SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Customizations > SageTV Customizations

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:06 PM
mihooper mihooper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Girder & SageTV

I know this has been hashed around quite a bit, but.... from the FAQ

Quote:
Does SageTV support the use of Girder?
Yes, SageTV fully supports the use of Girder to control the SageTV application. SageTV also supports the use of Girder's event plug-in to control an external set-top box or IR receiver. A plugin for control of SageTV is available here.
Is this still true? Or is this a leftover fragment of earlier aspirations?

Due to the topology of my HTPC/network, I need to (would like to) use Girder to control various pieces of the system, and I currently have SageTV in two locations (different rooms). I would love to seamlessly integrate the two. It appears that this has been done in the past, but all links seem to be broken. Is this a no-go? Or is there a better solution that is already integrated with Sage?
__________________
MikeH
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:49 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 81
I have used Girder for many years. I HAVE NOT upgraded to V7 yet (if it ain't broke...) but don't expect a problem. I use XP, too, so I can't speak to Win7 interactions. I love the flexibility of Girder! Some of the commands are implemented as ghost keystrokes and others are windows commands. Everything works. It just works.

Good luck!
--John
__________________________________________
Find your diet/exercise buddy at WannaBuddy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2011, 05:53 PM
mihooper mihooper is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
John,

Thanks for the feedback. I'm a long time Girder user too. I guess my question was more "Does SageTV support the use of Girder? ". And "SageTV also supports the use of Girder's event plug-in to control an external set-top box or IR receiver.". How is this done? Are you using a Girder event plug-in for SageTV?

Thx,
__________________
MikeH
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2011, 10:53 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,893
According to the SageTv manual, they support custom commands which can be mapped... So maybe you can have Custom1 trigger a Girder action or something...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2011, 08:47 AM
SolidElectronix's Avatar
SolidElectronix SolidElectronix is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 8
Girder does work as far as I know, but I haven't used it in a few years since it was bought out by another company (sound familiar?) and was no longer free.

If you're willing to explore other options, EventGhost is an excellent open-source project that can do everything I used to do with Girder. It even has SageTV support built-in so you don't have to manually set up all the events.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2011, 06:14 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,865
Honestly, Girder is still worth the purchase price. It can really do pretty much everything. The ONLY thing I don't like about it is that it can no longer detect a request to sleep the computer (to perform pre-sleep actions) - but this is a win7 issue, and not a girder one (win7 no longer asks programs if it is okay to sleep, it just does it no matter what).
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Girder and SageTV Ralphjb SageTV Software 23 10-13-2008 10:44 PM
Girder 4.0 with SageTV SubaruWRX Hardware Support 0 11-22-2006 08:45 PM
Girder and Sagetv flagg0204 SageTV Recorder Software 4 08-17-2004 09:08 PM
Girder with SageTV zjennings Hardware Support 11 01-11-2004 01:16 PM
SageTV & Girder jpd5862 SageTV Software 3 07-24-2003 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.