SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:20 AM
Pelicanjoe Pelicanjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 76
Exclamation Anybody else dead in the water after last night's MS updates?

I mistakenly have my Windows 7 updates to auto install. I get up this morning and Sage will not start as a service. I go in and uninstall all of the updates, restart and still the service will not start. So, I reinstall sagetv, but no-joy!

Anybody else have this problem? I filed a bug report, but haven't heard anything.

Welcome to Friday the 13th!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:32 AM
Pelicanjoe Pelicanjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 76
Update, I reinstalled Java and now everything is working. WTF?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 09:42 AM
chris_woodruff chris_woodruff is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
I had the same issue. SageTV program wouldn't start, nor would the SageTV service. Reinstalled Java 6 Update 31 and everything was fine. Wasn't very happy about it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:50 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 968
Did the update uninstall or disable JAVA???
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800K, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, HDHR, HD-PVR (Playback - PC Client)
Server #2= AMD A10-5700, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, 2x HDHR, Ceton InfiniTV 6 Eth (Playback - HD-200)
Server #3= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 1TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 02:48 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 416
I had to uninstall and reinstall. But it really helped knowing what was broken.

Thanks.

Wayne
__________________
i7-870, Gigabyte GA-H57M- Micro ATX MB, 4GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 7,Ceton CableCard Tuner, 2 x HDHR, 2 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2012, 05:00 PM
krewl1 krewl1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1
I had noticed it installed flash 7 update 1 and 2. Uninstalled both of those which left java 6 31 and it worked again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my HD-PVR dead? iammike Hardware Support 10 10-28-2010 07:42 AM
Last Night's Final on ITV HD - Problems? Lucas SageTV United Kingdom 27 11-22-2009 11:03 PM
HD-PVR dead? Dean_H Hardware Support 4 03-02-2009 10:06 AM
To Water Cool or Not to Water Cool a HTPC Server? Humanzee Hardware Support 10 04-19-2008 07:26 AM
No schedule Recordings in display. Sage dead in water..help Fluffdaddy SageTV Beta Test Software 6 03-19-2007 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.