SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:21 AM
vhurst's Avatar
vhurst vhurst is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 107
Have valid Media Ext. license, yet get trial expired?

I've been using my SageTV shop purchased MediaMVP, with the valid license provided by Sage for four months. I even upgraded Sage to v4.1.9 two months ago. All of a sudden I'm getting a trial period has expired warning on screen. The SageTV License Registration software says I do have one valid license, yet an expired trial period.

What needs to be done to gey my media extender to start using my valid license?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:51 AM
vhurst's Avatar
vhurst vhurst is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 107
Fixed... I guess.

I hadn't restarted the Sage Server PC yet due to recordings that were underway. Now that I have, I don't get the expired trial period on the MVP anymore. I still have the "Your media extender trial has expired" under the SageTV License Registration software, which kinda sucks, but oh well.

An explanation as to why this might have happened would be nice, and should I expect this to happen again? I don't really care for the calls from my wife at work telling my my GeekTV is broken again. Stability is bliss.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2006, 08:12 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 9,181
You may need to make sure that you quit the Sage server (not sleep) and/or stop the Sage service (if you're using it) before you put in the MVP registration number. Once evrything is stopped enter in your number and start Sage or reboot your server. You should be good to go.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:00 PM
lotus298 lotus298 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
I'm having the same problem. I've been using my new MediaMVP (with genuine license) for the past week with no issues, but tonight Sage reported that my trial period was over. I've tried about every combination of unregistering/reregistering my key, starting and shutting down Sage, and restarting the PC. And yes, the server and media extender capabilities are enabled in Sage.

Sage reports that I have one valid extender license, but the MVP can't find a server. I've tried unplugging the MVP, but that doesn't help.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:13 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,281
You've closed SageTV (and the service) completely, unplugged the MVP, and entered the license at that point? I think there may still be an issue remembering the license if it is entered while SageTV is still running.

While SageTV is not running & the MVP is unplugged, have you tried removing the 'clients' subdirectory in the SageTV dir? This will clear out the MVP's properties file, which has a chance of getting corrupted (and is a known bug).

- Andy
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 is available here.
- Read the SageTV FAQ and PDF User's Guides for SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:27 PM
lotus298 lotus298 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
That worked. Here is exactly what I did:

1) Close Sage
2) Unregister key
3) unplug MVP power
4) Re-register key
5) Start Sage
6) Plug in MVP

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.