SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2010, 11:37 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 5,456
Cool Locator HTTP Redirect Service

Howdy all,

We added a new PHP script to our server (thanks for the help KJake) which removes the need for doing DynDNS setup in order to access your home SageTV system if you have a webserver installed on it.

The syntax is as follows:
Code:
http://locator.sagetv.com/locator.php?p=8080&id=d814-66bc-a6c1-11de&r=/sage
This will then send back an HTTP redirect to the following address:

Code:
http://206.193.125.55:8080/sage
(the locator ID and IP are just for example purposes; they don't match any existing one)

The 'p' parameter indicates the port for the redirect. The 'id' parameter is the locator ID who's IP should be looked up (the one in the example is just a random one from the server). The 'r' parameter is the relative path that should be in the URL. There can also be an 'ssl' parameter (no value needed for it) which will then do an https:// redirect instead of http://

The script is already live. Feel free to use it.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2010, 01:57 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
With the REST craze going on these days, the following may make it simpler to use

http://locator.sagetv.com/locator/d8...11de/8080/sage
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2010, 07:14 AM
mmanville mmanville is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bastafidli View Post
With the REST craze going on these days, the following may make it simpler to use

http://locator.sagetv.com/locator/d8...11de/8080/sage
FYI, your link does not work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2010, 04:40 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmanville View Post
FYI, your link does not work.
Sorry for not being clear. This was suppose to be a suggestion to Sage to make it little bit more user fiendly
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2010, 06:22 PM
Podmodder Podmodder is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada Eh?
Posts: 62
I am feeling pretty dumb right now, how exactly is this set up?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:00 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
He pretty much spelled it out in the first post. If you know your Locator ID, plugin that in after the id= in his example URL. If you know the port number your webserver is running on, plug that in after the p=.

If you don't already have a webserver plugin set up in Sage, this won't do anything useful. You'll also need to have your router configured to forward inbound traffic on that port to your Sage server, but again, if you're running a webserver, you probably have this set up already.

All this script does is let you access your existing Sage webserver by Locator ID instead of by static IP. If you're asking how to set up a webserver in the first place, that will depend on which version of Sage you're running and which web-based plugins you want to use. Specific instructions can most likely be found in the support/announcement threads for those plugins.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:18 PM
Podmodder Podmodder is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada Eh?
Posts: 62
That's what I'm saying, what is my locator id and where do i find it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:29 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
Detailed Setup > Server > Placeshifter Locator ID (p. 191 of the V6 manual).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:51 PM
Podmodder Podmodder is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada Eh?
Posts: 62
Oh ok, thanks. I haven't been known for using a manual, lol.

Last edited by Podmodder; 06-12-2010 at 09:34 PM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2010, 09:35 PM
Podmodder Podmodder is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada Eh?
Posts: 62
Ok, so I did all that and it says it can't work because it isn't connected to the server and puts localhost:8080/sage in my address bar


EDIT got it now

Last edited by Podmodder; 06-12-2010 at 09:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-12-2010, 10:50 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
You'll also need to have your router configured to forward inbound traffic on that port to your Sage server, but again, if you're running a webserver, you probably have this set up already.
For the sake of those who haven't tried Jetty on Sage v7 yet, one of the Jetty configuration options in the plugin manager is to enable UPnP. When it's enabled it will configure your router's mappings for you. Between that and the locator service, it takes very little work to set up Jetty and access the web applications remotely. (You can always do something more advanced like dyndns.org so you can have a URL that's easier to remember).
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:34 AM
computer33 computer33 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
This is great. I was tired of having ot renew my free dyn dns service all the time.
__________________
Server: AMD Barton 2500+, WinXP, 1Gig RAM, HD Homerun

Clients: HP dm1(E350), HD-100
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-21-2010, 04:26 PM
can3gxw can3gxw is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 217
I've had my DynDNS address for about two years now - never had to renew anything... I have the updater service running on my HTPC so it's always up to date, and I can access all of my Sage stuff remotely - WebUI, BMT, even my uTorrent... :-) LOVE DynDNS!
__________________
Gregg
WinXPPro SP3
AMD 3200+ 2GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:42 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 195
Is this script still working?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 7
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD200; Onkyo TX-SR607; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: HD300; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 7
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-21-2012, 11:42 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 5,456
Yes, it should still be working.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2014, 12:39 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 109
Yes - still working

After fixing a couple of copy/paste errors, and replacing the 8080 with my external port number, it works! This is important since DYNDNS just sent out an email to its free-service users that we now have to cough up some $ to keep the service. Granted, it's not a large cost, but still, since I'm only using it to give myself access to my Sage server, not set up a batch of host names, I'd be buying far more capability than I need.
__________________
Server: Windows XP-SP2, 2GB RAM; 1TB SATA. Dell GX280. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on Quam and Comcast DTA with USBUIRT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passworded http webcam srcurtis SageTV Studio 1 06-30-2008 08:30 AM
Hangs at service initializing-Locator Error Flips SageTV Software 3 03-08-2008 12:33 PM
Locator server did not have an IP address registered for this locator ID kelleyga SageTV Media Extender 6 11-12-2006 09:13 PM
http://www.sage.tv NOT WORKING? Sunkman General Discussion 6 09-06-2005 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.