SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2007, 11:55 AM
mohanman mohanman is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
DVB versus U.S.?

Hey guys, what is the difference between Euro/Australia DVB tv system and US? I mean I was going through some gadgets, they have some pretty cool stuff including that dvico box that can be a pvr hd tuner also, but only works DVB? Does DVB have DRM like we have ? So stupid that we cant record tv that we pay for without having to go through so many loopholes

Mo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:11 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,369
DVB is a modulation/broadcast technology, it's basically serves the same purpose as ATSC (8VSB) and QAM in the US, but is incompatible.

DVB does have provisions for Conditional Access via Common Interface modules (somewhat similar in purpose to CableCard), though to the best of my knowledge there are no "DRM" requirements for viewing/recording content that requires CA.

In the US, the only DVB is Dish Network, but it's a somewhat "tweaked" version, DVB hardware is capable of tuning Dish signals but Dish's CA system is incompatible with the European DVB CA system.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2007, 01:34 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
Any guess on if the Dish network CA cards will work in the twinhan that has a card slot?


Any concerns with using the Canadian methods with a paid US subscription? I see much My Theater conversation for a mostly US product, usx the twinhan is software and the Nexus doesn't have a CA slot.


Competition in this area could really give the cable companies a run for their money.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2007, 02:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
Any guess on if the Dish network CA cards will work in the twinhan that has a card slot?
No it won't, Dish doesn't use (quite) standard DVB CA.

Quote:
Any concerns with using the Canadian methods with a paid US subscription? I see much My Theater conversation for a mostly US product, usx the twinhan is software and the Nexus doesn't have a CA slot.
AFAIK, BEV is the same as Dish as far as CA goes. I don't think any of the DVB CA systems will work with either.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2007, 03:42 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
I'm in the US just looking at ways to get HD in my machine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2007, 03:53 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,369
R5000 is basically the only way if you've got Sat.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2007, 03:22 PM
justplainnuts justplainnuts is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
HD thru Sat is possible. You need a DVB PCI card like Twinhan's Sat Pro 1070 and a dish to receive the signal. There is a little more to it than that but those are the basics. You wont get Dish Network or DirecTV but there are other options in the sky that have the same programming.

I would suggest looking at this forum:

http://dvbn.happysat.org/index.php

You will need to sign up before you will be able to see any of the topics.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2007, 02:57 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by justplainnuts View Post
HD thru Sat is possible. You need a DVB PCI card like Twinhan's Sat Pro 1070 and a dish to receive the signal. There is a little more to it than that but those are the basics. You wont get Dish Network or DirecTV but there are other options in the sky that have the same programming.

I would suggest looking at this forum:

http://dvbn.happysat.org/index.php

You will need to sign up before you will be able to see any of the topics.
It should be clarified that this is true for Free to Air channels.

Enrypted channels require a CAM and card which complicates matters in terms of support by and compatibility with the software used to do the tuning.
__________________
Server: C2D, 3Gb RAM, 1xSeagate LP 1.5TB Recording HD, 8TB Green HDs for Videos, PVR-250, PVR-USB2, 2xCinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
HD200 connected to Projector, HD100 connected to 46" LCD TV, HD200 connected to 42" Plasma TV, Media MVP to 29" SDTV
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2007, 09:55 AM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 572
The new european standard is DVB-S2, while Dish Network uses something called turbo-coded QPSK modulation in DVB-S.

The only device that I've ever heard of that can receive these signals is:

http://www.genpix-electronics.com/in...6e4a40cba948b9

But its not going to decrypt the signal, so your left with just a couple of demo channels that Dish Network has in the free and clean.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2007, 09:09 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by lobosrul View Post
The new european standard is DVB-S2, while Dish Network uses something called turbo-coded QPSK modulation in DVB-S.
Turbo-Coded 8PSK actually, for the HD channels. Also Dish uses a somewhat modified (thus incompatible) version of the Conditional Access/Common Interface system used by DVB.

Quote:
But its not going to decrypt the signal, so your left with just a couple of demo channels that Dish Network has in the free and clean.

Yup, like NASA and the "Woohoo! I've got Dish!" channels.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best DVB for UK? jcoyne Hardware Support 2 04-08-2007 06:12 PM
Hauppauge DVB cards dooferlad SageTV Beta Test Software 3 11-05-2006 10:44 AM
DVB Tuner causes Client to freeze srcurtis SageTV Beta Test Software 0 02-22-2006 01:24 PM
Sage and DVB Mahoney Hardware Support 4 12-14-2005 11:40 AM
2 Non-Conflicting Freeview DVB Boxes rickgillyon Hardware Support 0 11-17-2005 07:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.