SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2010, 06:04 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Feature: 24h Time!!!

Any chance of squeezing the ability to change time format into sage 7 (Without the need to set the entire server in a European timezone?) I've been shooting for this feature since version 2 and it never comes.

There are plenty of us Americans that don't use the 12h system. It's borderline frustrating having every program I own EXCEPT SAGE accept that my machine had its time format set to 24h and believe it or not, it actually messes with your mind.

Sage is going to put me in the nutt house.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:24 AM
Neo's Avatar
Neo Neo is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 70
I live in Europe and have 24h clock and timezone CET on my server. The EPG and time stamps for recordings and so on show 24h format. But, the screen used to set a timed recording uses 12h format. Annoying... even if I rarely use it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6750, 4GB, GF9300, HVR-1300, Colossus, BGT3620, Win7 64, SageTV 7.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:45 AM
jbrandon's Avatar
jbrandon jbrandon is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gladstone, MO
Posts: 151
Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time formatů
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:46 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrandon View Post
Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time format…
Unless you are a SageTV user. Then you are forced to be a little boy (or gal)


for years...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo View Post
I live in Europe and have 24h clock and timezone CET on my server. The EPG and time stamps for recordings and so on show 24h format. But, the screen used to set a timed recording uses 12h format. Annoying... even if I rarely use it.
At least you get that much!

Reminds me of my cell phone. Env 3 Verizon, internal clock allows 24h, front clock only 12h.. Who comes up with this stuff.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 10:43 AM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
I don't really understand why applications need to do their own thing regarding the time format anyhow. Why not simply display the time the way it is setup in the OS?
Even if the time format is configurable within an application like Sage, it's still annoying that you have set things like this multiple times for a system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:30 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
Page 148 of the Studio manual tells you exactly how to make this change. Been there for years. Even if you've never opened Studio before, it shouldn't take more than a couple of hours to learn enough to do this yourself, save the result as an STVI, and be a hero to your fellow 24-hour partisans.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2010, 03:40 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 3,365
Send a message via ICQ to SHS
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrandon View Post
Real men (and gals) use 24 hour time formatů
Not in USA unless your the on military time or astronomical time as for your comment I beg differ, The 12-hour clock is, however, still dominant in a handful of countries and has been for min years long then 24 hour clock system.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2010, 06:34 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,200
Import this in the "old way" and it will change the display in the Main Header and the OSD to 24 hour time. Let me know if it does not work.

All of the other time displays will still be in 12 hour format. Changing those will take more time.

Tom
Attached Files
File Type: zip 24HC.zip (659 Bytes, 144 views)
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2010, 05:44 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Import this in the "old way" and it will change the display in the Main Header and the OSD to 24 hour time. Let me know if it does not work.

All of the other time displays will still be in 12 hour format. Changing those will take more time.

Tom
Which UI does this require, V3 or V7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Not in USA unless your the on military time or astronomical time..
True, the USA mainly uses the 12h system. But we are also non-metric, love american football, and apparently hate soccer, so clearly we're a bit back-asswards in other regards


Friends tend to get annoyed about my clocks. I actually had one woman freak out when it was 00:00 and she almost cried (a bit crazy and yes alcohol was involved.). The best is when people try to read my watch. I use 24h analog watches so it takes people a few since the hands are all out of position.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.

Last edited by FidgetyRat; 07-02-2010 at 05:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2010, 06:50 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by FidgetyRat View Post
Which UI does this require, V3 or V7?
V7 - but I have not put it into the plugin repository so you will need to import it from detailed setup. If there really is a demand for this I will put it into the repository.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-02-2010, 07:25 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Very cool. Worked for me. If you ever get around to modifying all the other times like the guide and recording details, you'd probably be our hero and I would hence forth replace the line in my signature with homage to you.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-02-2010, 08:03 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,200
I usually have two projects going on at any given time; one big and one small. My big project is porting the Malore Online Browser to V7. I'll consider making this the other project.

The two changes I made were extremely easy, the rest are more difficult because in most places Sage uses a core API to print the date and time. I will need to create a few new java methods that mimic those APIs but produces 24 hr format. It's not really too difficult but will take a little time.

Do you use manual recordings very much? If so I will also need to work in that area because the UI accepts input in 12 hr AM/PM format.

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-02-2010, 10:59 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
As far as "Record channel 2 8:03pm -> 9:21pm" then no, I can't say I personally have ever done that. I guess some sports fans might. But I don't think anyone would mind one or 2 input times being 12h as long as it was clear thats the timespan it wants.

ITs more just an annoyance in the display times. Like looking at the guide and seeing AM/PM times in the columns, etc.


Just surprising this was never a configurable thing from the start.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-02-2010, 02:44 PM
blade blade is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by FidgetyRat View Post
Just surprising this was never a configurable thing from the start.
Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format? Do the EPG providers provide guides in both 12 hr and 24 hr? Of course I'm referring to products and services provided here in the U.S. I'm just curious as to how common it is for other PVR/DVR setups to have it as a configurable option.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-02-2010, 09:31 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,200
Try This

Here is something for you to try. You will need to install it manually for now by:
- Stopping Sage
- Unzipping the STVi to the STVs\SageTV7 directory
- Unzipping the .jar file to the JARs directory
- restarting Sage
- import the STVi in the old way

If it works out for you I'll upload it to the plugin repository.

Tom
Attached Files
File Type: zip 24 Hour Clock.zip (1.3 KB, 120 views)
File Type: zip 24HC.zip (3.9 KB, 130 views)
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-03-2010, 09:42 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format? Do the EPG providers provide guides in both 12 hr and 24 hr? Of course I'm referring to products and services provided here in the U.S. I'm just curious as to how common it is for other PVR/DVR setups to have it as a configurable option.
Hmm, not too sure. If I remember several years before I used sage, I was using MythTV on linux and that adopted the host OS clock format. Most clocks these days allow for 24h and most software adopts the OS format. Take my Mac for example. Once I set it to 24h all the calendars, etc automatically use it.


Tom, I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Got a whole mini series recording all day today so I can't stop the service.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-03-2010, 12:10 PM
blade blade is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by FidgetyRat View Post
Hmm, not too sure. If I remember several years before I used sage, I was using MythTV on linux and that adopted the host OS clock format. Most clocks these days allow for 24h and most software adopts the OS format. Take my Mac for example. Once I set it to 24h all the calendars, etc automatically use it.
Yeah, I know most or at least a lot of programs will use 24h. Just wasn't sure about PVRs and DVRs since their use of time is much more involved than most programs.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-03-2010, 05:46 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by FidgetyRat View Post
Tom, I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Got a whole mini series recording all day today so I can't stop the service.
It works in my test system and I've got it all ready to put in the plugin repository. I just want to make sure it works for you before I upload it.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-04-2010, 08:14 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Yep, seems to be working fine. Nailed the recordings, the guide, and other misc. areas. Anything else you need checked out?

Thanks a whole lot for doing this.
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:10 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
Does other PVR software or cable co. DVR's use the 24 hr format?
Beyond TV has been using the regional settings for years...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Request: One-Time Favorites Fuzzy SageTV Software 6 10-31-2009 08:17 AM
Feature Req: Summer's here, time to request movie channel IR selection again tvierling SageTV Software 1 06-24-2007 11:27 PM
6.0.14 Still no support for USA 24h Clock Format FidgetyRat SageTV Beta Test Software 2 11-17-2006 06:28 PM
Maybe add support for american 24h format? FidgetyRat SageTV Software 0 08-09-2006 02:52 PM
Feature Request: Limit IR to a time window RenHoek SageTV Beta Test Software 7 03-22-2004 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.