SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   BM1000-HDMI (HDMI Encoder) Review (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63177)

EnterNoEscape 03-05-2018 06:40 PM

I think I've power-cycled mine once since I bought them (which I find extremely tolerable compared to anything else I've used). They do run a little hot, but I have them in a fairly open space, so I'm not too worried about it.

KryptoNyte 03-17-2018 04:39 PM

Does this appear to be a device that has the same features as the other devices mentioned in this thread, and probably compatible with Sage?

https://www.amazon.com/Encoder-Broad...HFEHWFT2QS82GH

I'm going to assume stereo audio is the result, but at least I don't have to order from China.

Zogg 03-17-2018 10:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 614937)
Does this appear to be a device that has the same features as the other devices mentioned in this thread, and probably compatible with Sage?

https://www.amazon.com/Encoder-Broad...HFEHWFT2QS82GH

I'm going to assume stereo audio is the result, but at least I don't have to order from China.

It looks like it has the same functions and features, but looking at their website the built-in webpage is different from the Aliexpress units so I don't think it's just another rebranded box. But, as long as you can set it and forget it then most likely it will work.

EnterNoEscape 03-18-2018 06:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zogg (Post 614943)
It looks like it has the same functions and features, but looking at their website the built-in webpage is different from the Aliexpress units so I don't think it's just another rebranded box. But, as long as you can set it and forget it then most likely it will work.

Agreed. The design is a little different, but it looks like they probably use the same chip as a BM1000 based on it's capabilities.

pjpjpjpj 09-04-2019 08:45 PM

Sorry to resurrect an old thread but I had missed this when it happened and saw a reference to it recently elsewhere...

Is the only way to pull these devices into Sage through using OpenDCT or another plugin? Or will these show up as a tuner in Sage and be able to be added as a channel in the EPG?

If only the former, is OpenDCT easy to set up? I've never even looked into it because I didn't think it had anything to do with anything I would ever be doing.

peternm22 09-04-2019 09:02 PM

I believe OpenDCT is the only option to use these devices in SageTV.

There is some manual editing of configuration files, but this guide makes it very straightforward for these devices: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63855

baudfather 12-19-2019 09:39 PM

Update if anyone's following along still :D There's a new BM3000 firmware that enables AC3 encoding, though it's only 2CH... waiting to hear back if there's any way to transcode the 5.1 from the input, though I'm not holding my breath.

wayner 12-19-2019 09:49 PM

There are tons of these devices now under various names, the most popular manufacturer seems to be Uray. There are also versions that do 4K and H.265. But all of the ones that I have seen are only stereo.

sdsean 01-08-2020 06:17 PM

Can anyone tell me how to purchase a BM-1000? I'm having trouble finding it on the web (noob when it comes to aliexpress).

wayner 01-08-2020 08:59 PM

The Uray seems to be the most popular make of these devices now.

Something like this should do the trick:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3282...chweb201603_55

There are also models that do H.265 and/or 2160p aka 4K.

mgpaulus 01-08-2020 09:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 623600)
The Uray seems to be the most popular make of these devices now.

Something like this should do the trick:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3282...chweb201603_55

There are also models that do H.265 and/or 2160p aka 4K.

If using Sagetv with HD-300 extender(s), is there any reason to get H.265, or is H.264 adequate?

wayner 01-08-2020 10:05 PM

H.264 would be adequate - or even required. But if you use the Windows Client you could use H.265 and capture 4K. I don't know if anyone has tried this for capture, but people have got 4K files to play back on the Windows Client.

sdsean 01-08-2020 11:19 PM

Yeah i'm using HD-300s mostly around the house and when i really really want 4K i switch to my rokus, though i am interested in trying. Mainly i just want to try one of these to squeeze a bit better quality out of my current system that i peg to 720p. Using these I could at least get 1080p solid as opposed to 720p/1080i and would remove some excess cabling in my server room which would be nice.

wayner 01-09-2020 01:19 PM

These devices can capture 1080p but remember that is not a standard of TV in North America. I am pretty sure that all content is in 1080i or 720p. Of course the other option to use is the HD-PVR - assuming that your device has component. I have been using two HD-PVRs in my system for a decade or so.

I only mention 4K as that is the future. From my personal perspective there are two things that would cause me to move away from SageTV (1) no longer needing to capture TV as I move fully to streaming services, or (2) a desire to move as much as possible to 4K. Using one of these devices that can capture 4K (actually 2160p) would take care of problem number 2. Then the issue would be having clients that can play back 4K as my HD200 and HD300 extenders can't do that.

FYI - these types of encoders are used for some types of centralized video distriubtion services like VideoStorm. You connect a bunch of cable boxes, or other video sources to a bunch of encoders and then distribute the video to endpoints that are similar to SageTV extenders.

Get one of these and you can capture up to 16 streams. Unfortunately they only have stereo audio inputs.
http://10671595.s21i.faiusr.com/2/AB...wQw6Ac46Ac.jpg

sdsean 01-09-2020 07:18 PM

Yeah I'm aware most things in the US aren't in 4K over linear sat/cable (although some things are like ESPN). I'm half way into streaming now but I really don't see myself ever completely giving up linear mostly for sports. I'm already using 4 HD-PVRs, but now that they are getting harder and harder to come by is part of the reason why I ask as well (may as well upgrade). I'm probably gonna tackle switching the 64bit Sage finally a well.

wayner 01-09-2020 07:44 PM

The only reason I keep linear TV is sports but I am starting to consider the other options for sports like the NBA and NHL streaming services. I can get OTA as well so that gets some sports, especially Golf. The one thing I would miss is the golf channel.

But once all sports is available in 4K then I am going to want it in 4k!

sdsean 01-09-2020 08:06 PM

Well I work for ESPN and Disney so i'm a bit more lucky than most. The thing i must have though is Sunday Ticket, so as long as that's still on DirecTV i'm hooked. You can now do it online only an ditch the dish but they only allow 1 concurrent stream which is pointless.
There's a rumor that Bob Iger's last act as Disney CEO will be to purchase the rights for Sunday Ticket for ESPN+. . . if that happens i may go streaming all the way.

On the other hand, I still like linear for some things. . . .I like knowing that a show comes on at XXX time. And of course for sports. . .and also b/c if my internet goes down at least I can still watch tv. . . so \_['']_/


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.