SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2012, 06:33 AM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 402
I am converting my movies to MKV because it takes so much less space on the hard drive. The problem is it doesn't matter if I scn with sage or BMT, my movies that have been converted only show up under folders, but not under Movies.. What am I doing wrong or is this typical for MKV files?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 1 terrabyte storage. Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 60000 4 gig ram, Windows 8 Pro w/Media Center both machines.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2012, 11:59 AM
will will is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
I am converting my movies to MKV because it takes so much less space on the hard drive.
Just curious but how would an MKV take up less space on a hard drive? My understanding is that MKVs are containers for video files so unless you are converting the files to something else then wrapping them in an MKV they shouldn't take up any less space.

Correct or am I missing something?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows Server 2003
Hardware: AMD 64 X2 4800+ with 4GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250 & 2 Hauppauge HD-PVRs
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2012, 12:44 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 402
To give you an example, I have Independence day. It uses 4.2 gig of hard drive space. The same movie converted to MKV takes up1.2 Gig of hard drive space. I am using Handbrake.
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 1 terrabyte storage. Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 60000 4 gig ram, Windows 8 Pro w/Media Center both machines.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2012, 12:48 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 442
Handbrake is probably transcoding the file as well as 'converting' to mkv. You can probably just change the container file to mp4 and get the same space savings. I'm pretty sure Sage or BMT will pick up an mp4.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2012, 12:58 PM
will will is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 536
Also, when you convert to an MKV you lose the menus and probably don't include the special features, correct?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows Server 2003
Hardware: AMD 64 X2 4800+ with 4GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250 & 2 Hauppauge HD-PVRs
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:10 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 988
All my movies are in MKV containers, and they work fine.

There is a setting in the SageTV properties to exclude file types. (forget the name) Maybe that is set on your machine.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800K, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, HDHR, HD-PVR (Playback - PC Client)
Server #2= AMD A10-5700, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 5.5TB, 2x HDHR, Ceton InfiniTV 6 Eth (Playback - HD-200)
Server #3= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 1TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2012, 08:56 PM
CADweasel's Avatar
CADweasel CADweasel is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dunedin, Florida
Posts: 32
I have changed the extensions of the video files from .mkv to .avi to get Sage to see them. That has fixed it for me in the past. I have never had any problems with the playback of those files after changing the extension.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7.1.9, Win7-64, Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 4 GB RAM (Headless)
Tuners: 1x PVR-150, 1x PVR-1600, 1x Colossus
Server Storage: 80 GB for OS & SageTV, 2 TB Recordings
NAS: Synology DS212j, 3 TB WD & 3 TB Seagate (Mirrored) for Movies, Music and Pictures
Media Extenders: 1x HD300, 3x SageTV Clients, USB-UIRT & Happauge Remote
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2012, 06:14 AM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 402
You're right WILL, you loose the menus and special features. On most movies I never watch the special features, and as far as menus go, there are certain movies I won't convert because I need the menus to pick options ie excercise videos where you pick the intensity of the workout.

I don't know why, but I tried scanning again last night and sagetv is now seeing the movies and properly organizing them. Thanks for everyone's input!
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 1 terrabyte storage. Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 60000 4 gig ram, Windows 8 Pro w/Media Center both machines.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SImple question about playing a DVD in drive and Library Scanning. jptheripper SageTV Software 3 08-17-2010 11:25 AM
Need Help - How to get Movie Information for Video Files? rdabate SageTV Customizations 1 12-08-2009 05:42 AM
Adding Cover & Information to Movie Library? casperse SageTV Software 5 01-24-2005 05:41 AM
Edit .mpg files with Movie Maker? Stuntman SageTV Software 1 05-14-2004 10:08 AM
Movie Library - file structure Sweep SageTV Software 2 01-26-2004 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.