SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV Europe (Miscellaneous)

SageTV Europe (Miscellaneous) SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from other part of Eurpoe - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in Europe.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2009, 09:57 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,353
I need help to get free OTA Satellite with Armenian, Russian, Persian channels

Although, I am a very experienced SageTV user related to American cableTV and receiving local ATSC broadcasts, I know nothing about setting up my sageTV PC to record reliably free over-the-air satellite channels.

I just want an extremely simple setup with a non-movable satellite dish (smallest possible non-moving satellite dish that will get reliable reception for as many Armenian/Russian channels as possible.. if it happens to get persian/farsi, that would be good too.

Can someone please tell me the following:

1. Which is the best USB tuner/receiver for Windows Vista that is fully supported by sageTV?

2. What is the most popular, smallest, more reliable fixed point dish and respective single LMB for my PC receiver. I dont need any other receivers for this dish.

3. Information and tools needed to point this dish perfectly to the right place in the sky from North California, USA

4. Which website will tell me exactly which satellite is the best satellite with Armenian channels that I can receive in North California. I would like a satellite that provides information to sageTV Guide. This is VERY important.

Thanks so much,
Michael
__________________
12 Capture Devices: Quad R5000's for Premium HDTV Cable & On Demand in HD + Quad HDHomeRun QAM Digital Cable Tuners + Hauppauge HVR-1800 for OTA ATSC + Dual DVBWorld DVB-S2 for FTA Satellite + Hauppauge HVR-950Q for loopback

5 Clients: HD300 (55" TV) - HD300 (46" TV) - SageTV Windows Client (46" TV) - 2 x Placeshifter clients
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2009, 10:46 AM
svalmorri svalmorri is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 77
Michael,

the best source for satellite information (packages, frequences etc) is Lyngsat: http://www.lyngsat.com

According to it the only Armenian channel you can tune into is US Armenia whose beam is North America KU: http://www.lyngsat.com/freetv/Armenia.html

Hope this is a good starting point.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2009, 03:36 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,353
LOL... oops this is a relatively old post. I already have all the FTA satellite channels integrated into my sageTV setup. It's actually my 11th tuner... It works great!
__________________
12 Capture Devices: Quad R5000's for Premium HDTV Cable & On Demand in HD + Quad HDHomeRun QAM Digital Cable Tuners + Hauppauge HVR-1800 for OTA ATSC + Dual DVBWorld DVB-S2 for FTA Satellite + Hauppauge HVR-950Q for loopback

5 Clients: HD300 (55" TV) - HD300 (46" TV) - SageTV Windows Client (46" TV) - 2 x Placeshifter clients
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2010, 08:46 PM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Near Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,101
Doing a little necromancy here myself... Did you document your FTA adventures with Sage anywhere Michael? It is something that I've been interested in a while and wonder if it is worth it. I would like to get stuff from Asia/EU.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:33 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,353
Oh, I forgot to report back. I ended up first setting up DVB satellite reception with a cheap DVB FTA receiver pointed at Galaxy 19 (97.0W).. which has a bunch of channels I was interested in. After I got the best possible reception, I just replaced the standalone receiver with 2 World DVB Tuners DVB Tuners (one USB, one PCIe). Surprisingly, I was able to split the signal into 2 coming from one cable using a signal stacker; which works perfectly. I used DVB Dream as a Network Encoder instead of trying to get sageTV to natively scan and tune the channels... since I needed some extended features. All in all, it was definitely a good addition to my sageTV.... Its pretty nice to have sageTV's Guide seemlessly have ATSC, CableTV QAM and R5000 and DVB FTA all in one Guide on all my clients.... It's pretty cool to be able to watch News from Armenia live while driving to work via my wireless broadband connection+SageTV Placeshifter on my Netbook. Best of all its free indefinitely after its setup.
__________________
12 Capture Devices: Quad R5000's for Premium HDTV Cable & On Demand in HD + Quad HDHomeRun QAM Digital Cable Tuners + Hauppauge HVR-1800 for OTA ATSC + Dual DVBWorld DVB-S2 for FTA Satellite + Hauppauge HVR-950Q for loopback

5 Clients: HD300 (55" TV) - HD300 (46" TV) - SageTV Windows Client (46" TV) - 2 x Placeshifter clients
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording free legal satellite TV channels (public domain) mkanet Hardware Support 5 04-24-2009 07:50 PM
Recommend a Hassle-Free Video Card and Codec for HD OTA and h.264 sage_doc Hardware Support 2 11-02-2008 01:57 PM
Free to Air Satellite or "FTA" EncoderHouse General Discussion 15 07-03-2008 03:22 PM
Free HD satellite content? AzJazz Hardware Support 9 04-16-2008 05:52 PM
Changing Channels for Satellite and Cable??? wvanthony SageTV Software 1 11-10-2003 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.