SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 12-15-2003, 08:58 AM
Sage User

How to get best display on my TV

Please be gentle, I'm a newbie here. After playing around with SageTV on a 19" Sony in my study (connected via an RCA jack on my tv out card), I moved my HTPC to the family room where my plan is to connect it to my 53" Sony rear-project TV. First, here's my hardware in the HTPC:

2 PVR-250 cards
ATI 9600SE video card with vga/dvi/rca output
Component dongle for the ATI card (connects to the DVI output and gives component output)

I connected the HTPC to the big Sony via the RCA cable initially, just to test it out. All was fine (except the picture quality, as expected from an RCA connection). I set my display properties to clone the desktop, and the ATI display panels allowed me to adjust the screen size on the TV to fill the screen properly.

I then connected the ATI dongle to the DVI output, and to the Sony through one of the component inputs. After some fiddling with the ATI settings, it appeared that the output to the TV was locked at 720x480. Picture quality was much improved, but as it was cloning a 800x600 Windows desktop, only 720x480 of it was displayed (moving the mouse around resulted in the picture shifting/scrolling to display the missing areas).