SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2009, 02:10 PM
deipert deipert is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Morton Grove, IL
Posts: 24
Convert to HD With Comcast?

I am currently using SageTV with 4 Analog Hauppauge Tuners with 2 tuners via USBUirt and 2 tuners on direct CATV. Very successfully!
I also use 4 TVs with the Hauppauge Media MVP.

My understanding to go HD is that I must first get some HD tuners. I understand the Hauppauge options. I might go USB this time around.

I also understand that I would have to replace my 4 Media MVPs with the STPHD200s if I want HD all over.

I understand the PC requirements especially the need for larger hard drives.

What confuses me is what to do about Comcast and getting the TV channels I need for the Chicago area. Comcast will need to replace my CATV boxes. I would hope to control them without the USBUirt if I can. I don't know how Comcast works for tuning HD without their box. My understanding is that they have different boxes for TVs that are now on direct cable. In my case two of my tuners are controlled via direct cable.

Any suggestions or help with my conversion is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2009, 02:50 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by deipert View Post
What confuses me is what to do about Comcast and getting the TV channels I need for the Chicago area. Comcast will need to replace my CATV boxes. I would hope to control them without the USBUirt if I can. I don't know how Comcast works for tuning HD without their box. My understanding is that they have different boxes for TVs that are now on direct cable. In my case two of my tuners are controlled via direct cable.

Any suggestions or help with my conversion is greatly appreciated.
I also have Comcast, but am in a different market. I have an HDHomeRun, but I use both tuners for over the air digital since there is almost no clear QAM on Comcast in my area. I also have one dual turn 2250 which I use for the analog Comcast channels without a cablebox. In addition, I have a HD-PVR for only the HD Comcast channels with an HD cablebox. I also have an old PVR 350. using S-video for the Comcast digital channels whcih I need a Comcast cable box to receive.

The HD content can be recorded with a HD-PVR, but it does not record in MPEG2 format, only the TS format. I use the HD-PVR only for HD programs to reduce the number of TS recordings, since I do not have editing software for TS, only MPEG2.

I have tried two different types of HD cable boxes. The DCX3200 and DCT6200. I have not been successful in getting the USB-UIRT to work with the DCX-3200, using it's remote control. However, the DCX3200 does work the the DCT6200 remote control and IR code using the DXT6200 codes. So, my point is, if you cannot get the USB-UIRT to work with the cablebox remote codes, try using another remote control to switch the cablebox, and then the USB-UIRT programmed with the remote alternative remote control.


Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Kingston 3 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD boot, 3 x 1.5 TB
Tuners: HDHR OTA, 2- HVR-2250 OTA, Colossus, USB-UIRT, HD DishNetwork
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Home X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix)
UnRAID 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I convert .tp files? sdsean SageTV Software 2 11-25-2008 11:40 AM
possible convert looking for guidance kram613 Hardware Support 0 09-16-2008 01:22 PM
Directivo Convert Needs Help bjp999 SageTV Software 7 07-22-2008 02:24 PM
Possible to convert hd files? popechild SageTV Beta Test Software 24 12-08-2006 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.