SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2014, 08:14 AM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 137
PlaceShifter and Blu-Ray

So I have ripped some Blue-ray movies and they play fine on the SageTV remote clients and HD300 extenders. However when I try to play them through Placeshifter I get "ERROR (-19): There is no MediaPlayer that can playback the selected file". Is this just a limitation with Placeshfiter or is something misconfigured?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:13 AM
will will is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 496
Did you rip them as MKVs or as a folder structure?

My understanding is that placeshifter can't handle DVD/Bluray folders.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows Server 2003
Hardware: AMD 64 X2 4800+ with 4GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 7 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250 & 2 Hauppauge HD-PVRs
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2014, 03:29 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 137
I did folder... So ISO works?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2014, 07:27 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoodleNT View Post
I did folder... So ISO works?
Not with placeshifter as far as I know. Try MKV.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:39 AM
will will is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Not with placeshifter as far as I know. Try MKV.
Bob is correct; MKVs will work. You can use MakeMKV to convert your Bluray to an uncompressed MKV (no quality loss but a smaller size because it is just the movie and the language audio files you want).

Off topic question, does SageTV support ISOs?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows Server 2003
Hardware: AMD 64 X2 4800+ with 4GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 7 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250 & 2 Hauppauge HD-PVRs
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:46 AM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 137
I have read someplace it worked if you used virtual drive to mount the ISO. Sage would automatically mount and in mount the ISOs as you played them. Not sure if this was just a beta thing or if it actually made it to 7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2014, 05:04 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoodleNT View Post
I have read someplace it worked if you used virtual drive to mount the ISO. Sage would automatically mount and in mount the ISOs as you played them. Not sure if this was just a beta thing or if it actually made it to 7.
That works with the last client(7.1.9) but not with placeshifter as far as I know.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2014, 08:16 PM
drvnbysound drvnbysound is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: US
Posts: 95
Hmm, I've actually had issues playing DVDs via Placeshifter... Not that they won't play at all, but the quality is just terrible. Oddly, I've found no major issue with HD recordings or streaming live from either HDPVR or HDHR tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2014, 06:58 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,863
the old version of ffmpeg that is used for placeshifter's transcoding doesn't handle interlaced media very well, which is likely why you've had problems with DVD sourced files via placeshifter. converting them yo H.264 not only saves space, but will allow you the opportunity to get rid of the telecine at the same time, and get a 23.97 fps h.264 file.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2014, 02:04 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 2,074
from all my experiments, anything higher than 720p is a no-go for Placeshifter. We had hoped that would get fixed, but then the sale came along....so now, I record all my HD in 720p in case I need to use Placeshifter.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD dual core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-01-2014, 03:03 PM
will will is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
from all my experiments, anything higher than 720p is a no-go for Placeshifter. We had hoped that would get fixed, but then the sale came along....so now, I record all my HD in 720p in case I need to use Placeshifter.
Maybe you should look into getting a Slingbox; works much better than placeshifter and supports full 1080p (works great with my extenders).
__________________
Will

OS: Windows Server 2003
Hardware: AMD 64 X2 4800+ with 4GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 7 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: 1 Hauppauge HVR-2250 & 2 Hauppauge HD-PVRs
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2014, 09:17 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 2,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
Maybe you should look into getting a Slingbox; works much better than placeshifter and supports full 1080p (works great with my extenders).
actually, I mainly use AirVideo on the ipad for remote playback...bulletproof
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD dual core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2014, 09:21 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 137
AirVideo is flawless, I just wish there was a way to have it auto set playback progress back to SageTV.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC Placeshifter John.Kelly SageTV Mac Edition 1 09-24-2011 12:12 PM
Using Placeshifter bama SageTV Placeshifter 3 09-09-2007 01:18 PM
Placeshifter vs Orb sainswor99 SageTV Placeshifter 4 05-16-2007 06:23 AM
Placeshifter bug... or not ybrew SageTV Placeshifter 2 09-06-2006 05:00 PM
Thanks for Placeshifter!! ChePazzo SageTV Placeshifter 3 06-16-2006 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.