SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Customizations > SageTV Customizations

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2010, 08:58 AM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,888
Whats the best way to generate comskip files for HD TS files?

I use ShowAnalyzer 0.97 to generate comskip files for mpeg files, and use the comskip_playback.stvi to playback the comskipped files.

Whats the best way to generate comskip files for HD TS files? I've tried generating comskip files using ShowAnalyzer version 1.0.57.780, and it that does not work. I've tried generating the comskip files with Comskip version 0.80.030, that does not work either, even with the "volume_slip=150" parameter change.

When I try playing back TS files that have been processed, no commericals were detected. Meanwhile, commercial skipping works great when playing back mpeg files.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Kingston 3 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD boot, 3 x 1.5 TB
Tuners: HDHR OTA, 2- HVR-2250 OTA, Colossus, USB-UIRT, HD DishNetwork
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Home X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix)
UnRAID 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2010, 09:36 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,865
You need to verify which part isn't working. the analysis and generation of .edl file, or the reading of the file on playback. Are the .edl files being generated? if so, do they contain commercial blocks? If they are in place, and show skip points, then SA/Comskip is functioning properly, and it's an STV issue.

I do know earlier versions of the ComSkip import were hardcoded to work with .mpg files (they way they worked was to strip .mpg from the end of the file and add .txt or .edl). I know at one point I had to add the .avi portion in myself. .ts may also be missing, not sure (I don't have any .ts files).
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2010, 10:31 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 9,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
I've tried generating the comskip files with Comskip version 0.80.030, that does not work either, even with the "volume_slip=150" parameter change.

Dave
Are you logging in with a user name and password and getting the donator's version? I've been using comskip exclusively for quite awhile and successfully scan all of my HD-PVR (h.264) recordings for commercials. I have much better success and results with comskip in comparison to SA v 1.0.55.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2010, 10:32 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,354
Yeah SA 1.0 has been working quite well lately for my HD PVR and R5000 recordings. Previously comskip worked fine when I just had the HD PVR (and SA 0.9 doing my HDHR recordings).
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2010, 07:25 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Are you logging in with a user name and password and getting the donator's version? I've been using comskip exclusively for quite awhile and successfully scan all of my HD-PVR (h.264) recordings for commercials. I have much better success and results with comskip in comparison to SA v 1.0.55.

Gerry
I wasn't using the donator version. I made a donation this morning. The web site said something about on the Comskip web page about having no Internet access till August 10th, so I though it could be a long wait to get the download site information. However, about 90 minutes after I made the donation, I got access to the download web site.

I downloaded the Comskip 0.80.030 donator version. The Comskip 0.80.030 donator version worked to process a TS file when I changed the "volume_slip=40" comskip.ini parameter to "volume_slip=150".

I only tested it on one HD TS file from a HGTV program so far. It seemed like it was a lot slower than SA processing mpeg files. However, I was doing a lot of file copying on the computer at the time. Comskip did an excellent job on the TS file that I processed. The commercial skipping was close to perfect on playback.

I haven't tried processing an mpeg file with Comskip yet. I normally use ShowAnalyzer 0.97 for all the mpeg files.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Kingston 3 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD boot, 3 x 1.5 TB
Tuners: HDHR OTA, 2- HVR-2250 OTA, Colossus, USB-UIRT, HD DishNetwork
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Home X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix)
UnRAID 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2010, 09:17 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,865
I'd say as a general rule, SA is far faster than Comskip. Out of the box settings in Comskip do seem to do a better job than SA. I have a feeling SA will be much better with some settings tweaking, which would yield you the accuracy, AND the speed.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2010, 06:58 PM
jonnydeath jonnydeath is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
It seemed like it was a lot slower than SA processing mpeg files.
Dave
there is a skip_b_frames setting that skips frames to make it faster. I forget if it works for h.264, but I use it. It may speed things up for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comskip and Media files adone36 SageTV Customizations 3 08-25-2009 06:01 PM
Commercial skipping for h.264 using trancoded files to generate .edl? Slipshod SageTV Customizations 10 03-03-2008 12:15 AM
Comskip and TS files vs. MPG files NEOSG SageTV Customizations 0 06-01-2006 06:54 AM
Comskip .ts files Fuzzy SageTV Customizations 20 01-13-2006 05:32 PM
Generate XML files for each recording? MTuckman SageTV Customizations 3 07-07-2005 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.