SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2008, 11:25 PM
ikarus79m's Avatar
ikarus79m ikarus79m is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 290
iPhone SageTV App

With the iTunes app store and firmware 2.0 about to come out, do you guys think SageTV is working on something like this?

http://www.macrumors.com/2008/06/26/apple-to-offer-itunes-remote-control-app-for-iphone-and-ipod-touch/

PLEASE, PLEASE do!!!!
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/GermanThoughts/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2008, 01:53 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
With Sun Microsystems making Java opensource (OpenJDK/IcedTea), hopefully Java will be ported to many devices, especially mobile devices like the iPhone. Once that happens, you can run Placeshifter or access WebServer with it.

Now if only Adobe opens up Flash also. It'll probably never happen though.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:05 AM
ColumbusGEEK's Avatar
ColumbusGEEK ColumbusGEEK is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16
The itunes remote control from your iPhone is awesome.

I can only beg and plead for this functionality to Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:41 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,676
iPhone & iTunes, what's that - never heard of it

Agreed it would be cool. I'm not a big fan of iTunes, but since I use it it would be nice to see some functionality between SageTV and iTunes.
__________________
Brent - HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic
Geek Tonic Blog - Why Google Bought SageTV
SageTV Tips How-To's and News
- Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2008, 04:11 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
With Sun Microsystems making Java opensource (OpenJDK/IcedTea), hopefully Java will be ported to many devices, especially mobile devices like the iPhone. Once that happens, you can run Placeshifter or access WebServer with it.

Now if only Adobe opens up Flash also. It'll probably never happen though.
Apple's license for the iPhone/iPodTouch API doesn't allow Java and Flash to be run. Someone *could* improve the web remote that ts a part of the Sage web server.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to DishNetwork VIP-211k(s)
DVD Storage: 16 TB (8x2TB)
TV Storage: 8 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 2TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2008, 04:28 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidget View Post
Apple's license for the iPhone/iPodTouch API doesn't allow Java and Flash to be run. Someone *could* improve the web remote that ts a part of the Sage web server.
It would have to be homebrew then. If they can get Doom to be played on an iPhone, then Java is certainly possible.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2008, 05:38 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,674
You could also use a Slingbox when they release their app.

B
__________________
Running SageTV 7.1.9 on Arch Linux 64-bit, Java 1.7.0_25, 3 HD300 Extenders
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 (Cable Card in Linux), 1 HD-PVR and lirc using the HDPVR -- Check out my blog
Comskip on Linux
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2008, 08:43 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
It would have to be homebrew then. If they can get Doom to be played on an iPhone, then Java is certainly possible.
It would have to be on a jailbroken phone and I don't know how popular that will be anymore. The license does not allow interpreters (like Java) to be run. There is nothing that would prevent Doom from running.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to DishNetwork VIP-211k(s)
DVD Storage: 16 TB (8x2TB)
TV Storage: 8 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 2TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:14 PM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColumbusGEEK View Post
The itunes remote control from your iPhone is awesome.

I can only beg and plead for this functionality to Sage.
It is so amazingly useful for me, I'm pretty blown away. I've been using iTunes to manage my movies, music, tv shows for a while, and this remote app allows me to have the power of the custom playlists on the couch to control my AppleTV, or wireless audio streaming to an airport express in another room. All very cool. iTunes automatically maintain lists of what I haven't watched, and there was no way to get that until now.

My biggest complaint about AppleTV was how you handle large library's 550 movies can be annoying to navigate with one long list. This solves that completely.
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:43 AM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrog View Post
It is so amazingly useful for me, I'm pretty blown away. I've been using iTunes to manage my movies, music, tv shows for a while, and this remote app allows me to have the power of the custom playlists on the couch to control my AppleTV, or wireless audio streaming to an airport express in another room. All very cool. iTunes automatically maintain lists of what I haven't watched, and there was no way to get that until now.

My biggest complaint about AppleTV was how you handle large library's 550 movies can be annoying to navigate with one long list. This solves that completely.

how does the itunes remote work with FrontRow? at all?
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:51 AM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandor View Post
how does the itunes remote work with FrontRow? at all?
It doesn't. It's not like it just takes the IR commands and recreates them on the system. It tells iTunes exactly what to do, as if you were using iTunes directly. I don't have a system connected directly to my TV, but if my mac is set to play movies in full screen, and I just look up what I want to watch on my iPhone and hit play, the mac goes full screen and starts playing it. Shows me my cover art and everything while browsing. I'll try to get some screen shots soon and put them up.
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:28 AM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrog View Post
It doesn't. It's not like it just takes the IR commands and recreates them on the system. It tells iTunes exactly what to do, as if you were using iTunes directly. I don't have a system connected directly to my TV, but if my mac is set to play movies in full screen, and I just look up what I want to watch on my iPhone and hit play, the mac goes full screen and starts playing it. Shows me my cover art and everything while browsing. I'll try to get some screen shots soon and put them up.

cool. i will have to install the 2.0 update on the wife's iphone and see how it works...
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-13-2008, 07:38 PM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
So, I just took a few snapshots of the iPhone interface screen. Here is a view of my movie list, TV Shows, Playlists, and actually playing a movie. Once I select something to be played, it starts right up on either my appleTV or my mac, whatever I choose. It all goes over WiFi.
Attached Images
File Type: png IMG_0001.PNG (69.5 KB, 647 views)
File Type: png IMG_0002.PNG (85.2 KB, 422 views)
File Type: png IMG_0003.PNG (108.4 KB, 370 views)
File Type: png IMG_0004.PNG (46.4 KB, 332 views)
File Type: png IMG_0005.PNG (173.7 KB, 347 views)
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-12-2008, 11:15 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,676
Sonos-Style Remote Control for SageTV would be nice

I would love to see Sonos-type functionality for SageTV.

If you're not familiar with it, check out the "experience Sonos" video on the Sonos site for an idea of what it does. Basically would be a way to control SageTV from your remote (ideally a touchscreen remote - something like an iPod Touch).

LifeHacker has a nice write-up on turning your iPhone/iTouch into a Sonos-like device. Would be really nice to be able to do that with SageTV.

You could at least get some of the functionality by extending the current, SageTV mobile web interface and adding the ability to access and control Music, Videos and Photos with your mobile device.
__________________
Brent - HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic
Geek Tonic Blog - Why Google Bought SageTV
SageTV Tips How-To's and News
- Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2008, 11:43 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,674
All the pieces are there, just need someone with the talent to write the pages.

B
__________________
Running SageTV 7.1.9 on Arch Linux 64-bit, Java 1.7.0_25, 3 HD300 Extenders
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 (Cable Card in Linux), 1 HD-PVR and lirc using the HDPVR -- Check out my blog
Comskip on Linux
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-12-2008, 11:45 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
All the pieces are there, just need someone with the talent to write the pages.

B
sigh. I wish I had the talent to do it - and the time...
I think we'll see it eventually as we have a LOT of talented developers around here. This is an app I think a lot of folks would pay for too.
__________________
Brent - HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic
Geek Tonic Blog - Why Google Bought SageTV
SageTV Tips How-To's and News
- Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:06 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,676
Anyone catch the iPhone apps for MythTV? Looks very nice (and would look nicer if it worked on SageTV
__________________
Brent - HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic
Geek Tonic Blog - Why Google Bought SageTV
SageTV Tips How-To's and News
- Follow me on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:12 PM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
I particularly like the guide portion... that alone, and being able to select recordings on the iphone would be very cool. Also, an option to select a running extender, and then browse the "Live" guide and select the show, or the recording list, would be great. I really like on my iPhone to AppleTV how I'm not just simply sending IR commands and navigating the menu, but rather communicating with the device, and interactively selecting content. Much easier and more useful than just making it a touch IR remote.
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-31-2009, 02:18 AM
amadsen amadsen is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Any rumors out there in regards to SageTV developing an Iphone remote control app?

(would be nice with 2 way communication?)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-31-2009, 05:24 AM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 463
Meh. How about a placeshifter port for WM phones. They have java and a port of mplayer on the platform already.

Mick.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sagewebserver and Iphone?? mohanman SageTV Customizations 28 08-23-2008 01:02 PM
Wireless MVP Failling to load app Cynder207 SageTV Media Extender 0 05-14-2008 10:10 AM
How to close App with USBUIRT jmv SageTV Software 2 01-28-2007 03:12 PM
Sage Blips and Service Control App mike1961 SageTV Software 0 09-03-2006 09:34 PM
audio issue with SageTV app running pjt630 SageTV Software 2 02-28-2006 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.