SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2012, 06:38 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 423
Server crashes

A few times recently, I've been using Sage on my HD300 and suddenly it turns itself off and cannot reconnect. When I go upstairs to where the server is running, I find that the service has crashed. There is a log file in the Sage main directory that says:

Code:
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x00000000, pid=1204, tid=1784
#
# JRE version: 6.0_31-b05
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (20.6-b01 mixed mode windows-x86 )
# Problematic frame:
# C  0x00000000
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://java.sun.com/webapps/bugreport/crash.jsp
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#
I don't know if this is a Java issue or a Sage issue. I found some older log files that are from JRE 6.0.30.

By the way, I noticed that I'm running a 32-bit version of Java. Should I try switching to 64bit? Would there be any performance gain?

I'm running windows 7, SageTV 7.1.9. I recently started playing with Diamond, but based on the logs it appears that this happened before that switch (while I was running Phoenix, and maybe even the standard Sage 7 UI)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2012, 07:55 PM
firenice firenice is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
A few times recently, I've been using Sage on my HD300 and suddenly it turns itself off and cannot reconnect. When I go upstairs to where the server is running, I find that the service has crashed. There is a log file in the Sage main directory that says:

Code:
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x00000000, pid=1204, tid=1784
#
# JRE version: 6.0_31-b05
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (20.6-b01 mixed mode windows-x86 )
# Problematic frame:
# C  0x00000000
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://java.sun.com/webapps/bugreport/crash.jsp
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#
I don't know if this is a Java issue or a Sage issue. I found some older log files that are from JRE 6.0.30.

By the way, I noticed that I'm running a 32-bit version of Java. Should I try switching to 64bit? Would there be any performance gain?

I'm running windows 7, SageTV 7.1.9. I recently started playing with Diamond, but based on the logs it appears that this happened before that switch (while I was running Phoenix, and maybe even the standard Sage 7 UI)
Sage will only use the 32 bit java so the 64 bit will do no good unless it's a mixed use computer. Sage runs in a 32 bit enviroment. Some post relate that sage will have problems with all above 6.0.26 but it varies to XP vs win7.

Client works fine with 6.0.31 but the server side is subjective.

There are plenty of posts about sage and java versions that are working now.

Good Luck
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2012, 08:32 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 284
I had a similar issue and things got better when I moved back to Java 6 update 26. Didn't completely clear it up though and what I ultimately found was that my wiz.bin was corrupt. I exported my data through the web server and deleted the old wiz.bin.. then used the web server to re-import my data and all is well now. One note on that though is that I couldn't get my favorites to re-import so I had to add those back in manually and I lost my watched data.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with server crashes Wrx4me SageTV Software 2 11-19-2010 02:55 PM
HD200 crashes sage server davey_fl SageTV Media Extender 1 07-05-2010 09:51 AM
HD Video Crashes on Server, Not over MediaMVP Diego Garcia SageTV Software 2 05-29-2009 09:38 AM
server crashes salsbst SageTV Software 20 01-06-2009 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.