SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Media Extender (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   1080p60 encode settings? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57201)

chrishallowell 10-05-2011 09:46 AM

1080p60 encode settings?
 
I've thinking about converting my HD home videos to 1080p60 but I can't get the HD300(in extended mode) to play them back smoothly. It plays for 3-4 seconds, then pauses, and then plays again for 2-3 seconds before pausing again, etc.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a x264/h264/different codec setting/profile that needs to be used to get 1080p60 to playback smoothly using a HD300.

I've tried:
x264: CRF=10. Profile=4.1
h264: CRF=100

Sidenote: When I convert my SD home videos to 480p60, the HD300 plays that back just fine.

Fuzzy 10-05-2011 09:51 AM

I'm not sure if the HD300 can even output 1080p60.

chrishallowell 10-05-2011 02:27 PM

Thanks Fuzzy. Maybe I should rephrase my question then to.... Has anyone been able to play 1080p60 using an HD300 in extended mode? And if so, what codec and settings were used?
Thanks.

lobosrul 10-07-2011 09:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chrishallowell (Post 517382)
I've thinking about converting my HD home videos to 1080p60 but I can't get the HD300(in extended mode) to play them back smoothly. It plays for 3-4 seconds, then pauses, and then plays again for 2-3 seconds before pausing again, etc.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a x264/h264/different codec setting/profile that needs to be used to get 1080p60 to playback smoothly using a HD300.

I've tried:
x264: CRF=10. Profile=4.1
h264: CRF=100

Sidenote: When I convert my SD home videos to 480p60, the HD300 plays that back just fine.

The HD300 is based on the Sigma 8650 series, which according to this: http://www.sigmadesigns.com/uploads/...SMP8650_br.pdf only supports h.264 HP up to L 4.0.

h.264 High Profile 4.0 only supports 1080p up to 30 fps. You need to go up to L 4.2 for 1080p60. Which isn't even supported in the Bluray spec (or maybe it is for 3D only). Note: even if your forcing x264 to L4.1, a 1080p60 encode is still L4.2.

chrishallowell 10-26-2011 11:31 AM

Thanks lobosrul for your explanation. It makes perfect sense.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.