SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Customizations > SageTV Customizations

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2008, 10:53 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,676
Arrow Utility: Linux/OS X batch beta firmware upgrade script

Greetings,

Please note: I cannot take responsibility for use of these scripts, but it works for me. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK

I only have 2 HD Extenders now, but will be adding 5 more to the mix by the time I am done. Firmware upgrading multiple devices would be painful sitting in front of each TV.

I am attaching 2 scripts

telnet_extender.sh:
Quote:
This script establishes a connection to the extender, and then downloads the firmware upgrade script from a web server, executes it, and disconnects.
Note: I have hosted one in my dropbox and you're welcome to point to it. Otherwise place this in some location on a webserver and adjust the URL appropriately.
flash_stx1000beta:
Quote:
This script executes on the extender and downloads the firmware, version file, and attempts to md5 check prior to flashing. Afterward the extender is rebooted.
Note: The version of md5um on the extender is exiting with an errorlevel 1 regardless is successful or not. A bug will be filed with SageTV
Usage:
Code:
./telnet_extender.sh | telnet ip_address_of_extender
Note: for the first use:
Code:
chmod +x telnet_extender.sh
This does not need to be run from your SageTV computer. Just from a PC connected to the same network, etc.
Attached Files
File Type: zip beta_firmware_upgrade.tar.gz.zip (857 Bytes, 158 views)
__________________
Running SageTV 7.1.9 on Arch Linux 64-bit, Java 1.7.0_25, 3 HD300 Extenders
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 (Cable Card in Linux), 1 HD-PVR and lirc using the HDPVR -- Check out my blog
Comskip on Linux

Last edited by bcjenkins; 08-09-2008 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2008, 05:18 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,676
Used the script to update 2 extenders easily. To determine IP addresses of your extenders try nmap (as root) and look for (Shanghai DareGlobal Technologies Co.)

Otherwise, I would reserve in DHCP the IP addresses.

B
__________________
Running SageTV 7.1.9 on Arch Linux 64-bit, Java 1.7.0_25, 3 HD300 Extenders
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 (Cable Card in Linux), 1 HD-PVR and lirc using the HDPVR -- Check out my blog
Comskip on Linux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:01 AM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,131
bcjenkins,

Nice work! I have no idea how you figured this out. Does it update the firmware faster than doing it through the UI? Mine takes about 20 minutes.

Personally I don't think I'll use the script. I like what you've done and I'm interested in how the HDX works, but am reluctant to do anything unsupported to it. It's low-maintenance and I want to keep it that way

I'd like to know what else can be done with HDX, though. Please update us on anything you find.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2008, 08:08 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,676
It updates faster for me because I don't have to go to each TV and type in all the codes, etc. You can also adjust settings from the terminal prompt as well. This means some enterprising soul could actually work a settings adjustment into the web server add-on.

To adjust the settings, I telnet in and
  1. Code:
    cat > /tmp/config
  2. Paste the code in from editor
  3. ctrl-d to close the file
  4. Code:
    /nanoserver/scripts/saveconfig


B

Quote:
VIDEO_SUPPORTED_MODE_NAMES=
TV_STANDARD=NTSC
VIDEO_SUPPORTED_MODES=
VIDEO_RESOLUTION=
NETWORK_MASK=255.255.255.0
AUDIO_OUTPUT=Analog
SERVER=
VIDEO_RESOLUTION_NAME=
NETWORK_IP=
NETWORK_DNS=
NETWORK_INTERFACE=eth0
AUTOCONNECT=1
NETWORK_GATEWAY=
VIDEO_CONNECTOR=
NETWORK_MODE=0
PREF_SERVER=
REMOTE_SERVERS=""
__________________
Running SageTV 7.1.9 on Arch Linux 64-bit, Java 1.7.0_25, 3 HD300 Extenders
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 (Cable Card in Linux), 1 HD-PVR and lirc using the HDPVR -- Check out my blog
Comskip on Linux
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are we in beta hell here? Bohica General Discussion 76 02-19-2006 10:43 AM
Beta upgrade broke MultiDCT polarhyte SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-30-2005 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.