SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:56 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 736
CL2 rated cables?

So I got some new speakers for Christmas, they are neat. Now that means that I can get the surround processor that I want too.
Anyway its time to select speaker wire and interconnects for hooking it all up and I keep running into the term "CL2 Rated" but I don't know what it means. I even searched google to little avail. I'm tring to decide between oxygen free copper calbe or CL2 rated copper cable that also has a jacket for each pair so that its easier to work with behind walls etc. Both are the same size conductor but I don't know about the ratings. Anybody know what CL2 means?
__________________
Server: 8500GTS, EVR- HVR 1250 - HVR 1600 QAM - HDHR - Comcast HD via HD-PVR - Abit IP35 Pro, Q6700 - 6Gb RAM - Win7U 64 - 9TB - 20" LCD monitor
Client1: 8600GTS EVR, Antec Fusion Black case, C2Duo E6600, Win7U 64, 4Gig ram, 50" Panasonic Plasma 1080P
Client2: HD100, 37" Westinghouse LCD 1080P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:34 PM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,154
CL2 rating is for cables designed for in-wall installation. It regards the plastic insulation(doesn't burn easily etc) around the copper and not the copper itself.
__________________
Server: C2D, 3Gb RAM, 1xSeagate LP 1.5TB Recording HD, 8TB Green HDs for Videos, PVR-250, PVR-USB2, 2xCinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
HD200 connected to Projector, HD100 connected to 46" LCD TV, HD200 connected to 42" Plasma TV, Media MVP to 29" SDTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:50 PM
BFisher BFisher is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 394
If you install where your cables are in the wall/ceiling... make sure you use CL2 rated - don't just use regular speaker wire. You can find it at most Home Automation stores (online). It's not cheap but it's the right way to do it. If you can't find any stores, send me a PM and I'll send you a few (I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post stores here)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2007, 04:13 PM
jdamore jdamore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Posts: 289
Unless you have building codes to follow, I wouldn't even worry about it. Maybe I'm being dense but if theres enough heat in my ceiling/walls to melt the insulation off "regular" cables then I think I've got other problems. I always had the idea that CL2 cables will not burn and spread like a fuse. But again, if theres fire in the walls, CL2 will help?

Well if you want to use CL2, monoprice has a large selection.

Last edited by jdamore; 12-26-2007 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:53 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdamore View Post
Unless you have building codes to follow, I wouldn't even worry about it. Maybe I'm being dense but if theres enough heat in my ceiling/walls to melt the insulation off "regular" cables then I think I've got other problems. I always had the idea that CL2 cables will not burn and spread like a fuse. But again, if theres fire in the walls, CL2 will help?

Well if you want to use CL2, monoprice has a large selection.
I would worry about it for an in-wall installation. If your house burns down and the claims adjuster discovers you've installed "regular" (non-CL2) cable in the walls, your insurance company can deny your claim, even if that wiring was not the direct cause of the fire.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:05 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
When I was a twelve, I got hold of some 3-conductor telephone cable that I used on my bike to run 6V-DC from a motorcycle battery to a radio on the front. I crashed the bike and shorted out the wires on the front. From all the smoke and sparks you would have thought I was in a Hollywood movie.

If you want to use the cheap stuff, just make damn sure the cables never accidentally come into contact with 110VAC, any heated metals in the wall, or a kid with a motorcycle battery.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:10 PM
FMAX's Avatar
FMAX FMAX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 50
Insurance...

you an insurance agent?

I don't think they would deny your claim for non CL2 rated speaker wire. There would definately be another reason for them to deny your claim.

if you are doing a remodel that may require permits then an a-hole inspector might bust your balls. CL2 is easier to install anyway Lowes or HomeDepot should carry CL2 4 conductor. go with at least 18ga, 14ga if you are going 200' or more but not nessary. Anything outside in the ground best to buy Gel cable for corrosion, more expensive though.

(Conjo) DO not use for any thing other than audio equipment!
__________________
Luv Ya Sage!! Hanging On!!
HD-100(x2), HD-200(x2), HD-300(x2), MVP(x2) ,HDHR-(original), HDHR-Dual, HDHR-Prime, SageDCT, Hauppauge HVR-1600 & 1800, Windows 7(64bit) Pentium Dual-Core E6300 2.8gHz, 4GB, Gigibit E-Net, Placeshifter(x2), Client (x1)...
I've Tried all Media Centers, Sage Still The Best!
Hmmmm, Google Fiber

Last edited by FMAX; 12-26-2007 at 08:13 PM. Reason: Conjo!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:22 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMAX View Post
you an insurance agent?

I don't think they would deny your claim for non CL2 rated speaker wire. There would definately be another reason for them to deny your claim.

if you are doing a remodel that may require permits then an a-hole inspector might bust your balls. CL2 is easier to install anyway Lowes or HomeDepot should carry CL2 4 conductor. go with at least 18ga, 14ga if you are going 200' or more but not nessary. Anything outside in the ground best to buy Gel cable for corrosion, more expensive though.

(Conjo) DO not use for any thing other than audio equipment!
No, I'm not an agent. While an insurance company probably won't flat-out deny your claim for improper wiring, it will certainly count against you when they calculate amount covered/reimbursement. Why risk it when it's just as easy to install the correct type of in-wall wire?
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:50 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,375
Why would you not use CL2 wire?

12AWG CL2: $0.32/ft
12AWG: $0.26/ft

If saving $3 over 50ft of cable is that important, maybe you should re-examine what parts you're spending money on. If you go with 14AWG, it's only a $1 over 50ft.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10239
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-27-2007, 12:45 AM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 736
CL2 it is then, I am going to make a drop from behind the TV down through the crawls space and up into the walls where the surround speakers are going to be. Its not the price difference that I care about, it was the audio quality. Not that I'm likely to be able to tell the difference but if I'm going to go under the house to pull wire, I want to pull the correct stuff.

I think 100ft of 12AWG CL2 should do it. I've bought from monoprice before and I'm happy to give them some more business. I see that they have some nice Banana Binding Posts too. Thanks for the response guys.
__________________
Server: 8500GTS, EVR- HVR 1250 - HVR 1600 QAM - HDHR - Comcast HD via HD-PVR - Abit IP35 Pro, Q6700 - 6Gb RAM - Win7U 64 - 9TB - 20" LCD monitor
Client1: 8600GTS EVR, Antec Fusion Black case, C2Duo E6600, Win7U 64, 4Gig ram, 50" Panasonic Plasma 1080P
Client2: HD100, 37" Westinghouse LCD 1080P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Okay, how do I remove XXX rated names out of my search (old imported XXX videos) mkanet SageTV Software 21 04-28-2009 06:20 AM
Time Warner Cable's new HD cable boxes reboot_this Hardware Support 4 04-17-2007 03:34 PM
Anyone seen these cables? wvpolekat Hardware Support 1 04-16-2007 11:30 AM
Configuring PC to HDTV with Nvidia forceware and DVI to HDMI cables mcaron1234 SageTV Software 4 01-27-2006 05:00 PM
Record from RCA Cables andrew171 General Discussion 2 11-17-2003 12:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.