SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What are you currently using for PVR/DVR Functionality?
Still using SageTV 186 90.29%
MediaPortal 3 1.46%
Microsoft MCE 3 1.46%
XMBC 2 0.97%
MythTV 0 0%
NextPVR/GBPVR 1 0.49%
My cable/sat provider solution (DVR) 5 2.43%
Other (Please specify) 6 2.91%
Voters: 206. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-27-2012, 03:48 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by macsupergeek View Post
I would say the Ceton Q and Echo maybe the next real DVR solution to rival SageTV. I might go with the Echos to replace my extender's and then they would connect back to my current sage server just running windows media center, just waiting to see the price point. Only downside I can see is loosing my Playon capabilities and netflix/hulu/pandora integration, but then I was thinking that I could also drop a roku 2 box at every tv and that would also give me HBO GO.
If it works like the current media center netflix and hulu won't be an issue. Pandora is another thing. Not sure if anyone has made that work in wmc. Granted, I don't keep up with it because I don't care, but that's another story.

The ceton solution on the other hand looks very promising. If it isn't cablecard only. If it is, then it won't work for me.
__________________
SageTV Server: Asus P5q Deluxe with 8gb ddr2, Core 2 Quad Q8300, AMD 6570. Hauppauge 2250, 1600 and AverMedia A180 for OTA HD recording. 2x Colossus for DirecTV.

HT Client: i3 530, evga h55 board, OCZ ssd, 8gb ddr3, AMD 6670. Mitsubishi HC4000, 120" DIY AT screen, Gyration RF MCE remote (awesome) X-Box 360 control for roms

Living Room Client: Foxconn a3700 with kingston SSD, 4gb ddr3, Crystal HD. 65" Panasonic VT60, Keyspan RF MCE remote
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:48 PM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 182
Played with just about all the options since last summer and found that ALL of them have problems that I'd just rather not deal with since SageTV STILL WORKS. That's what keeps me here. Too much work to switch to any of them without gaining anything I need or want. I did get myself comfortable enough with NextPVR to get it up and running fairly quickly in case SageTV blows up and stops working. Not sure I'd settle on it, but if I had to change, at least I know I can get something else running if I need to.

I'll probably give MythTV a better look in the next few months, but that is only because I'm just about ready to pull the plug on Windows on my desktop PC (not the HTPC) and switch to Linux. Off topic, but the Metro interface is just not anything I want to use and I'm doing a lot more Linux at work lately.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-29-2012, 11:08 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 1,010
Been playing around w 7MC again, got up and running on a 525 atom with next gen nVida HDMi. Works real sweet, for what iti is, and it's th ebest way for me to take full advantage of the HDHR Prime.

Still using Sage and plan to untill it goes away for good, but with a few mods, MC can be real nice as well. Can't wait to see what happens with the Echo...

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-27-2012, 06:01 AM
hoadie hoadie is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 44
I've moved to a Humax PVR. It does everything I want and then some. It's 100% silent, has a more intuitive UI, doesn't crash, supports DLNA - so I can not only play media from my NAS box, I can also play my recordings using VLC or in fact any DLNA client, which means I can even vide them on my iPad.

I have been a mostly happy Sage user since 2003, and I have definitely gotten value for money in that time. But over the years it's become more ande more unreliable and bloated. I only upgraded to the latest version of Sage one month before the sale to Google and I can honestly say it was the least impressive and most problematic version of the lot.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-03-2012, 02:46 PM
pat_smith1969 pat_smith1969 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 305
I recently went to the dish hopper, does most everything that Sage did. Setting up the home media is a bit of a pain, but once it is running it works OK.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-03-2012, 10:28 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,888
I am still using SageTV and will be for a long time. I have two HD-200's I'm using and a HD-300 that is rarely used. I was worried I might have problems if any of the media extenders quit working. I never thought of backing up the hardware with more hardware extenders that could also break, or backing up the extenders with client licenses to build new client systems. I picked up several client licenses and server licenses. Now, I have peace of mind, knowing I can build up a client if a media extender breaks, without having to image back and re-install the client every 20 days for maybe a decade.

But still, no news from Google about their TV. If Google did it right, their stock would skyrocket. There's so much money to be made in TV. Or, maybe Apple might pull off their TV product. Both seem to be treading water now, going nowhere. I just might have to keep SageTV running for another decade or two.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Kingston 3 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD boot, 3 x 1.5 TB
Tuners: HDHR OTA, 2- HVR-2250 OTA, Colossus, USB-UIRT, HD DishNetwork
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Home X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix)
UnRAID 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:39 AM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
I ditched most of my stuff, but i'm not leaving Sage yet. I plan to continue to use Sage for quite some time. I just plan to use the Server and will use Boxee Boxes at each TV. More than 90% of what I watch is local channels, so Sage should continue to work just fine for that for a while longer.

So as long as I have EPG, I'm gonna keep using sage on the backend.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-04-2012, 08:45 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,685
So sad... that SageTV still has a superior product in many ways over the competition even without doing anything this past year. Soooo much potential lost.

I'm all in with SageTV even still. I just loaned my Roku2 to my adult daughter as she's "cut the cord" this year. I'm preparing for a move out of a larger home into a condo/rental situation so it's going to be interesting to see how I manage with my SageTV setup without being able to drill holes in walls. But I'm sticking with SageTV for the most part.

I think we'll see something interesting from Google introduced at the Google I/O conference. Don't know what exactly, but I'm taking a long-shot guess that they at least are dabbling in the cable-box/connected TV kind of space beyond what GoogleTV has been thus far. Don't really know for sure yet - shoot, I doubt Google is 100% sure what spaghetti will stick to the wall on their experiments.
__________________
Brent - HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic
Geek Tonic Blog - Why Google Bought SageTV
SageTV Tips How-To's and News
- Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:18 AM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
I tried to move to another DVR solution, but it simply doesn't exist as of yet. I haven't found 1 solution that could be even half as good as my HD300 is.
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:36 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,191
I looked around and there is still nothing that works better for me than Sage. Q/Echo, Joey/Hopper, NextPVR and whatever Google is working on are still on the radar screen.

Q/Echo may be the leading candidate because it will work with encrypted cable, which is what I have.

Joey/Hopper looks promising but I'd have to switch to satellite and that's not something I would look forward to. I'm one of the few people that likes the cable service I get.

NextPVR is the most "tweakable" but if I switch from Sage I'm not sure I want to tweak anymore.

Google is working on something, hopefully that will be something interesting.

Sage still does what I need the best, but it's a shame it's not progressing at this point. I'm partly guilty of that because I haven't done anything new since the announcement. I'd hate to spend more time on a wizzy new plugin only to find it obsoleted shortly after releasing it
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:43 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,140
I'm still using SageTV, but I'm taking a very serious look at XBMC. I want to use that for the front end because it seems to handle rips much better than the Sage client does. The next logical step will be either getting the SageTV recordings to work with XBMC or changing my back end to something that XBMC likes. I don't want to use two different solutions, based on source. I have no intentions of moving to the DVR any provider offers. (Although, I have to admit that the new DTV UI is a major improvement over the original one.)
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:55 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I'm partly guilty of that because I haven't done anything new since the announcement. I'd hate to spend more time on a wizzy new plugin only to find it obsoleted shortly after releasing it
Interesting notion, but I'll politely question your logic (even though I do actually understand and even support it). Wouldn't it only be obsoleted if you stopped using it? Let's face it--in reality--you write these things because you found a need and you had a desire to fulfill that need. We just happen to be very lucky benefactors. I'd offer that there really isn't a reason for you not to continue developing for it. You've already said there isn't something better out there and none of us know when something better is going to come along, so, unless you're planning on leaving Sage in the near future, why stop?

Just playing Devil's advocate here...
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:34 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I'm still using SageTV, but I'm taking a very serious look at XBMC. I want to use that for the front end because it seems to handle rips much better than the Sage client does. The next logical step will be either getting the SageTV recordings to work with XBMC or changing my back end to something that XBMC likes. I don't want to use two different solutions, based on source. I have no intentions of moving to the DVR any provider offers. (Although, I have to admit that the new DTV UI is a major improvement over the original one.)
I can tell you that mediaportal works with all of our current hardware with the exception of cablecard so that is what I'll move to if sage just dies completely. Sage still works perfectly for me so I don't have the motivation to mess with mediaportal unless I have to. XBMC+Mediaportal is pretty impressive though. I just wish their was a client/server model with XBMC like there is with Plex.
__________________
SageTV Server: Asus P5q Deluxe with 8gb ddr2, Core 2 Quad Q8300, AMD 6570. Hauppauge 2250, 1600 and AverMedia A180 for OTA HD recording. 2x Colossus for DirecTV.

HT Client: i3 530, evga h55 board, OCZ ssd, 8gb ddr3, AMD 6670. Mitsubishi HC4000, 120" DIY AT screen, Gyration RF MCE remote (awesome) X-Box 360 control for roms

Living Room Client: Foxconn a3700 with kingston SSD, 4gb ddr3, Crystal HD. 65" Panasonic VT60, Keyspan RF MCE remote
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-05-2012, 06:41 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Interesting notion, but I'll politely question your logic (even though I do actually understand and even support it). Wouldn't it only be obsoleted if you stopped using it? Let's face it--in reality--you write these things because you found a need and you had a desire to fulfill that need. We just happen to be very lucky benefactors. I'd offer that there really isn't a reason for you not to continue developing for it. You've already said there isn't something better out there and none of us know when something better is going to come along, so, unless you're planning on leaving Sage in the near future, why stop?

Just playing Devil's advocate here...
I was thinking about Sage/Google coming up with something new that was incompatible with the current plugin system. If that happened I'd have a lot of plugins to update/rewrite.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-05-2012, 08:19 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I was thinking about Sage/Google coming up with something new that was incompatible with the current plugin system. If that happened I'd have a lot of plugins to update/rewrite.
True, but you don't know when that will be or if you'll even want to move to it. It's sort of like sitting at home, waiting for Ms. Right to knock on your door and every time there's a knock, you think she's not the right one, so you wait for the next knock.

All in good fun, Tom.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:54 AM
BBCritical BBCritical is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 308
Personal combo

I voted other because I am using a combination of things. I currently use SB with a Sagetv frontend. Still get all of my programs with the look and feel of Sage. I change my input to FIOS when I want to watch livetv which is hardly ever. I am waiting for the vizio stream player to come out and when that happens I will use that with SB and plex for recording and be able to watch livetv through its HDMI pass through. At that point I will probably drop Sage for good unfortunately.
__________________
Server: Asus M3A; AMD Phenom quad core CPU; 3Gb RAM ; ATi x1600 PCIe Video Card
Tuners: 1 Adaptec PVR 3610, 2 PVR 500s; 1 HDHomerun; 2 HD PVR
Storage: 1.2 Tb

Clients: 2 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:53 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 4,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
All in good fun, Tom.
She already knocked and I answered

On a serious note, I just found out over the weekend that my cable companyis going all-digital and all channels except the networks will be marked "copy once". Not good.
__________________

Sage Server: ASUS/Intel C2D based system w/4GB RAM. WinXP Home, Hauppauge PVR 150, Hauppauge HVR-2250 and an HDHR. Runs headless. Accessed via VNC when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-08-2012, 10:53 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
... I just found out over the weekend that my cable companyis going all-digital and all channels except the networks will be marked "copy once". Not good.
That is one of the compelling reasons to switch at some point to 7MC and use an HDHR Prime (or Similar), once Sage run is over. I can't stand the new cable STB's - mine is a severly crippled Samsung.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-08-2012, 06:51 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
She already knocked and I answered

On a serious note, I just found out over the weekend that my cable companyis going all-digital and all channels except the networks will be marked "copy once". Not good.
Who is your provider?
__________________
Server: Home-built i5 3.2GHZ, 320GB HD, 4GB DDR3, Win7 32-bit, 3.5TB of drives for recording
SageTV: 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HD Homerun (QAM), Ceton USB infiniTV (CableCard), HD-PVR (Comcast)
Client 1, 2, & 3: HD200. Client 4: Foxconn A3700 w/Sage Client
NAS: Synology DS207+ 2TB (Movie Storage)
Sage Add-ons: Jetty, Neilms Webserver (Jetty), Mobile Web, Play-On Plug-in, Comskip Plug-in
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-13-2012, 10:11 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
On a serious note, I just found out over the weekend that my cable companyis going all-digital and all channels except the networks will be marked "copy once". Not good.
Sounds like the perfect time to switch to DirecTV.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Today gatorwes SageMC Custom Interface 19 01-21-2010 06:00 PM
Got my new Hd200's today. traker1001 SageTV Media Extender 1 10-27-2009 05:05 PM
2.0.16 Today? JasonJoel SageTV Beta Test Software 30 04-15-2004 06:29 AM
.16 today? GbrNole SageTV Beta Test Software 11 04-02-2004 08:58 PM
SageTV 2 Today? kevthor SageTV Beta Test Software 88 01-24-2004 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.