SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2006, 02:48 PM
r4qm4n r4qm4n is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Controlling Sky or Sky+ Digibox from SageTV - without IR !

Hi All,

For those trying to control Sky digibox from PC, just a quick plug for a hardware solution that I stumbled across over on the Snapstream forums...

...a very neat little USB device that connects to RF2 on the Sky digibox (I think most have RF2) to control channel changes. Works great with SageTV via 'exetuner' controlling a Grundig GDS3000 digibox.
http://www.heenan.me.uk/control-sky-from-pc/

The only small issue was that the supplied CLI software, when launched via exetuner, it briefly flashed up a cmd window, but wrapping the command in a VBscript that hides itself worked round that.

Hope that's useful to someone

:-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:34 AM
obbiie obbiie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Hi,

Can you help with a little detail on how you got it working? I have the sky control device and use it easily in Beyond TV (and it's flawless) but can't get it to work using EXEtuner. I've tried adding to the registry telling exetuner to call up the exe and issue the --sky --channel command but it doesn't seem to work.

K
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2006, 02:53 PM
r4qm4n r4qm4n is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Hi obbiie,

Sure, no problem, took me a bit of fiddling to get it working.

See my config details below. If you still have problems, it may be worth double checking that the the channel change event is actually firing, by just putting something like this in the reg entry:

echo %CHANNEL% >> c:\channel.txt

..then changing channels and checking the text file, you should see a list of the channel numbers that you changed. If that is not working, the problem is with Sage/ExeTunerPlugin rather than the Sky Control.


This is my EXETunerPlugin reg entry:
=======================================================
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Sage\EXETunerPlugin]
"command"="wscript C:\\\\changer.vbs %CHANNEL%"
=======================================================

..and this is the script:
=======================================================
Dim oShell
Set oShell = WScript.CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
oShell.run "sky-control-usb --sky --channel " & WScript.Arguments(0), 0, true
=======================================================

Hope that helps !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2010, 02:04 AM
AdeG43 AdeG43 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Hi, I had this working in XP and it was great. I've upgraded to Vista and I can't get the combination of registry entry, script and sky-control application to work. With some tweaking of the script above I know that the registry entry is passing the channel number to the wscript file successfully, but I get an error message that the script cannot find the file (ie the sky-control app).

My code is:
Registry entry cmd:
wscript C:\changer.vbs %CHANNEL%

Script
Dim oShell
Set oShell = WScript.CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
oShell.run "sky-control-usb --sky+ --channel " & WScript.Arguments(1)

The sky control app is in the same folder. If I hard code a channel number into the script eg oShell.run "sky-control --sky+ --channel 116" and run the script then it finds the sky-control app and the channel changes in sageTV (albeit it opens a cmd window briefly which this script is supposed to prevent). It's the combination of registry entry, script and app that don't work. I've tried turning off User Access control but the script for some reason can't seem to find the sky-control when activated by the exeplugin.
Thanks for any advice you may have.

Ade
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:42 AM
cbrazie cbrazie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
SAGETV and SKY TV GUIDE

Hi,

I am very new to the software side of things. I hope someone can help me with the setup :

I have a Hauppage HD PVR, SKY+ HD Box and SageTV installed. I cannot get the SKY TV guide to show inside the SageTV program, so I cannot schedule any recordings.

Can someone plese help me how to set this up. I would be forever greatful.

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.