SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:09 AM
cmaffia's Avatar
cmaffia cmaffia is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 612
Send a message via Yahoo to cmaffia
REQUEST: CD Support out of the box please!

I know there are workarounds for this but at this stage of SageTV MEDIA CENTER's development one would expect the ability to play an audio CD OUT OF THE BOX to have already been implemented.

Would it be difficult or possible for this request be fulfilled before the next version is implemented? :-)

Thanks,

A happy SageTV customer since April 2004

Six Sigma practice - VOC - Voice of the Customer
__________________
Server: Dual Tuner: PVR-150MCE/PVR-250MCE/SageTV v5.02/Asus Pundit-R 2.4GHZ/512MB DDR RAM/250 GB Maxtor HD (8MB Buffer) External Seagate 400GB HD via USB 2.0/Onboard ATI 9100 using SVIDEO TV-Out/Nvidia DVD decoder/Actisys 200L IR Blaster (Dish receiver) USBUIRT (DirectTV receiver)/Lite-On 4X DVD-R/RW/Windows XP Pro SP2/Adesso Mini IR Keyboard w/integrated mouse/Tivo "Peanut" Remote via USBUIRT/Dish Network Model 301/DirectTV subscriber/Webserver Plugin v2.8

Last edited by cmaffia; 06-15-2008 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:23 PM
dagar dagar is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 667
I think it would be impossible to expect it at this point ... we've been asking for it for years now
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:42 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 680
I thought the purpose of a CD was to put it in my computer, start Itunes, have it create MP3 of the songs to be uploaded to my Ipod and then play from my computer or in HD100? There is another purpose?
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 2x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 2, HD-100 x 1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2008, 05:04 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
I thought the purpose of a CD was to put it in my computer, start Itunes, have it create MP3 of the songs to be uploaded to my Ipod and then play from my computer or in HD100? There is another purpose?
Yes and then they can be used a pretty coasters for my bar....at least that's what I do with them!

My wife knows when she brings home a CD, to just hand it to me and 10 minutes later she's either playing it on Sage or loading it onto her MP3 player....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2008, 06:32 PM
cmaffia's Avatar
cmaffia cmaffia is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 612
Send a message via Yahoo to cmaffia
CD's are still viable obviously. It just seems silly that you can put a CD in your PC and play it in Windows but on the same computer you can't play the same CD using SageTV.

Heck I still play my old vinyl records from time to time! :-)
__________________
Server: Dual Tuner: PVR-150MCE/PVR-250MCE/SageTV v5.02/Asus Pundit-R 2.4GHZ/512MB DDR RAM/250 GB Maxtor HD (8MB Buffer) External Seagate 400GB HD via USB 2.0/Onboard ATI 9100 using SVIDEO TV-Out/Nvidia DVD decoder/Actisys 200L IR Blaster (Dish receiver) USBUIRT (DirectTV receiver)/Lite-On 4X DVD-R/RW/Windows XP Pro SP2/Adesso Mini IR Keyboard w/integrated mouse/Tivo "Peanut" Remote via USBUIRT/Dish Network Model 301/DirectTV subscriber/Webserver Plugin v2.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2008, 06:40 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 680
all kidding aside, I agree. If Sage can play a DVD, then it should be able to play a CD. Unfortunately, as each year passes, the chance of this coming to fruition is going to become less and less.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 2x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 2, HD-100 x 1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2008, 08:58 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
all kidding aside, I agree. If Sage can play a DVD, then it should be able to play a CD. Unfortunately, as each year passes, the chance of this coming to fruition is going to become less and less.
The difference here is that the majority have their music collections in some other form other than just solely CD. DVD's on the other hand, most do not have the space to have their whole DVD collection on their hard drives. I have a file server with 1.6TB of storage space but even I don't have all of my DVD's ripped to it (only the ones I will watch regularly). Another reason for having your music collection in some other format is due to most people interested in HTPC's, have some sort of MP3 player (we are gadget guys aren't we?). This makes a built in CD player rather trivial for most users. I personally couldn't imagine trying to find a CD when I want to listen to an album. The only time this would ever be an issue is if someone brought over a cd to listen to and even then I would just use one of the half dozen CD players in my house.....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2008, 04:54 PM
cmaffia's Avatar
cmaffia cmaffia is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 612
Send a message via Yahoo to cmaffia
Back to my original request....It's not much to ask.. really. The audio CD is a recognized and extremely popular music format!

Any media center should allow it to be played directly AND allow it to be ripped to the media center as an option AND provide this service out of the box.

I miss this feature, my wife misses this feature, my kids want this feature and I know I am not alone :-)
__________________
Server: Dual Tuner: PVR-150MCE/PVR-250MCE/SageTV v5.02/Asus Pundit-R 2.4GHZ/512MB DDR RAM/250 GB Maxtor HD (8MB Buffer) External Seagate 400GB HD via USB 2.0/Onboard ATI 9100 using SVIDEO TV-Out/Nvidia DVD decoder/Actisys 200L IR Blaster (Dish receiver) USBUIRT (DirectTV receiver)/Lite-On 4X DVD-R/RW/Windows XP Pro SP2/Adesso Mini IR Keyboard w/integrated mouse/Tivo "Peanut" Remote via USBUIRT/Dish Network Model 301/DirectTV subscriber/Webserver Plugin v2.8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2008, 05:11 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
What happens if you simply add the CD ROM drive as an import directory?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2008, 05:59 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
What happens if you simply add the CD ROM drive as an import directory?
I can't speak for other platforms, but in Windows you need a player that can recognize and play .cda files. I don't think the built-in media player can do that. Even if it could, the disc itself contains no metadata, so all you'd get would be anonymous numbered .cda files. You wouldn't really want those files added to the media database; you just want to play them and then forget about them when the disc is ejected.

I've written a plugin that uses Windows Media Player APIs to access the .cda files on the disc and download metadata from the Internet. It provides a simple UI for playing audio CDs in Sage, but is not well integrated with the V6 music browser. (I don't have the time or inclination right now to do such integration myself, but anybody with decent STV coding skills who wants to tackle it is welcome to do so.) I haven't brought it up before on this thread since the OP insists on out-of-the-box functionality and isn't interested in plugins or workarounds.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast HD Box Giving Free Cable Channels Away? brb84 The SageTV Community 15 07-02-2008 08:11 PM
Comcast HD Box setup help. skoof Hardware Support 3 03-27-2008 05:46 PM
licensing - I submitted a tech support request ybrew SageTV Software 5 08-05-2006 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.