SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Customizations (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Closed Captions and Video Decoders (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8605)

ellweber 11-29-2004 06:46 PM

Closed Captions and Video Decoders
 
I have four Video Decoders installed on my Sage dedicated PC and only two of them seem to support CC. I am currently running Cayars v14 STV and Sage 2.1.10 on an Athlon 1800+, Win XP Pro...

Cyberlink and Intervideo Decoders display the CC but Sonic Cinemaster and ffdshow do not. For the latter two decoders the CC option never changes from "Off" while the former two allow me to select Off, CC1 or CC2 and actually even see the captions!

I know the mpeg files have the data because both Comskip and mpg2srt consistently find the CC data in my files. I think I may have seen others with strange absenses of CC that this may explain.

Has anyone successfully configured ffdshow (my prefered decoder to actually watch TV) to display CC? I do have subtitles on and Vobsub enabled but still no captions are visible. Any help or insight in to this would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lynn

ellweber 12-02-2004 01:59 PM

No ffdshow gurus around here!
 
Any clues here or should I be looking elsewhere for help on this?

sleonard 12-02-2004 02:22 PM

I have both the Sonic and NvDVD decoders. CC used to work with the Sonic before I did a complete re-install to 2.1.10. NvDVD does work with CC but not the post-processor.

Jere_Jones 12-02-2004 02:59 PM

I have not verified this in graphedit, but from your description, the simple answer is that Sonic and ffdshow do not provide a connection for CC data, they simply discard it. Cyberlink and Intervideo(my favorite) do provide that "Line21" out that is needed to render the closed captions.

Since your recordings do have CC data embeded in them, you have the option to extract the CC's into a .smi file using mpg2srt (see the FAQ). Then one of malore's additions will display them.

Jere

ellweber 12-02-2004 04:17 PM

Thanks Jere,

After fiddling around with Graphedit I think you are correct, though I had found other references to using ffdshow with CC. I may not have a version that supports CC output.

Comskip is working better. Most of the time it does the right thing. I look forward to future versions that have learning ability!

Lynn


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.