SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:45 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 609
Sage and Avast Anti-Virus?

Just went through a chain of events where I thought I had the wrong version of Java. Somebody started throwing Null Pointer exceptions from Client.

Then both Client and PlaceShifter started just dying during startup. The splash screen would be there and then "Poof!".... nothing.

Uninstalled everything Sage, uninstalled Java, and then re-installed Client - which called the Java installer.

On first startup, Avast popped a "Suspicious application" dialog that noted that Client was being run in Avast's "Sandbox".... then Client's splash screen went poof...

On Avast's "What to do next time with this app..." dropdown, I chose "Run normally". Now client is running A-OK. Haven't tried 'shifter yet, but expect the same.

Bottom Line:

If you're running Avast and Sage gets weird, check to see if Avast is running Sage's app in it's sandbox.
__________________
Server: SageTV 6, Windows XP, Intel Core2 Quad Q8400 @2.66GHz, 2 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus 901 1.6GHz XP Pro running Client over WiFi-N + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 7.4 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (2) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 2 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (4 tuners total) on separate mini-LAN
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2012, 05:59 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 979
Yes, that sandbox feature is a little too over protective, if you ask me! It didn't like SAGEAudioConvert the other day either.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800K, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, HDHR, HD-PVR (Playback - PC Client)
Server #2= AMD A10-5700, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, 2x HDHR, Ceton InfiniTV 6 Eth (Playback - HD-200)
Server #3= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 1TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV incompatible with anti-virus cte SageTV Software 31 01-06-2010 05:13 AM
G Data Anti-Virus Interferes with SageTV? cte SageTV Software 2 09-14-2009 05:03 PM
Bad interaction with Avast! AntiViru...Help Please robhix SageTV Media Extender 3 02-27-2007 06:52 PM
Avast Matie!! Help me get my Server on the sea! kaudley SageTV Software 4 09-19-2006 06:26 PM
virus on download! hookla SageTV Software 17 01-28-2006 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.