SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:07 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 378
Complete config back up - how to?

Hey all working on setting up a new sageTV install and want to try the SageMC... and well actually was thinking I outta know how to back up my sage setup. Not the videos... the 'how it works and looks' parts ... Wiz.bin contains info on all my recordings correct? is it nothing else? and is Sage.Properties my settings. and the STV or XML file the 'look'? So with just three files I can entirely back-up my sage 'configuration'??

From the FAQ i see:

1. Go to your SageTV directory, usually "C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV".
2. Once there make a copy of each the following 3 files and place it in a backup directory(any directory you can easily find).
"Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" "Sage.properties".
(Or just make a complete backup of your entire SageTV installation directory.)
3. Now that you have backed up these files you will be able to restore your "Favorites" and all your personal SageTV settings if something should go wrong.
4. Now you just do the same as suggested in method #2.


If you used method #3 and something did go wrong with your upgrade you can now restore your previous version of SageTV. You can do this by...

1. Uninstalling the failed upgrade. (You should know how to do this from above)
2. Reinstall your older version of SageTV. Note: I suggest you always keep the previous SageTV setup file until you are sure you are happy with the newer version.
3. Then delete the "Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" and "Sage.properties" files from your SageTV folder. Make sure you don't delete you backups by mistake.
4. Copy your backups of the "Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" and "Sage.properties" files to your SageTV directory.
5. Reboot and restart SageTV and you should be back to your old version.

If I do this and back up the STV files am I all set?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:50 PM
Fastrack Fastrack is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 247
Send a message via ICQ to Fastrack
Quote:
Originally Posted by enzominator View Post
Hey all working on setting up a new sageTV install and want to try the SageMC... and well actually was thinking I outta know how to back up my sage setup. Not the videos... the 'how it works and looks' parts ... Wiz.bin contains info on all my recordings correct? is it nothing else? and is Sage.Properties my settings. and the STV or XML file the 'look'? So with just three files I can entirely back-up my sage 'configuration'??

From the FAQ i see:

1. Go to your SageTV directory, usually "C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV".
2. Once there make a copy of each the following 3 files and place it in a backup directory(any directory you can easily find).
"Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" "Sage.properties".
(Or just make a complete backup of your entire SageTV installation directory.)
3. Now that you have backed up these files you will be able to restore your "Favorites" and all your personal SageTV settings if something should go wrong.
4. Now you just do the same as suggested in method #2.


If you used method #3 and something did go wrong with your upgrade you can now restore your previous version of SageTV. You can do this by...

1. Uninstalling the failed upgrade. (You should know how to do this from above)
2. Reinstall your older version of SageTV. Note: I suggest you always keep the previous SageTV setup file until you are sure you are happy with the newer version.
3. Then delete the "Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" and "Sage.properties" files from your SageTV folder. Make sure you don't delete you backups by mistake.
4. Copy your backups of the "Wiz.bin" "Wiz.bak" and "Sage.properties" files to your SageTV directory.
5. Reboot and restart SageTV and you should be back to your old version.

If I do this and back up the STV files am I all set?
Personally I backup the entire Sage directory before doing a major upgrade. As all your imported STVi's will be restored etc.. REmember if you go to a new machine make sure you have all the drives / directories configured in which sage knows about or your recordings could disappear (The recordings do not have to be in the same directories as they were previously just in a directory which Sage knows about).

Also don't forget about SageClient.Properties if you use the SageTV Service.

Win.bak is the previous version that Sage backs up when it starts so it's always a good idea to back that one up (as you noted above)
__________________
Ben
Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4GHz - Win7 64bit
Antenna: Homemade Gray-Hoverman DBGH, Channel Master 7777 pre-amp, Mid-60s CM Rotor
Tuners: HDHomeRun v1, Hauppauge HVR1600
Video: BenQ W5000 1080p, ASUS ATI 6670
Storage (10TB): Seagate 2TB, Hitachi Coolspin 2TB x 4 Data Drives + 2TB x 2 Parity Drives using FlexRaid 2.0 (RAID6 T2+)
SageTV: 7.1.9 Final ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:16 PM
Addict's Avatar
Addict Addict is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 335
I backup the entire Sage directory every night automatically...that way I've got pretty close to the latest config regardless of what might happen. There's only one file that fails regularly, but I don't believe it to be an important one...some "lock" type file that seems to have a backup that does get grabbed.
__________________
Al Bsharah / Twitter
Clients:
Two STX-HD100 High-Def Extenders
Media Server / NAS:
Case: Thermaltake Armor CPU: AMD Opteron 1218 (2.6GHz Dual Core) Motherboard: ASUS MN2-LR Memory: 2GB Gfx Card: Headless Tuner: Hauppauge HD-PVR, Hauppauge PVR-350 (not in use) O/S: Windows 7 Sage: Latest RAID: On-Board Drives: 6 x 1.5TB SATA RAID-5, 2 x 80GB IDE RAID-1 (O/S) Storage: 7.5TB Total
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:34 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 378
OK - Knowing that EVERTHING about sage is in the sage program directory... I suppose backing up the whole shebang is not a bad way to go. Thanks to all at the Sage Forums as always.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Button function once back to Main Menu Fastrack SageTV Software 1 12-26-2007 04:41 PM
Help..how do I reset back to start garyellis SageTV Media Extender 7 12-21-2007 06:11 AM
6.2.5 'back' can get stuck... nielm SageTV Beta Test Software 5 08-03-2007 02:27 PM
Trial Period for V6? Rolling back? jsonnabend SageTV Software 5 12-18-2006 05:03 PM
Imported video plays back dark on MVP tomfisk SageTV Media Extender 3 10-31-2006 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.