked firmware downgrades, I'd switch my SageTV server to Windows Server 2008. It is a great piece of software, not a flop like Vista.

m.savazzi
04-04-2008, 01:10 PM
I'm using it on 2008 without capture card and as of today everything works.

My major issue is to find the right dfrivers for the remote and the right remote :(
the mce v1 does not work correctly.

Was anyone able to have a remote work on 2008?

M

madmax14304
06-05-2008, 07:13 AM
I know this is an old thread but has anyone made progress on running Sage on 2008 Server? Also why couldn't the GUI frontend run on it? I've recently obtained a license for Server 2008 and see this as an opportunity for server consolidation.

jim22
06-16-2008, 12:33 PM
If you follow the instructions here (Post 1), SageTV Server works with DVB-T Tuners on svr2008:

http://www.msfn.org/board/BDA-Tv-tuner-support-on-Server-2008-t114549.html

:D

Jason404
08-18-2008, 12:17 PM
Hey. I am new to SageTV. I am looking for a Media Centre program that will work on my planned HTPC/Server, running Windows Server 2008.

I do not yet know what you mean by placeshifter or extender, so with this in mind, could somebody please give me a brief description of the issues involved in running SageTV on Windows Server 2008?

What does not work, and what needs workarounds, and what caveats are there? Can the MCE Remote be made to work?

Thanks for any answers anybody can give me.

mayamaniac
08-18-2008, 01:55 PM
If you follow the instructions here (Post 1), SageTV Server works with DVB-T Tuners on svr2008:

http://www.msfn.org/board/BDA-Tv-tuner-support-on-Server-2008-t114549.html

:D
Thanks for the info. My Win2003 machine is running flawlessly so not sure I want to move to Win2008, but it would be nice to go 64bit.
Hey. I am new to SageTV. I am looking for a Media Centre program that will work on my planned HTPC/Server, running Windows Server 2008.

I do not yet know what you mean by placeshifter or extender, so with this in mind, could somebody please give me a brief description of the issues involved in running SageTV on Windows Server 2008?

What does not work, and what needs workarounds, and what caveats are there? Can the MCE Remote be made to work?

Thanks for any answers anybody can give me.
I don't think there are issues with placeshifter or extenders. What they are talking about above is the WHS (Windows Home Server) version of SageTV comes with a free placeshifter/extender license, and the regular version does not.

Most people don't use the server for playback, so not sure if the MCE remote works or not.

Jason404
08-18-2008, 09:56 PM
I don't think there are issues with placeshifter or extenders. What they are talking about above is the WHS (Windows Home Server) version of SageTV comes with a free placeshifter/extender license, and the regular version does not.

Most people don't use the server for playback, so not sure if the MCE remote works or not.

Ah thanks for the reply, mayamaniac, but there is at least the issue of having to install the BDA interface. I have a DVB-T BlackGold card which uses BDA drivers, so I would have to use the hack that jim22 mentioned. I am a bit concerned about having to do that (on a server that I want to be as clutter free and stable as possible) as Windows Update will never update it, and other updates could possibly be incompatible with it. I have had this problem before with a hack to make Vista allow concurrent Remote Desktop connections.

Are there any other possible issues that I may encounter by running SageTV on Windows Server 2008, anyone?

Do any Server 2008 users here know if I can run the server roles in a Hyper-V virtual machine, while the TV-card and HTPC role still has the necessary direct hardware access? (I really wish I could have the HTPC in a virtual machine instead, but this is probably totally impossible). I want to combine my server roles with HTPC role as I only want to keep one machine on 24/7 to save electricity, as it will be using a lot more than my current PIII-800 server running Windows Server 2003.

mayamaniac
08-18-2008, 10:46 PM
I think VMware supports USB from host to guest OS, so you can use USB tuners and IR blasters. And couple that with an HDHR as network encoder. So technically, you can run the HTPC in a virtual machine. But I think there are still other limitations that you'll into if you go that route. We need someone to be the guinea pig. :)

Fuzzy
08-22-2008, 04:40 AM
There should be no problem running a headless server in a virtual machine running a compatable OS, as long as it is using USB or Ethernet tuners. I wouldn't want to run a client/placeshifter in the virtual machine though.

mayamaniac
08-22-2008, 12:55 PM
There should be no problem running a headless server in a virtual machine running a compatable OS, as long as it is using USB or Ethernet tuners. I wouldn't want to run a client/placeshifter in the virtual machine though.
Are you saying that you tried it? If yes, then can you go into more details?

bryanzim
08-23-2008, 06:47 AM
I am running SageTV V6.4.8 on Windows Server 2008 x64.

Thanks to the previous post by mayamaniac, I was able to download the file and get BDA working. However, I had to install Vista x32 SP1 and Vista x64 SP1 on another machine to get the required BDA files for the script.

I have repackedged the files into a new link which can be installed immmediately on a new Server 2008 x32 or x64 machine. And have tested it and can now use my HD Home Run through BDA. :D

http://rapidshare.com/files/139490670/Microsoft_BDA_Components_For_Server_2008.rar.html

dpackham
10-14-2008, 11:02 AM
Check this out. this will help you get SageTV running on 2008

http://www.win2008workstation.com/wordpress/

Dave P

stanger89
10-14-2008, 12:49 PM
And have tested it and can now use my HD Home Run through BDA. :D

There any advantage to using BDA vs "normal"?

mbahr
08-04-2009, 09:12 PM
Regarding the file: http://rapidshare.com/files/139490670/Microsoft_BDA_Components_For_Server_2008.rar.html

I've downloaded and followed the instructions. Since I'm running Server 2008 (and doing it above my head) I tried to run "...\Setup for x64\Setup BDA.bat" as an administrator. However, this bat file generated a great number of "file not found" errors.

Per the instructions, the file structre starts at the root of C:\, which is also my installation drive.

Suggestions?

gplasky
08-05-2009, 04:13 AM
http://rapidshare.com/files/139490670/Microsoft_BDA_Components_For_Server_2008.rar.html


Regarding the file:

I've downloaded and followed the instructions. Since I'm running Server 2008 (and doing it above my head) I tried to run "...\Setup for x64\Setup BDA.bat" as an administrator. However, this bat file generated a great number of "file not found" errors.

Per the instructions, the file structre starts at the root of C:\, which is also my installation drive.

Suggestions?

Did you read and follow this post that followed that one before you tried installing the drivers?

Check this out. this will help you get SageTV running on 2008

http://www.win2008workstation.com/wordpress/

Dave P


Gerry