SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   How to turn off Audio Description? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60059)

jimcgreen 02-28-2013 12:34 PM

How to turn off Audio Description?
 
Recently, a couple of shows that I record are giving me an audio narrative of what is happening during the show. Such as "Kyle's eyes narrowed as he glanced at Cam". I know that this is a stream provided to help the visually impaired but I would like to turn it off. How can I do this?

Taddeusz 02-28-2013 01:40 PM

What tuner are you recording this from?

jimcgreen 02-28-2013 03:17 PM

I have a Hauppauge 1600 and a 2250 so 3 inputs are available.

MattHelm 02-28-2013 04:44 PM

Pressing the audio button on the remote should allow you to switch the audio track. I don't think there is an automatic way to not record it.

If it's the only audio track, the broadcaster is messing up, and you have to contact them.

jimcgreen 04-01-2013 10:20 AM

I figured it out. I don't use a remote control. I use a Gyration air mouse and control viewing with the Sage OSD menus. If I right click during playback I get a menu that includes an item called Audio Language. Choosing that gives me options of "eng" or "spa". It is defaulted on "eng". If I choose "spa" it stops doing the Audio Description but still plays in English.
The Audio Language option is only available on recordings that have something on both of the available audio tracks.

Fuzzy 04-01-2013 02:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimcgreen (Post 550582)
I figured it out. I don't use a remote control. I use a Gyration air mouse and control viewing with the Sage OSD menus. If I right click during playback I get a menu that includes an item called Audio Language. Choosing that gives me options of "eng" or "spa". It is defaulted on "eng". If I choose "spa" it stops doing the Audio Description but still plays in English.
The Audio Language option is only available on recordings that have something on both of the available audio tracks.

I've noticed this also with at least one Los Angeles broadcast station. Since they have a completely different Spanish subchannel now, they added descriptive audio to the main station - but they screwed up in how they are tagged in the stream (I haven't spent the time to contact them yet though).


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.