SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Beta Test Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Feature: 24h Time!!! (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49441)

FidgetyRat 07-01-2010 06:04 AM

Feature: 24h Time!!!
 
Any chance of squeezing the ability to change time format into sage 7 (Without the need to set the entire server in a European timezone?) I've been shooting for this feature since version 2 and it never comes.

There are plenty of us Americans that don't use the 12h system. It's borderline frustrating having every program I own EXCEPT SAGE accept that my machine had its time format set to 24h and believe it or not, it actually messes with your mind.

Sage is going to put me in the nutt house. :hi:

Neo 07-01-2010 08:24 AM

I live in Europe and have 24h clock and timezone CET on my server. The EPG and time stamps for recordings and so on show 24h format. But, the screen used to set a timed recording uses 12h format. Annoying... even if I rarely use it.

jbrandon 07-01-2010 08:45 AM

Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time formatů

FidgetyRat 07-01-2010 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbrandon (Post 434057)
Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time format…

Unless you are a SageTV user. Then you are forced to be a little boy (or gal) :bang:


for years...



Quote:

Originally Posted by Neo (Post 434053)
I live in Europe and have 24h clock and timezone CET on my server. The EPG and time stamps for recordings and so on show 24h format. But, the screen used to set a timed recording uses 12h format. Annoying... even if I rarely use it.

At least you get that much!

Reminds me of my cell phone. Env 3 Verizon, internal clock allows 24h, front clock only 12h.. Who comes up with this stuff.

Rico66 07-01-2010 10:43 AM

I don't really understand why applications need to do their own thing regarding the time format anyhow. Why not simply display the time the way it is setup in the OS?
Even if the time format is configurable within an application like Sage, it's still annoying that you have set things like this multiple times for a system.

GKusnick 07-01-2010 11:30 AM

Page 148 of the Studio manual tells you exactly how to make this change. Been there for years. Even if you've never opened Studio before, it shouldn't take more than a couple of hours to learn enough to do this yourself, save the result as an STVI, and be a hero to your fellow 24-hour partisans.

SHS 07-01-2010 03:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbrandon (Post 434057)
Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time formatů

Not in USA unless your the on military time or astronomical time as for your comment I beg differ, The 12-hour clock is, however, still dominant in a handful of countries and has been for min years long then 24 hour clock system.

tmiranda 07-01-2010 06:34 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Import this in the "old way" and it will change the display in the Main Header and the OSD to 24 hour time. Let me know if it does not work.

All of the other time displays will still be in 12 hour format. Changing those will take more time.

Tom

FidgetyRat 07-02-2010 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmiranda (Post 434170)
Import this in the "old way" and it will change the display in the Main Header and the OSD to 24 hour time. Let me know if it does not work.

All of the other time displays will still be in 12 hour format. Changing those will take more time.

Tom

Which UI does this require, V3 or V7?

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHS (Post 434148)
Not in USA unless your the on military time or astronomical time..

True, the USA mainly uses the 12h system. But we are also non-metric, love american football, and apparently hate soccer, so clearly we're a bit back-asswards in other regards :)


Friends tend to get annoyed about my clocks. I actually had one woman freak out when it was 00:00 and she almost cried (a bit crazy and yes alcohol was involved.). The best is when people try to read my watch. I use 24h analog watches so it takes people a few since the hands are all out of position.

tmiranda 07-02-2010 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FidgetyRat (Post 434219)
Which UI does this require, V3 or V7?

V7 - but I have not put it into the plugin repository so you will need to import it from detailed setup. If there really is a demand for this I will put it into the repository.

FidgetyRat 07-02-2010 07:25 AM

Very cool. Worked for me. If you ever get around to modifying all the other times like the guide and recording details, you'd probably be our hero and I would hence forth replace the line in my signature with homage to you. :thumb:

tmiranda 07-02-2010 08:03 AM

I usually have two projects going on at any given time; one big and one small. My big project is porting the Malore Online Browser to V7. I'll consider making this the other project.

The two changes I made were extremely easy, the rest are more difficult because in most places Sage uses a core API to print the date and time. I will need to create a few new java methods that mimic those APIs but produces 24 hr format. It's not really too difficult but will take a little time.

Do you use manual recordings very much? If so I will also need to work in that area because the UI accepts input in 12 hr AM/PM format.

Tom

FidgetyRat 07-02-2010 10:59 AM

As far as "Record channel 2 8:03pm -> 9:21pm" then no, I can't say I personally have ever done that. I guess some sports fans might. But I don't think anyone would mind one or 2 input times being 12h as long as it was clear thats the timespan it wants.

ITs more just an annoyance in the display times. Like looking at the guide and seeing AM/PM times in the columns, etc.


Just surprising this was never a configurable thing from the start.

blade 07-02-2010 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FidgetyRat (Post 434308)
Just surprising this was never a configurable thing from the start.

Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format? Do the EPG providers provide guides in both 12 hr and 24 hr? Of course I'm referring to products and services provided here in the U.S. I'm just curious as to how common it is for other PVR/DVR setups to have it as a configurable option.

tmiranda 07-02-2010 09:31 PM

Try This
 
2 Attachment(s)
Here is something for you to try. You will need to install it manually for now by:
- Stopping Sage
- Unzipping the STVi to the STVs\SageTV7 directory
- Unzipping the .jar file to the JARs directory
- restarting Sage
- import the STVi in the old way

If it works out for you I'll upload it to the plugin repository.

Tom

FidgetyRat 07-03-2010 09:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blade (Post 434348)
Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format? Do the EPG providers provide guides in both 12 hr and 24 hr? Of course I'm referring to products and services provided here in the U.S. I'm just curious as to how common it is for other PVR/DVR setups to have it as a configurable option.

Hmm, not too sure. If I remember several years before I used sage, I was using MythTV on linux and that adopted the host OS clock format. Most clocks these days allow for 24h and most software adopts the OS format. Take my Mac for example. Once I set it to 24h all the calendars, etc automatically use it.


Tom, I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Got a whole mini series recording all day today so I can't stop the service.

blade 07-03-2010 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FidgetyRat (Post 434440)
Hmm, not too sure. If I remember several years before I used sage, I was using MythTV on linux and that adopted the host OS clock format. Most clocks these days allow for 24h and most software adopts the OS format. Take my Mac for example. Once I set it to 24h all the calendars, etc automatically use it.

Yeah, I know most or at least a lot of programs will use 24h. Just wasn't sure about PVRs and DVRs since their use of time is much more involved than most programs.

tmiranda 07-03-2010 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FidgetyRat (Post 434440)
Tom, I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Got a whole mini series recording all day today so I can't stop the service.

It works in my test system and I've got it all ready to put in the plugin repository. I just want to make sure it works for you before I upload it.

FidgetyRat 07-04-2010 08:14 AM

Yep, seems to be working fine. Nailed the recordings, the guide, and other misc. areas. Anything else you need checked out?

Thanks a whole lot for doing this.

Fonceur 07-04-2010 09:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blade (Post 434348)
Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format?

Beyond TV has been using the regional settings for years...


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.