SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   It's time again, cutting the cord options? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65390)

RonBoyd 02-14-2018 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by samgreco (Post 614370)
For me, it's not that Sling has anything that DTVN doesn't. It's that it has everything that I want for $20/mo rather than $35 for DTVN.

I hear you and that makes a lot of sense. It is actually for the same reasoning that I am partial to DTVN.

Since AT&T is my cell service, I get it (the basic package) for $10 a month. In addition, I get a $5.00 "bundle" discount for a net of $5 a month... and that includes HBO. (FWIW, I could get any of the packages for $25 less than standard price.)

I should explain further that we have an RV and travel quite a bit. AT&T had the best rate for our two Cell Phones and their version of an Air Card. So getting DTVN was a no-brainer for our situation since it allows us acces to non-OTA TV no matter where we are staying.

Anyway, I am still very interested in the networks that PlayOn has dropped.

stanger89 02-14-2018 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 614353)
Okay, I think the problem here is the need to separate "Live" from "Video on Demand."

Recording a "Live" episode works exactly like the Ol' VCR method. See Image

Well that sucks.

Quote:

In other words, I am unfamiliar with recording/watching live TV. Why don't you download the free trial PlayOn and use some non-subscription service (Like Crackle maybe -- I was able to open YouTube Olympic Coverage video without a subscription) and see if it is right for you... before committing to either PlayOn or DTVN.
Well I actually signed up for DTVN, they've got a $10/mo for 3 mo thing. But so far, I'm not impressed. VOD selection is poor, it's definitely not a subsitute for a DVR. There's a number of shows that aren't available through VOD, and those that are, almost all seem to be on at least a 1-week delay. On top of that they're chock full of commercials it seems.

I actually bought a Playon lifetime, but I may request a refund on that, based on your clarification, it really doesn't do what I need it to. If I understand right, you can't "subscribe" to shows that aren't available VOD, which basically makes it useless for me.

I'll stick out DTVN, for a bit and see if they enable the DVR functionality this month. If so I'll see how that goes, otherwise it's a total non-starter.

panteragstk 02-14-2018 10:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 614365)
I wasn't keeping track of what was dropped by PlayOn but wish to sound more coherent when complaining to PlayOn Support. Help me identify all the channels that they no longer list. I remember only TNT/TBS/SyFy because I was directly affected but wish to be thorough. Please tell me what channels you are referring to. See current list image:

Attachment 16849



I see nothing I need that Sling has that DTVN doesn't. What are you referring to specifically? (Asking for the same above reason.)

https://www.cordcuttersnews.com/phil...february-2018/

Dtvn doesn't have an Android TV app. Simple as that.

RonBoyd 02-15-2018 04:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panteragstk (Post 614380)
Dtvn doesn't have an Android TV app. Simple as that.

Yeah, I don't know what that means. I use Chrome on my laptop and ROKU on the (Non-Android) TV. I don't use my cell phone to watch video but isn't this a DTVN Android App?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.att.tv&hl=en

reggie14 02-15-2018 11:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 614381)
Yeah, I don't know what that means. I use Chrome on my laptop and ROKU on the (Non-Android) TV. I don't use my cell phone to watch video but isn't this a DTVN Android App?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.att.tv&hl=en

Android TV isn't simply Android running on a TV. It's a particular flavor of Android designed for large screens controlled for 10ft away using a remote. While Android apps can (often) be sided-loaded to run on an Android TV device, unless its somehow already been designed to work with a remote, it's not likely to work very well.

NetworkGuy 02-15-2018 11:48 AM

The way I have gotten around PlayOn dropping a few Networks is to use my cable company's VOD.

I have Comcast and PlayOn will record anything that is available through their VOD. That includes SyFy / TNT / etc.

RonBoyd 02-15-2018 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reggie14 (Post 614383)
Android TV isn't simply Android running on a TV. It's a particular flavor of Android designed for large screens controlled for 10ft away using a remote. While Android apps can (often) be sided-loaded to run on an Android TV device, unless its somehow already been designed to work with a remote, it's not likely to work very well.

Is that what this is all about? http://androidpcreview.com/tv-box-start-here/

Quote:

Android TV box vs Smart TV

Smart TV, which includes Googleís Android TV, is an attempt to integrate your media hub inside your TV itself. This may sound like a great idea, but itís got one major drawback: Smart TVís can cost up to ten times as much as a streaming media device box hooked up to the TV you already own. The difference between Android TV and an Android TV box lies in the operating system itself. Android TV is a special version of the core Android OS. Android TV canít run every app, at least not without some complicated workarounds. It requires special versions of apps which are specifically designed to be run on your television rather than a touchscreen.

RonBoyd 02-15-2018 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NetworkGuy (Post 614386)
The way I have gotten around PlayOn dropping a few Networks is to use my cable company's VOD.

I have Comcast and PlayOn will record anything that is available through their VOD. That includes SyFy / TNT / etc.

You subscribe to Comcast AND a streaming service (DTVN?)? I don't have that luxury. It is a struggle for me to subscribe to Amazon, DTVN +HBO, HULU, Showtime and Netflix.

FWIW, I have no problem recording the VOD episodes weeks after the "live" broadcast. I usually don't get around to watching the "live" programs recorded OTA by STV for several months anyway. I have 8 tuners and sometimes all eight are "in use" by STV so watching "live" is not really an option for me.

wayner 02-15-2018 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 614388)
Is that what this is all about? http://androidpcreview.com/tv-box-start-here/

Actually no. AndroidTV boxes are what Reggie described. Currently the main ones are the Nvidia Shield and the Mibox3. Many Sony and Sharp TVs also have AndroidTV built in as part of the "Smart TV" feature.

The SageTV Android client written by stuckless is designed to work on these boxes.

IMHO an AndroidTV box using SageTV and using apps like Netflix, YouTube, etc is a great solution for most folks. And the two boxes I mentioned above both support 4K. But the fact that DTVN doesn't have an AndroidTV app would ber very annoying.

panteragstk 02-15-2018 12:38 PM

Been using SlingTV trial for yesterday and today and I'm impressed. For $30 I get pretty much everything me and my kids watch. OTA takes care of the rest with the exception of the NFL Red Zone channel. Not a big deal though.

stanger89 02-15-2018 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panteragstk (Post 614392)
Been using SlingTV trial for yesterday and today and I'm impressed. For $30 I get pretty much everything me and my kids watch. OTA takes care of the rest with the exception of the NFL Red Zone channel. Not a big deal though.

How's the DVR/VOD on that?

Maybe DTVN will redeem itself if they enable the DVR for everyone (or let me in the beta) but their VOD is pretty bad.

panteragstk 02-15-2018 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614393)
How's the DVR/VOD on that?

Maybe DTVN will redeem itself if they enable the DVR for everyone (or let me in the beta) but their VOD is pretty bad.

Haven't signed up for the DVR just yet. I'll do it now and set some stuff to record and report back.

Interface for Sling is nice. You select a currently airing episode and it pulls up the next and previous episodes for you to watch. Pretty slick.

I will say that it's not without it's hiccups. I've got 1gb fiber from ATT so my connection isn't the issue, but it froze twice on the Disney Jr. channel this morning. Hasn't happened before or since. Who knows.

panteragstk 02-15-2018 09:02 PM

So I got the DVR package for sling TV and it works as expected. It gives you the option of entire series, new episodes, or just this show. Stored files play immediately and you can skip as needed with the channel I recorded.

Random freezing still occurs on Disney Jr. Odd that it's just that channel. Hasn't happened on any others.

RonBoyd 02-17-2018 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 614374)
Anyway, I am still very interested in the networks that PlayOn has dropped.

FWIW, I received somewhat of an answer to the TVE issue with PlayOn:

Quote:

Ronald Boyd
Feb 11, 09:32 EST
First it was TBS and TNT that were dropped from the list of Channels. Now, I have lost SyFy from the list. (There are, apparently, others that I haven't found yet.) FWIW, I was able to access Syfy prior to updating (yesterday) to a more current version.
I can access SyFy through my DirecTV Now and HULU accounts but the program listings are truncated.
What am I doing wrong?
Quote:

PlayOn Support (Skip) (Support Center)
Feb 17, 09:31 EST
Greetings,

We're happy to help. There were issues with specific provider websites (specifically with the video player and/or how authentication was handled). Those issues were causing the channels to break frequently. As a result, we've removed them for now. Should something change with the sites and their reliability, we'll look at adding them back to the lineup.

Skip
PlayOn Support
www.playon.tv

Sigh

SWKerr 02-17-2018 05:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614301)
Out of curiosity, what's so bad about the DVR?
.

The DTVN DVR is limited to just 20 hours in the beta. Add to that that you have no options to start early or end late or just new episodes. The are no keep just the most recent # of episodes. All this means you are constantly having to manage the space to make sure something you want would not role off. (A week of news and a Nascar race would eat up half your space). But keep in mind they have a lot of VOD and a rewind feature for a lot of shows.

For a Beta that has been running for close to a year it is not real stable. Record errors all the time when I try to set a recording. Only one of My local 2 local channels has consistent Guide info. Favorites don't filter correctly at times. Just not real polished for something that is supposed to be months from release.

FYI: YouTube TV just added some additional stations but will be raising the price. You can still get the $35 for about month but after that the prices goes up to $40 for new users. A lot of what they added Was TBS, TNT and some NBA and MLB channels.

YouTube TV also recently added Roku and Apple TV apps. I have to say I like the Roku remote with built in TV power and Volume buttons. I am not in love with the Roku interface but it is functional and the Stick at $50 with the new remote is makes it a better option than the FireTV especially when you consider the app support.

SWKerr 02-17-2018 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614347)
So how does it actually work with DTVNow in practice? What if two shows air at the same time?

I have to say that Playon with DTVN was great a few months ago but has been spotty lately with recording not working for weeks at a time. Also: subscriptions on DTVN have been difficult to manage. DTVN seems to change the way they classify in their menu structure all the time. The same show will be by season on week and then in the Main tree the next. This may settle down as the service matures but it is not a great experience at this time.

Playon also seems to require a regular restart to keep working. The service seems to run but will not record until I reboot. This is an issue that occurs on 2 different machines so probably not a just me issue.

stanger89 02-17-2018 05:26 PM

Yeah, we'll see, I subscribed to all my stuff in Playon on DTVN, we'll see how it goes for a week or two.

Sad to say, but $40+/mo to use Sage as the DVR is starting to seem like a deal.

TechBill 02-19-2018 11:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panteragstk (Post 614399)
So I got the DVR package for sling TV and it works as expected. It gives you the option of entire series, new episodes, or just this show. Stored files play immediately and you can skip as needed with the channel I recorded.

Random freezing still occurs on Disney Jr. Odd that it's just that channel. Hasn't happened on any others.

Good to know that I am not alone on this issue

My kids was complaining about the same freezing issue when we had SlingTV few month ago.

panteragstk 02-20-2018 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TechBill (Post 614459)
Good to know that I am not alone on this issue

My kids was complaining about the same freezing issue when we had SlingTV few month ago.

It's apparently been an issue for a while.

I honestly really like SlingTV. It is as close as anything else I've found as an alternative to SageTV. It's not as good, not even close really, but I could live with it if I had to.

My reasons for looking is that my DTV bill keeps getting higher and higher...

panteragstk 02-22-2018 10:20 PM

Welp, I canceled DirecTV today. Love the service, but I find myself watching less and less so the cost just wasn't justified. I'll be keeping my Colossus cards, but they won't get used.

Sling TV really has everything I need. Sage and OTA will take care of the rest. I'm happy that I get to keep using sage. Been too long of a journey to quit now. It's just too good for sports alone. Plus I still use sage for all my TV shows. Don't see that changing.

stanger89 02-26-2018 07:56 PM

So I've got Sling and DTVN right now. I kind of think I'm going to cancel DTVN, it's just not a great experience. No DVR (right now), VOD selection is terrible, seems to be at least a few weeks behind, and tons of commercials.

So far, Sling is better, the VOD selection seems to cover most of my needs. But we'll have to see, seems there are a decent number of commercials here too...

panteragstk 02-28-2018 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614559)
So I've got Sling and DTVN right now. I kind of think I'm going to cancel DTVN, it's just not a great experience. No DVR (right now), VOD selection is terrible, seems to be at least a few weeks behind, and tons of commercials.

So far, Sling is better, the VOD selection seems to cover most of my needs. But we'll have to see, seems there are a decent number of commercials here too...

I'm really liking the way Sling works. The lack of local channels isn't a big deal since SageTV is picking up that slack for me.

The $110 per month I'm saving is worth it. My DTV equipment was starting to act up and I just want a working solution. Very happy.

stanger89 02-28-2018 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panteragstk (Post 614585)
I'm really liking the way Sling works.

We'll see how it goes, the commercials in VOD (that so far I've been unable to fast forward through) are really annoying. I'm going to try the DVR more and see how that goes.

Quote:

The $110 per month I'm saving is worth it. My DTV equipment was starting to act up and I just want a working solution. Very happy.
Yeah, we'll have to see, I'm going to have to call my cable provider and see what sort of a deal they can set me up with again. Right now it's looking like I need Sling Blue+DVR and probably Philo on top of it (I'll have to see about the later), which gets me over $50/mo for streaming. My cable bill isn't a ton more than that, I'd only be saving maybe $25-30/mo. Not sure that's worth giving up having everything under my control and commercial skipped.

stanger89 02-28-2018 11:55 AM

So, I see F1 TV got announced, F1, and it being locked to NBCSN and "live" TV was really the only thing I actually still wanted linear TV for....

Wonder if there's an even better deal if I don't care about live stuff at all...

tmiranda 02-28-2018 01:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614588)
So, I see F1 TV got announced, F1, and it being locked to NBCSN and "live" TV was really the only thing I actually still wanted linear TV for....

Wonder if there's an even better deal if I don't care about live stuff at all...

I saw this too. Does this mean F1 will not be on NBCSN at all? I'm confused.

stanger89 02-28-2018 01:29 PM

I assume it will still be on local networks, sounds like they're just providing an OTT service as well. I assume something like MLB, which I believe has OTT streaming, but they still show the games on linear TV too.

There are details I need to know before I get too excited, like can I watch a race after the fact? I mean, I like F1, but I'm not staying up all night to watch the Asian races live. Hopefully F1TV lets you watch the race later.

Tiki 02-28-2018 06:51 PM

I thought nbcsn lost the rights to F1 in the US after last season and it was moving to ABC (or one of their affiliates) for 2018. Didnít they say Hobbs, Machete, and Diffey were all moving on to other things?

tmiranda 02-28-2018 06:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tiki (Post 614599)
I thought nbcsn lost the rights to F1 in the US after last season and it was moving to ABC (or one of their affiliates) for 2018. Didnít they say Hobbs, Machete, and Diffey were all moving on to other things?

Yes, in 2018 the races will be on ABC/ESPN/ESPN2. Lots of changes under Liberty Media.

thopkin1 02-28-2018 07:19 PM

I'm using DirecTV Now with SageTV. See my thread here https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64304 I'm saving over $75 a month over my Dish network package and my WAF is very high! All the benefits of Sage!

stanger89 02-28-2018 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmiranda (Post 614601)
Yes, in 2018 the races will be on ABC/ESPN/ESPN2. Lots of changes under Liberty Media.

Whoa, I've been out of the loop apparently.

OT - According to this, ABC/ESPN are using Sky's coverage:
https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/f...c-sky-1004720/

Quote:

Originally Posted by thopkin1 (Post 614602)
I'm using DirecTV Now with SageTV. See my thread here https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64304 I'm saving over $75 a month over my Dish network package and my WAF is very high! All the benefits of Sage!

I'll have to take a look. So far I've not been very impressed with DTVN.

panteragstk 02-28-2018 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614587)
We'll see how it goes, the commercials in VOD (that so far I've been unable to fast forward through) are really annoying. I'm going to try the DVR more and see how that goes.



Yeah, we'll have to see, I'm going to have to call my cable provider and see what sort of a deal they can set me up with again. Right now it's looking like I need Sling Blue+DVR and probably Philo on top of it (I'll have to see about the later), which gets me over $50/mo for streaming. My cable bill isn't a ton more than that, I'd only be saving maybe $25-30/mo. Not sure that's worth giving up having everything under my control and commercial skipped.

When you have to double up your streaming services the savings over traditional disappear quickly. I'm lucky that I've got everything I need with orange plus DVR and the $10 add on package.

tmiranda 03-01-2018 06:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stanger89 (Post 614603)
OT - According to this, ABC/ESPN are using Sky's coverage:
https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/f...c-sky-1004720/

Formula1 is never OT :D

I can live with this. Sky has good coverage and an experience commentating crew.

stanger89 03-01-2018 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmiranda (Post 614608)
Formula1 is never OT :D

I can live with this. Sky has good coverage and an experience commentating crew.

I must say though, the revelation that F1 isn't on NBC anymore sort of changes the calculus, it basically rules out Sling, since they don't have it, and none of the "cheap" supplements do either.

So it's basically PS Vue or DTVN and DTVN doesn't have a DVR and has terrible VOD. Though DTVN plus HDMI encoders is interesting, but seems somewhat like a Rube Goldberg machine and I think being limited to 2 recordings at a time could be a problem.

stanger89 03-01-2018 11:41 AM

Hm, looks like Youtube TV filled in some of the important voids in my lineup. I might have to give that a try since it sounds like they've got the best DVR functionality out there.

bigbill 03-11-2018 11:01 AM

I put one of these http://amzn.to/2oUNIfP on the roof back in 2010, mainly to record San Diego channels but I also get LA channels from approx 100 miles away. I occasionally watch the LA channels real time as I have never figured out how to get two zipcode at the same time into the EPG on SageTV simultaneously. I record the San Diego channels. Would love to get both LA and SD channels into the EPG...

I also have two of these on the same pole: http://amzn.to/2FsUuDP so I can get channels from all three transmitter locations for San Diego. Each is about 90 degrees from the other. Used a splitter in reverse like this one: http://amzn.to/2oU6gwG. Digital TV is awesome.. I was amazed the splitter worked to "mux" all the channels onto one wire.

I fill in with Amazon Prime and other services on an adhoc purchase and Playon. Although Playon keeps removing Channels/Websites willynilly lately with no explanation till you ask them what happened, then they say its to difficult for them to keep those working so they removed them.




-Bill

wayner 03-11-2018 11:09 AM

It doesn't find the LA channels when you do a channel scan?

Even if that doesn't work then I am pretty sure that you can manually add channels into SageTV. The trickiest part with that might be finding the Station ID but you could likely find that from Schedules Direct.

bigbill 03-11-2018 11:22 AM

Yes, the channel scan works, that's how i found out that antenna could see them. I will have to look into adding them into the guide again. Do you know if there is a how-to or thread on adding channels from a second zipcode?

Thanks, Bill

wayner 03-11-2018 11:39 AM

Do these channels show up in the channel lineup, except have no data? I thought that as long as you had a valid station ID that SageTV will pull the guide data from SD, but I could be wrong.

bigbill 03-11-2018 12:50 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Had to go back and revisit it. It had been years since I gave up on getting those in the epg. I have enabled KCOP again. Waited till the guide did its update and am attaching a couple of screen shots. One of the channel setup for 13-1 and the corresponding Epg shot. I seem to remember the epg saying No Data years ago, but its just blank now. I waited a bit longer, and its still blank like the screen shot.
It seems to have the channel ID in the channel setup. But I am not a tv guru....

Let me know if you have any idea how to get the show info into the guide from that other city..

Thanks, Bill

wayner 03-11-2018 01:30 PM

In the Station ID field you need a five digit number rather than the "5" that you have right now - for example my local NBC affiliate is WGRZ-DT and it is station ID 31507. You need to find those ID numbers - hopefully someone else will chime in with the info. Or you could try setting up another ID in Schedules Direct and see if you can do a download of guide data to a text file and you may be able to find them.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.