SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Sage wont play uncompressed aac audio (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25553)

MattJackson86 05-26-2007 10:35 PM

Sage wont play uncompressed aac audio
 
I have my itunes library playing in sagetv, but sage will only play the compressed music and NOT the ripped from cd uncompressed aac. They were ripped in the latest version of itunes. I receive a playback error

paulbeers 05-28-2007 04:37 PM

I assume by "uncompressed" you really mean the Apple Lossless Encoder (which by the way is compressed, becuase anything but full wav is in someway compressed). The Apple Lossless is not a true AAC, while it has the same extension, it is not the same as AAC. Here is the wikipedia article on it. If this is what you are using, then it will never work with Sage as it would mean Apple would be giving up their "secrets". This is the reason I use MP3 for all my encodings. I know it isn't as nice as many of the other formats, at least I know they will work with every player out there.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Lossless

MattJackson86 05-28-2007 10:32 PM

Thanks for the info. I will look into converting them to mp3.

Taddeusz 05-29-2007 11:38 AM

Why not just use AAC which SageTV can play? AAC is a higher quality compression than MP3 at the same bit rate. 128Kb AAC is approximately the same quality as 192Kb MP3.

paulbeers 05-29-2007 01:19 PM

AAC is not a bad way to go. I started my "collection" when the only guarenteed playback option (on everything) was pretty much MP3 and so I have continued my library with MP3 (my older rips are 160kbs and newere are 192). AAC has become much more wide spread as have Ogg and others. Anything specific to Apple and you are just plain out of luck. I certainly wasn't calling MP3 the best as far as the way it sounds/compression algorithms (that has been proven time and time again that it isn't), however, I do think it is the best for compatibility.

nspindel 12-21-2007 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulbeers (Post 224980)
...Anything specific to Apple and you are just plain out of luck...

First of all, isn't AAC an Apple format? Apple Audio Codec is what it stands for, if I remember correctly. Second, there are many non-Apple methods to use Apple Lossless. dbPoweramp now encodes and decodes Apple Lossless, and the Squeezebox can play it.

I have my entire library in flac, then a transcoded copy in mp3 for my ipod. I would love to convert the flac library to alac, and then not need a parallel version of mp3's for the ipod, but I can't do this because Sage can't play it.

Adding alac to the supported audio formats would be pretty killer.

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 09:07 AM

I just read the Wikipedia page on Apple Lossless. Apparently a couple guys reverse engineered the format and is now supported by libavcodec. Which means that VLC and Mplayer (which Frey uses for SageTV) should be able to play ALAC fiiles. I hadn't tried in quite some time to play the files but I'm at work right now listening to an Apple Lossless Star Trek The Motion Picture theme through Placeshifter. It's playing fine for me right now. I'll have to try on my clients at home.

nspindel 12-21-2007 09:44 AM

What I'm most interested in is playing alac through a hi-def extender, which I'm planning on purchasing soon. Not so worried about client pc's, I can always use iTunes on pc...

appelm 12-21-2007 09:54 AM

I tried it last night and it caused the hi-def extender to hang. Also tried it on a SageClient on a pc and it didn't work. :(

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nspindel (Post 254351)
What I'm most interested in is playing alac through a hi-def extender, which I'm planning on purchasing soon. Not so worried about client pc's, I can always use iTunes on pc...

I'll check it out when I get home but from what I've experienced with my HD Extender so far is that SageTV doesn't seem to want to transcode anything for it. It seems to assume that all media files are playable on it and sends them raw. I've got some MOV fles that I'm pretty sure aren't supported where the audio plays but I get no video. SageTV should have some smarts built into it and transcode when necessary.

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 09:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by appelm (Post 254352)
I tried it last night and it caused the hi-def extender to hang. Also tried it on a SageClient on a pc and it didn't work. :(

That's interesting. I wonder why it's working here through Placeshifter? I tried it on both my Windows and Mac Placeshifters here and it played fine on both. Interesting and weird.

nspindel 12-21-2007 10:32 AM

Are you positive it's an apple lossless file and not aac?

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 10:49 AM

Yes, I'm absolutely positive. I ripped it myself to Apple Lossless for a reason. When I view the file information it says it is in ALAC format.

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 10:50 AM

What version of SageTV are you running? I'm running 6.3.5.

nspindel 12-21-2007 11:18 AM

did a bit of googling on"mplayer apple lossless" and seeing that there is a codec. apparently it requires quicktime 6.5 or later. possilble that quicktime is installed for Taddeusz but not for appelm?

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 11:29 AM

I don't have Quicktime installed on my server. SageTV has to be transcoding the ALAC files for them to be streaming to work through Placeshifter.

Edit: I'll provide screen shots if you really don't believe me.

nspindel 12-21-2007 02:03 PM

That's ok, I believe you. Curious to see what happens when you try through a pc client, there's got to be something different between your setup and appelm's...

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 02:44 PM

Doing some searches it appears that ALAC support has been in MPlayer since 1.0pre7.

http://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail/...il/000059.html

nspindel 12-21-2007 03:33 PM

I just tried on my Sage setup through a pc client, running 6.2.10. The alac files import ok, but when I try to play them I get an error message saying that it encountered an error trying to render the video portion of the file. Video portion??? :eek2:

Taddeusz 12-21-2007 05:58 PM

Ok, I just got home. Here are my results. My server is dedicated running in service mode. Neither the Sage Client on the server nor my other Sage Client is able to play Apple Lossless files. They error with "There was an error seeking the media player." My HD Extender is also not able to play them. The timer starts going but then freezes after about 10sec.

The Placeshifter is an entire different story but I'm not sure why. In both local network mode and remote mode it is able to play the files. I'm sure it has something to do with the transcoder, which is ffmpeg. The client uses MPlayer which doesn't seem to know what to do with the files.

I'd say this is rather interesting albeit kind of confusing.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.