SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:43 AM
voidpt's Avatar
voidpt voidpt is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 296
Lightbulb Windows 8 Storage Spaces: the "new" WHS Drive Extender

Just read an interesting article on Ars Technica:
Windows 8 Storage Spaces detailed: pooling redundant disk space for all

It again points to a Building Windows 8 blog post at MSDN:
Virtualizing storage for scale, resiliency, and efficiency



Not sure if this tech in Windows 8 has been pointed out before, was news to me at least. Looks like my "server" will get Windows 8 before my desktop
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 (headless/service) JavaRE 1.6.0_37 2x FloppyDTV C/CI (DVB-C) (fw: 1.2.10 B43110) (CAM: Conax) Win7 x64 Intel E3-1245V2 3.4GHz 16GB PC3-10600 ECC ASUS P8C WS (Intel C216) APC Back-UPS RS 800 STP-HD300 Extender (fw: beta 20110506 0) - HDMI/SPDIF - Yamaha RX-V2700 - HDMI - Sony KDL-52X2000
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2012, 07:24 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,335
I see they finally added Parity-based protection, don't really like that you have to pick a size, that it works like Drobo and doesn't tell you how much space you actually have.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2012, 10:59 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,114
This looks interesting and useful. I wonder if they will add this to WHS v3, assuming that there is a future to WHS.
__________________
Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, 2xHD-PVR(connected to SA3250HD+SA4250HD-Rogers Cable), HDHR(2xOTA), HVR-1850(one OTA, one connected to SA3200 SD cable box), 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2012, 05:21 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
The worst thing MS did in this regard, to me, was removing simple RAID-5 from windows 7. (I know, technically it was never in XP either, but it was able to WORK in xp with some tweaks). It was by far the simplest, and actually, more portable RAID setup I'd ever used, because it was standard windows formats. No proprietary RAID controllers to deal with, and it would work great across multiple drives and controllers.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
This looks interesting and useful. I wonder if they will add this to WHS v3, assuming that there is a future to WHS.
The future of WHS is going to depend on hard drive prices I'm thinking... If Taiwan can't get their crap dried out, I don't think people will be building any home servers for a while...

the cheapest 2TB drives are up over $150.. double what they were a year and a half ago.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2012, 10:14 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
The worst thing MS did in this regard, to me, was removing simple RAID-5 from windows 7. (I know, technically it was never in XP either, but it was able to WORK in xp with some tweaks). It was by far the simplest, and actually, more portable RAID setup I'd ever used, because it was standard windows formats. No proprietary RAID controllers to deal with, and it would work great across multiple drives and controllers.
But it didn't support expansion, which greatly limits it's value, you have to buy your entire array up front, meaning you can't take advantage of falling drive prices. Also means you have to know how big you will need it to be when you build it, and when you fill it you have to build another array or copy all the data somewhere else while you rebuild the array with more/larger drives.
__________________
Aspect Ratio 101

Last edited by stanger89; 01-06-2012 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2012, 08:06 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
But it didn't support expansion, which greatly limits it's value, you have to buy your entire array up front, meaning you can't take advantage of falling drive prices. Also means you have to know how big you will need it to be when you build it, and when you fill it you have to build another array or copy all the data somewhere else while you rebuild the array with more/larger drives.
Oh, I wasn't trying to imply that it was BETTER than storage spaces, just that its core advantage was that it was a part of the OS. This brought a level of portability to it that was unrivaled by any other architecture. My point was that this storage spaces is a good thing, because it will likely bring back that portability, while improving on its customizability. As long as it doesn't have tombstones....
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2012, 12:09 PM
farscapesg1 farscapesg1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
I'll be watching it, but I needed to rebuild my WHSv1 box anyways and made the move from WHS to ZFS (running OpenIndiana + Napp-it) and have no regrets. I may not be able to expand as easily with ZFS, but the other benefits I get out of it make up for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2012, 02:01 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
... If Taiwan can't get their crap dried out, I don't think people will be building any home servers for a while...
I think you mean Thailand.
__________________
Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, 2xHD-PVR(connected to SA3250HD+SA4250HD-Rogers Cable), HDHR(2xOTA), HVR-1850(one OTA, one connected to SA3200 SD cable box), 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2012, 03:30 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I think you mean Thailand.
Yeah.. I do... I've got no working computer monitor at home, so i've been using my phone... It's far from 'optimal'...
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-23-2012, 02:29 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 713
I wonder if SageTV will run as a server on Windows 8. Keep having trouble with my current WHS setup, and it might be a good option just to scrap it when Win 8 comes, even if that's a ways off.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:32 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
It should run just fine. Windows 8 underneath is not all that different than windows 7. Even access to the new storage spaces should be relatively transparent to sagetv.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:46 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,114
Why not go to Win7 today? We are moving away from the drive/folder methodology of arranging files in the computer world towards a tagging (akak metadata in Sage) so why does it matter if your video folder is on drives E:, F:, and G: rather than one big extended drive? And Sage has been pretty agnostic as to the storage of Recorded TV files for quite a while as your shouldn't really care where your TV files are physically stored in most instances - at least when it comes to the Sage UI.
__________________
Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, 2xHD-PVR(connected to SA3250HD+SA4250HD-Rogers Cable), HDHR(2xOTA), HVR-1850(one OTA, one connected to SA3200 SD cable box), 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2012, 07:12 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why not go to Win7 today? We are moving away from the drive/folder methodology of arranging files in the computer world towards a tagging (akak metadata in Sage) so why does it matter if your video folder is on drives E:, F:, and G: rather than one big extended drive? And Sage has been pretty agnostic as to the storage of Recorded TV files for quite a while as your shouldn't really care where your TV files are physically stored in most instances - at least when it comes to the Sage UI.
I have always agreed with this stance as it has previously been used. Sage performs and behaves much better with separate drives than the drive combiner methods of the past. What I do feel storage spaces brings is the flexibility of splitting out protection methods between the various spaces. Also the relatively transparent (and invisible) replacement of failed storage and is another great advantage. These are things that were available in other methods before (like UnRaid and such) but never on the same system as the server (well, WHS, but I never liked that particular implementation - it never seemed fool-proof enough for me).
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:22 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 412
Has anyone actually set up a Sage server using storage spaces?

I've been running Sage on windows 8 for a couple months now -- works great -- and I was thinking of setting up a drive pool (parity) for my recording directory, but I'm a little nervous about the comment that access times are slower, especially considering that I may be both writing and reading multiple files from the pool at the same time.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:25 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 6,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
Has anyone actually set up a Sage server using storage spaces?

I've been running Sage on windows 8 for a couple months now -- works great -- and I was thinking of setting up a drive pool (parity) for my recording directory, but I'm a little nervous about the comment that access times are slower, especially considering that I may be both writing and reading multiple files from the pool at the same time.

Any thoughts?
Access times may be slower, due to higher overhead, but actual throughput is likely to be unchanged, or even higher, depending on the drive configuration.
__________________
Sage Server: Phenom II X4, 16GB RAM, Win7HP, 1x1TB (system/misc-imports), 2x750GB+3x2TB(recordings/media)
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. SA-4250 STB connected to Colossus for premiums, DVico Fusion5 for OTA.
Primary Client: i3-530, 2GB RAM, Win7HPx86, miniITX H55 MB, 160GB laptop drive, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Phenom II X2 545 w/8GB and HD6670 in Master Bedroom, HD200 in kids play room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
Just how "Fast" can network storage be? stanger89 The SageTV Community 17 11-09-2009 01:54 PM
"For Dummies" DVD Storage/Playing OneThomas SageTV Media Extender 18 11-09-2009 12:19 PM
"There is no DVD loaded into the drive. Please check the DVD Drive" Boxpin SageTV Software 2 12-22-2008 12:44 PM
"Set defaults" for Series forgets "Keep"/"Auto-delete" setting maxpower SageMC Custom Interface 9 05-14-2008 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.