SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2010, 08:29 AM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
Question Bluetooth Wireless Keyboard Support?

Do the HD200 and HD300 extenders support Bluetooth wireless keyboards or RF wireless only?

The SageTV.com website just lists:
Keyboard support: Wired or Wireless USB keyboards (US keyboard layout)

I'm interested in getting a wireless keyboard but am unsure which to get Bluetooth or RF? (would prefer Bluetooth)

Here is the one I am looking at, it is offered in both Bluetooth and RF models:

http://www.amazon.com/ProMini-Wirele...pr_product_top

http://www.amazon.com/2-4GHz-Wireles...8016895&sr=1-1


Thank You,
SB
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:46 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
I think if the bluetooth receiver is a standard PS2 to bluetooth adapter, then it should work, just like wireless keyboards using RF receivers, which I've tested and know it works. But that little trackpad most likely won't work with the HD200/300, keyboards only.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2010, 01:46 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
I think if the bluetooth receiver is a standard PS2 to bluetooth adapter, then it should work, just like wireless keyboards using RF receivers, which I've tested and know it works. But that little trackpad most likely won't work with the HD200/300, keyboards only.
I figured the trackpad would not work, but am unsure how the Bluetooth dongle looks to the extender. Meaning if any special drivers are required, then it likely will not work.
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:37 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 2,845
I doubt it would work as a Bluetooth dongle, even one for a keyboard, looks like a Bluetooth radio to the host computer. It does not show up as a USB Human Interface Device.
__________________
Server: C2Q Q8400 , 4GB DDR2 800, 2.25TB recording, 6TB media, HD-PVR (REV C2, driver 1.5.6.1) to SA STB controlled via USB-UIRT, 2 HDHR's (latest driver/firmware), SageTV 7.1.9, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Client 1: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD100 (latest FW), s-video to a 32in tube
Client 3: C2Q Q8400, 4GB DDR2 800, Radeon 3870 (Catalyst 9.10), Windows 8 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 11:05 AM
michelkenny michelkenny is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
+1, you are most likely stuck with the RF. When you plug in an RF receiver to your PC, you don't need to install any drivers. For a bluebooth adapter though, you need to install the driver and a bluetooth stack.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:19 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelkenny View Post
+1, you are most likely stuck with the RF. When you plug in an RF receiver to your PC, you don't need to install any drivers. For a bluebooth adapter though, you need to install the driver and a bluetooth stack.
That what I was thinking too; however, I just tried inserting a USB Bluetooth dongle that came with a Microsoft Bluetooth mouse into my computer and it installed drivers for a HID device, not for a generic Bluetooth receiver. So, it probably depends on if the particular USB dongle provided with the wireless keyboard is designed to be a HID device or a real Bluetooth receiver.
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:28 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,680
Most BT modules that come with keyboards/mice should be PS2 compliant just like the RF ones. Easy way to test, try using it in your PC's BIOS
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:37 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 2,845
You still need to be able to pair the device. Bluetooth doesn't work like an RF keyboard or mouse where you push a couple buttons and they pair themselves. At least in my experience anyway a BT device, particularly keyboards, always need to handshake and the host computer needs to have the BT stack on it. I've never seen it any other way.
__________________
Server: C2Q Q8400 , 4GB DDR2 800, 2.25TB recording, 6TB media, HD-PVR (REV C2, driver 1.5.6.1) to SA STB controlled via USB-UIRT, 2 HDHR's (latest driver/firmware), SageTV 7.1.9, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Client 1: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD100 (latest FW), s-video to a 32in tube
Client 3: C2Q Q8400, 4GB DDR2 800, Radeon 3870 (Catalyst 9.10), Windows 8 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:41 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
You still need to be able to pair the device. Bluetooth doesn't work like an RF keyboard or mouse where you push a couple buttons and they pair themselves. At least in my experience anyway a BT device, particularly keyboards, always need to handshake and the host computer needs to have the BT stack on it. I've never seen it any other way.
Both of the Logitech ones I've owned both come pre-paired and have a button on the receiver you can use to do pairing w/o an OS.
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:28 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 2,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Both of the Logitech ones I've owned both come pre-paired and have a button on the receiver you can use to do pairing w/o an OS.
Interesting.
__________________
Server: C2Q Q8400 , 4GB DDR2 800, 2.25TB recording, 6TB media, HD-PVR (REV C2, driver 1.5.6.1) to SA STB controlled via USB-UIRT, 2 HDHR's (latest driver/firmware), SageTV 7.1.9, Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Client 1: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD100 (latest FW), s-video to a 32in tube
Client 3: C2Q Q8400, 4GB DDR2 800, Radeon 3870 (Catalyst 9.10), Windows 8 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:39 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 738
Based on this post (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51041), the RF version of this keyboard works with the extenders. Just curious, what benefits would the bluetooth version offer?
__________________
Server (Headless): MSI H57M-ED65 mATX Motherboard, Intel i3-530 CPU, 4 x 2TB Hitachi Drives, Win7 Home Premium 32 bit, SageTV 7.1.9
Tuners: 4 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards, 1 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual Digital TV Tuner (OTA)
Clients: 4 x HD300 Extenders, 2 x HD200 Extenders
Miscellaneous: 2 x Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:44 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Based on this post (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51041), the RF version of this keyboard works with the extenders. Just curious, what benefits would the bluetooth version offer?
I read a number of complaints on Amazon reviews about the RF model having a pretty weak signal. The other benefit for me is that I could also use the Bluetooth mini keyboard for other mobile devices (Android, Laptop, etc.) .

So am leaning towards trying the Bluetooth one just to see.
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-01-2010, 05:13 PM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
So the Bluetooth model of the Rii Mini Wireless Bluetooth Keyboard (also known as ProMini Wireless Bluetooth Keyboard) does NOT work with the HD Extenders.

It does come with a real Bluetooth radio USB adapter, not a generic HID keyboard adapter. Thus it requires the bluetooth drivers and software pairing.

So fortunately they also make a RF model, so I have that on order now and will be testing this soon.
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-02-2010, 12:51 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
I'm guessing that RF is more affected by other RF interference in the houseold than bluetooth? I'm not sure, but that would explain the difference in signal reilability and that would vary from household to household.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2010, 08:48 AM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 408
Rii Wireless Keyboard with SageTV HD Extender HD-200

OK, I have received the RF model of the Rii Wireless Keyboard:



After several days of tinkering I do now have it working with the SageTV HD-200 extender.

There is one big problem that I had and that is that out of the box simply plugging the USB dongle (RF radio receiver) directly into the HD-200 would not work properly. It would either fail to connect or when it was connected it would very often get stuck in a repeating cycle of keypresses as if a button were stuck down on the keyboard. Very annoying!

After much tinkering, I came to the conclusion that the HD-200 was not delivering enough power to the USB dongle (RF radio receiver) and that the wireless keyboard was just on the edge of connectivity. So, I added a powered USB hub in between the USB dongle (RF radio receiver) and the HD-200 and now it all seems to be working much better. It is now at least usable. There is still an occasional missed keystroke but all in all, it provided what I was looking for, a very small discrete keyboard to keep in the living room for the occasional search or configuration editing. Not a perfect solution since I have to use a powered USB hub, but viable.

Cheers,
SB
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-04-2011, 03:46 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
I bought this Lenovo remote keyboard for my HTPC, but I hooked it up to the HD-200 just to test it out. It works fine with the HD-200 from about 7-8 feet away. But then I hooked it up to the HD-300 and surprisingly, it does not work at all. I'm not sure what is the problem, I might try it with a powered USB hub to see if it will work.

So word of caution, just because it works on the HD-200, doesn't necessary mean it will work on the HD-300.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-04-2011, 04:27 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
I bought this Lenovo remote keyboard for my HTPC, but I hooked it up to the HD-200 just to test it out. It works fine with the HD-200 from about 7-8 feet away. But then I hooked it up to the HD-300 and surprisingly, it does not work at all. I'm not sure what is the problem, I might try it with a powered USB hub to see if it will work.
that remote works just fine with both my hd300 and hd200... Did you plug it into the hd300 and then cold boot it?

EDIT: oh and the trackball thingy works to drive a mouse pointer around on the hd300... It's certainly not the most intuitive or best implementation but it works I wish they would just use the trackball to simulate Directional pad inputs....
__________________
System Setup:
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV7.1.9
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
1x HD300, 1x HD200, 1x HD100 (remote placeshifter),
1x SageClient (Win7 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-23-2011, 01:08 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
that remote works just fine with both my hd300 and hd200... Did you plug it into the hd300 and then cold boot it?

EDIT: oh and the trackball thingy works to drive a mouse pointer around on the hd300... It's certainly not the most intuitive or best implementation but it works I wish they would just use the trackball to simulate Directional pad inputs....
You're right, after unplugging the power and plugging it back in on the HD300, the keyboard works. I didn't need to do this with the HD200. And the trackball works on HD300, I don't remember seeing it working on the HD200. You get a stretched cursor, maybe because it was designed for 4:3 screen, but it works. Too bad the playback buttons can't be mapped, it won't recognize the buttons when I tried. Overall, it's a good keyboard if you need to type stuff, but it's not very good for navigating the HD300's UI.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server (Service Mode). Win7 32bit in Parallels Workstation. 3GB DDR2. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Mobile WebServer 2.. Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Panasonic Vierra 65" Plasma. SageTV HD-300 - HDMI 1080p to Westinghouse 37"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bluetooth, extender, keyboard, wireless


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
an issue resolved with my wireless keyboard reboot_this Hardware Support 0 10-17-2006 12:39 PM
MS Wireless keyboard? Polypro Hardware Support 3 03-21-2006 02:38 AM
Wireless Keyboard and Mouse that goes ~10ft? judoGTI Hardware Support 27 10-23-2005 03:44 PM
BTC9019URT wireless keyboard ssixto Hardware Support 5 07-30-2005 11:59 AM
Cool Bluetooth Keyboard for HTPC tabletsage General Discussion 1 09-18-2004 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.