SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2009, 08:41 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,480
Lots of Disk Activity?

My RecordedTV directory is remote on my NAS - but there appears to be a substantial amount of local disk activity while LiveTV is playing...

Is there a way to make this go away? Settting for network performance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2009, 07:29 AM
alfi33 alfi33 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Are you running Comskip on your LiveTV recordings?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2009, 08:38 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,480
No, I have ShowAnalyzer running on the NAS. The server does nothing but skip commercials based on the EDL.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2009, 11:34 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
There are a number of things it could be, depending on what you consider to be a "substantial amount" of disk I/O.

If you have debug logging enabled, then it's continuously writing entries to the debug log. If you're running a beta version, debug logging is enabled by default.

If you have local import directories, it could be periodically scanning them for updates (the default behavior, unless you've disabled it in Detailed Settings).

If you're changing filtering and sorting options, those property settings get periodically checkpointed to disk. Similarly, the Watched high-water marks for programs you're watching get periodically checkpointed to the Wiz.bin database.

If it bothers you, you could use procmon to figure out which files are being written by which processes.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2009, 07:10 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
It could also be the result of the java heap size being to low. I had that problem at after I increased it to 512MB the excess disk IO stopped.

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:44 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,480
Heap size sounds like a great suggestion - I have plenty of memory on the machine.

Set:

HKLM\Software\Frey --> "JVMMaxHeapSizeMB ?

Last edited by sflamm; 04-10-2009 at 09:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2009, 11:19 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,075
It could also be Microsoft Search. I recently installed it on my server and after installation I have lots of disk I/O. I have since disabled it (you can probably set it to not scan some folders but I was too lazy to figure that out...)
__________________
System Setup:
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV7.1.9
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
1x HD300, 1x HD200, 1x HD100 (remote placeshifter),
1x SageClient (Win7 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2009, 06:54 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by sflamm View Post
Heap size sounds like a great suggestion - I have plenty of memory on the machine.

Set:

HKLM\Software\Frey --> "JVMMaxHeapSizeMB ?
Yes, just set it to 512 or even higher if you have plenty of memory.

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2009, 10:29 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,480
Great. I have 4GB on WinXP SP3.... Any advice on how to go? 1GB? 2GB?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2009, 12:01 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,074
Look at the JVM Heap Size figures on the System Information screen in Sage. If your Total isn't running up against your Max, then increasing the Max won't have any effect.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Ethernet Activity Ted@TNT SageTV Media Extender 10 12-16-2008 07:44 AM
Mac Placeshifter CPU hog / disk activity ptoal SageTV Placeshifter 2 06-02-2008 06:54 AM
Music Library Network Activity Taddeusz SageTV Software 11 04-19-2007 08:07 AM
CPU and network activity salsbst SageTV Beta Test Software 8 12-07-2006 08:41 AM
CPU activity associated with WinTV PVR recording salsbst SageTV Beta Test Software 13 12-07-2006 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.