SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Old 12-03-2010, 08:50 PM
Sage User

invalid folder

I just got a hd300, and the out of box experience has been one of the worst I have seen. All I want to do is access an SMB share. I have a samba server on linux, and I can mount these shares on other clients (a mac). On the hd300, I can see the server via "browse", but when I try to select the samba server, I always get "invalid folder". If I enter the share manually (\\my-host-name\my-share), I get another error. I am using beta firmware, and I never get an option to specify a user/passwd. I have checked the logs on the samba server, and the hd300 always tried to use user "nobody", which is not going to work. I will also not use "share" security, as that is crazy.

So, does anyone know what my options are?

Should I get an option to specify user/passwd?

Are there any other alternatives like nfs? If so, what's the preferred network name format to access (nfs://server/share?)
Old 12-04-2010, 08:20 AM
SageTVaholic

Did you try enabling the guest account on your samba share? I'm pretty sure that worked for other samba/NAS shares.

Gerry