SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV HD Theater - Media Player (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   HD300 hangs upon startup if Internet is not found (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66221)

bigbill 01-10-2020 06:49 AM

HD300 hangs upon startup if Internet is not found
 
I have noticed this odd issue when I am traveling in the motorhome. If for some reason I don't have an internet connection available the HD300 hangs for many minutes 5+ then finally connects to the sagetv server and works normally. It does not do this when internet is available. (my sagetv server is local)

I am camping at River Island till today and yesterday the camp wifi had cut me off, probably due to an automated job downloading a few gig of shows from my home's sagetv server. I hadn't noticed the internet was gone till I fired up the HD300 and wondered why it was just sitting at the splash screen for so long. Then I remembered when I had seen this before. (dry camping in the middle of nowhere Alaska last summer)

I cannot think of a reason that device would require an internet connection to connect to my sagetv. Does it use DNS? I try not to use the local router for DNS and specifically setup 8.8.8.8 & 4.4.2.2 as my DNS providers.

Thanks! Bill

wayner 01-10-2020 09:47 AM

There are instances that I have seen and that others have posted on these forums of extenders not booting up properly and the solution is to not plug in the ethernet cable when you reboot the extender until it goes into the standalone menu. Then plug in your ethernet cable and give it a try. This happens

Maybe try that next time.

graywolf 01-10-2020 10:11 AM

Just a guess
Most likely there is code to check SageTV home servers for a firmware update.
Without an internet connection it has to wait for it to time out trying

Just a thought

bigbill 01-10-2020 11:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by graywolf (Post 623627)
Just a guess Most likely there is code to check SageTV home servers for a firmware update. Without an internet connection it has to wait for it to time out trying Just a thought

That is one LONG timeout... -Bill

wnjj 01-10-2020 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigbill (Post 623631)
That is one LONG timeout... -Bill

Likely a 30 second timeout with 10 retries.

Carlton Bale 01-12-2020 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 623623)
the solution is to not plug in the ethernet cable when you reboot the extender until it goes into the standalone menu. Then plug in your ethernet cable and give it a try.

The exact procedure is to unplug both the power and network cables, then plug in power, wait for the stage TV logo to appear, then immediately plug in the network cable.

Itís due to some extender firmware bug. I donít know the exact cause, but it happens to me after momentary power failures that cause the extender to reboot and or the server to power down.

bigbill 01-13-2020 07:42 AM

Thanks Everyone, I am not usually in a big hurry to watch TV so I will continue to let it timeout. I am just glad its sort of normal and not my client going bad as decent new sagetv clients still eluding me. -Bill


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.