SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2004, 03:49 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,680
Feature Request: aac support

Lately i've been ripping all of my new music into AAC format in order to save space on my iPod. It would be nice if Sage were able to play those file too.

Obviously not a pressing issue, but I just wanted to toss down my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:19 PM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
While plain ol' AAC support s probably possible, and something I'd very much like, don't keep your hopes up for support of encrypted AACs from ITMS. Unfortunately, apple is keeping the encryptiong algorhytmn proprietary, probably for legal reasons. Unless there's some way to have sage use Itunes playback engine, I doubt we'll see that.

I would LOVE any kind of AAC support though.
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:21 PM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
I *think* that if you installed itunes and they used quicktime it would work. Not really my area, though.

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:34 PM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
For now, I'm just using Itunes with my wireless mouse. I probably wouldn't consider using sage until it can play unecnrypted AACs minimally, and encrypted AACs ideally.

It would be nice to have it all in one app. Maybe you're on to something with Quicktime. I'll try playing encrypted AACs in quicktime as an experiment.
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2004, 04:54 AM
phenixdragon phenixdragon is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 560
I know I use to want ACC support, but then I realized that with iTunes I can just burn all the CDs form ACC to CD Audio and then rip it back and replace the ACC files with MP3. Now I have more freedom then using a secure file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2004, 07:14 AM
Deadbolt's Avatar
Deadbolt Deadbolt is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 687
yeah but for ease of use....sage playing aac direct from an iTunes buy would be best.
Who really wants to burn my 1500 cds (all legal) worth of aac to audio cd, then rip them back to mp3...or convert all to mp3 and either loose some in the conversion by replacing my aacs, or require double the storage by keeping an mp3 copy and an aac copy.
...much better option would be sage playing right from a shared iTunes directory
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:20 AM
JJarmoc JJarmoc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 265
Since my ipod plays AAC, it's really not worth the effort to burn CDs and re-rip to MP3. I'd sooner just use the Itunes player.
__________________
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:57 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
You people...

Supporting the evil apple and its advance towards flooding the world with computer illiteracy, promoting hoards of mindless internet "savy" users.

I mean hell...why dont you just go buy stock in AOL while your at it! Jebus.

You should be asshamed of yourselves!
__________________
If you're not cheating, your not trying...

My sage rigs:
Server - Windows 2003, Intel 865 PERLL w/ P4 3.2g 1gb ram, 3-PVR250, 3-PVRUSB's, 1 Skystar2, 1 twinhan 102g, 1 starbox DVB-S Cards. Evo network QAM encoder. 1.2TB storage 6.x server + MTSAGE for DVB
Client 1/Master BR - MediaMVP running a 30" Olevia LCD TV.
Client 2/Front Room - Shuttle ST61G4 XPC 1gig ram, 60gb HD, BTC9019 wireless keyboard/mouse & Harmony 880. 6.x client. GF6600GT driving a Sony WEGA 55" rear projection tv.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2004, 09:00 AM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,680
Must... fight ... urge... to flame... Apple... hater....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2004, 09:01 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Oh YAH! Bring it :P

Quote:
Originally posted by evilpenguin
Must... fight ... urge... to flame... Apple... hater....
__________________
If you're not cheating, your not trying...

My sage rigs:
Server - Windows 2003, Intel 865 PERLL w/ P4 3.2g 1gb ram, 3-PVR250, 3-PVRUSB's, 1 Skystar2, 1 twinhan 102g, 1 starbox DVB-S Cards. Evo network QAM encoder. 1.2TB storage 6.x server + MTSAGE for DVB
Client 1/Master BR - MediaMVP running a 30" Olevia LCD TV.
Client 2/Front Room - Shuttle ST61G4 XPC 1gig ram, 60gb HD, BTC9019 wireless keyboard/mouse & Harmony 880. 6.x client. GF6600GT driving a Sony WEGA 55" rear projection tv.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-26-2004, 10:59 AM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
OS X == UNIX + great apps + great ui

Need I say more?

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:14 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
Unix with any ui and app = good

Apple using unix w/ error codes such as "bummer" = bad

Apple support = bad

Apple price = bad

Need I say more?




I.


Quote:
Originally posted by ErsatzTom
OS X == UNIX + great apps + great ui

Need I say more?

t
__________________
If you're not cheating, your not trying...

My sage rigs:
Server - Windows 2003, Intel 865 PERLL w/ P4 3.2g 1gb ram, 3-PVR250, 3-PVRUSB's, 1 Skystar2, 1 twinhan 102g, 1 starbox DVB-S Cards. Evo network QAM encoder. 1.2TB storage 6.x server + MTSAGE for DVB
Client 1/Master BR - MediaMVP running a 30" Olevia LCD TV.
Client 2/Front Room - Shuttle ST61G4 XPC 1gig ram, 60gb HD, BTC9019 wireless keyboard/mouse & Harmony 880. 6.x client. GF6600GT driving a Sony WEGA 55" rear projection tv.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:42 AM
ErsatzTom's Avatar
ErsatzTom ErsatzTom is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 712
Send a message via AIM to ErsatzTom
Never seen a "bummer" error code, never had a problem with support, and never, even for a second, regretted the money I spent on my mac.

t
__________________
Thomas Micheline
duff@sage-community.org
http://www.sage-community.org/
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:47 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
more power to ya! *cough*

Quote:
Originally posted by ErsatzTom
Never seen a "bummer" error code, never had a problem with support, and never, even for a second, regretted the money I spent on my mac.

t
__________________
If you're not cheating, your not trying...

My sage rigs:
Server - Windows 2003, Intel 865 PERLL w/ P4 3.2g 1gb ram, 3-PVR250, 3-PVRUSB's, 1 Skystar2, 1 twinhan 102g, 1 starbox DVB-S Cards. Evo network QAM encoder. 1.2TB storage 6.x server + MTSAGE for DVB
Client 1/Master BR - MediaMVP running a 30" Olevia LCD TV.
Client 2/Front Room - Shuttle ST61G4 XPC 1gig ram, 60gb HD, BTC9019 wireless keyboard/mouse & Harmony 880. 6.x client. GF6600GT driving a Sony WEGA 55" rear projection tv.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-26-2004, 12:42 PM
phenixdragon phenixdragon is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally posted by Deadbolt
yeah but for ease of use....sage playing aac direct from an iTunes buy would be best.
Who really wants to burn my 1500 cds (all legal) worth of aac to audio cd, then rip them back to mp3...or convert all to mp3 and either loose some in the conversion by replacing my aacs, or require double the storage by keeping an mp3 copy and an aac copy.
...much better option would be sage playing right from a shared iTunes directory
True, that many sounds like it might take awhile to burn and rip. So with that said, lets go for full AAC support.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:02 PM
norm911 norm911 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
I agree with phenixdragon. I've got some 700 CD's in my iTunes library - all AAC and all legal - and I can't stand the thought of having to transcode, convert, or duplicate any of that for use with my Sage libraries. YES, I'm aware that I should have stuck with MP3 for standardization and portability, but with 92.1% of the market there's not much more room to argue. Apple, the Mac, the iPod, and AAC are are here to stay. I'm not saying I agree with the way Apple has forced AAC on the industry, but the reality is that it's here now and dominates the market.

So, now, the big question: How can we get AAC support in the jukebox section of Sage so we can make use of our existing libraries? Is it a licensing thing with Apple? Has Apple made the API and libraries for AAC encoding public? Any word on whether AAC support is slated for a future Sage release?

Just curious,
Norm
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:13 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin
Must... fight ... urge... to flame... Apple... hater....
I thought OS X had a lot of promise, then I spent about 30sec with it in a lab at school and realized I still hated it.

How do you use a computer with only 1 mouse button (probably showing my Mac illiteracy there )
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:39 AM
wmrowcliffe wmrowcliffe is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
as an apple employee, i won't even get into the who's better argument, you guys obviously don't know a good machine.

I have a modded xbox running evoX and XBMC. In XBMC (XBOX Media Center) under music I have the option: "iTunes Network Share [DAAP]" Now however this is set up I'm sure can be set up through sage as well. When i load it up I see a list of all my playlists and have access to my music library, where I can go artist>album>song like i do in iTunes itself.

I also know that i can link you to places in the music store, as well as local users in my home to places on my 'SHARING ENABLED' iTunes.

A lot of the info on this can be found here: http://daap.sourceforge.net/

I could try to get into it but the only PC i have in my house is the one running sage i built out of spare parts.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:58 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmrowcliffe
as an apple employee, i won't even get into the who's better argument, you guys obviously don't know a good machine
I know this is OT, but maybe to the people in this thread who don't like apple machines, they AREN'T good machines. Since you're an apple employee, you're more accustomed to their interface & how to use them. It would have been more PC to just agree to disagree, instead of questioning whether they know a good machine or not. I've noticed that most Apple people think this way. (No offense intended, just expressing my views...)
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:29 AM
ukmgranger's Avatar
ukmgranger ukmgranger is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Derby England
Posts: 609
I own apples and PC's

Both have strengths and weaknesses. That's life (or computers) for you. If one machine was good at everything we wouldn't have the option of both, and if there wasn't a good bit of rivalry in the world computers wouldn't be where they are today.

Talk about sitting on the fence!!
__________________
[SIZE=1]updated: Jan 07 - 2011
Server: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.40GHz, 3Gig Ram, Win 7, SageTV v7 (always latest Vsn) . Avermedia Volar (DVB-T) USB freeview receiver x 2, PCTV 290e DVB-T2 USB
1 x HD3000 in Kitchen (love it!), 2 x MVP clients - Mac Mini Client (with nVidia), AppleTV2
All Media stored on external Netgear LAN 1TB HDD.
Screens: Sony KDL32V2000 32" LCD (Lounge); JVC LT-17E31-BJG 17" LCD (Bedroom), Sharp Aquos LCD (Kitchen)
[URL="http://www.your-web-designer.com"]Your-Web-Designer[/URL][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.