SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   OpenDCT: An open source digital cable tuner. (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62774)

emveepee 12-18-2019 12:17 PM

@sic0048 are you using the dynamic or raw consumer?

dapharsyde 12-18-2019 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emveepee (Post 623372)
@dapharsyde although possibly not related to your problem, I see an issue in your logs perhaps with my understanding of the protocal. OpenDCT is trying to create a file to tell us about the DRM issue instead of streaming it over the Media port.

I was passing a filename 'stdout' as reference for myself thinking it was never used, maybe this has to be a valid filename on the server.

Back to my post, I will try to simplify the question. Are any SageTV users using the Ceton device and can it take 20 or 30 seconds on some channels (other than Music Choice)?

Martin

Yea I did notice that too, but I think it is unrelated to the tuning problem. I also have to apologize, the slow tuning behavior I was seeing before is probably a red herring.

The bigger issue I'm having is that tuning to the same channel sometimes reports it as Copy Free, but at other times it is Copy Never. Unfortunately I don't know enough about how the DRM works, but this seems like strange unexpected behavior that could be worked around.

I am happy to provide additional log files if necessary, if somebody could help with this.

EnterNoEscape 12-26-2019 09:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dapharsyde (Post 623378)
Yea I did notice that too, but I think it is unrelated to the tuning problem. I also have to apologize, the slow tuning behavior I was seeing before is probably a red herring.

The bigger issue I'm having is that tuning to the same channel sometimes reports it as Copy Free, but at other times it is Copy Never. Unfortunately I don't know enough about how the DRM works, but this seems like strange unexpected behavior that could be worked around.

I am happy to provide additional log files if necessary, if somebody could help with this.

If you're using the older 4 tuner Ceton model, the issue you're running into is related to analog copy protection flags. They are often discovered a few seconds into streaming and do not always exist; that's why everything seems fine until it isn't. Ceton never put out a firmware that removed that no longer required enforcement for the 4 tuner model. The 6 tuner model on the latest firmware will ignore this flag. If you want to disable the copy protection notifications, you can change error_videos_enabled=true to error_videos_enabled=false in opendct.properties (be sure to stop the service before changing this).

AlphaCrew 02-17-2020 02:38 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Can someone take a look into these logs to help me determine where to start looking for the cause.

I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)

jpwegas 02-17-2020 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlphaCrew (Post 624240)
The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)

I use UniFi gear and I have UPnP disabled and I don't have any issues.

--John

EnterNoEscape 02-21-2020 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlphaCrew (Post 624240)
Can someone take a look into these logs to help me determine where to start looking for the cause.

I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)

UPnP on the router isn't going to matter since we don't attempt to automatically open ports to the internet. The SageTV logs might help too since it looks like SageTV is telling OpenDCT to stop and start again. Prior to being told to stop, OpenDCT doesn't appear to be seeing any issues. Maybe disk issues?

JustFred 02-21-2020 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlphaCrew (Post 624240)
I can no longer get through a recording without it stopping and starting again, causing sage to create multiple video files.

The only thing that has changed with my system is the last Windows update and upgraded my entire network with Unifi gear. (I'm assuming I don't have to have UnPn turned on in the router for all this to work..?)

Is a Ubiquity Ultimate Dream Machine Pro (UDM-Pro) part of your network? There have been some reports that the UDM-Pro intermittently stops passing network traffic. Easiest way to troubleshoot this might be to temporarily restore your old network configuration to see if the problems disappear.

hufnagel 02-21-2020 07:59 PM

unRAID SageTV/OpenDCT newborn here.
tried searching; my google-fu is failing me.

Got both dockers installed, and i'm trying to set up my tuners.
HDHR3-CC (3 channel cable card.)
I've noticed, the lineup dct_hdhomerun.properties file doesn't have a populated channel listing in it, like on my current windows setup.

how do I kick off the console-only script such that the docker updates the lineup file properly? I tried opening a docker console and I get the following:

Running OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV...
OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV is already running.

stopping the service kills the docker, so that doesn't work.

AlphaCrew 02-22-2020 05:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape (Post 624272)
UPnP on the router isn't going to matter since we don't attempt to automatically open ports to the internet. The SageTV logs might help too since it looks like SageTV is telling OpenDCT to stop and start again. Prior to being told to stop, OpenDCT doesn't appear to be seeing any issues. Maybe disk issues?

I believe that was Exactly the problem. Once again THANK YOU. I would have never found the problem (via the logs) without your direction. The recording SSD was having issues.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustFred (Post 624273)
Is a Ubiquity Ultimate Dream Machine Pro (UDM-Pro) part of your network? There have been some reports that the UDM-Pro intermittently stops passing network traffic. Easiest way to troubleshoot this might be to temporarily restore your old network configuration to see if the problems disappear.

I have the NON Pro model.

EnterNoEscape 02-24-2020 07:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hufnagel (Post 624279)
unRAID SageTV/OpenDCT newborn here.
tried searching; my google-fu is failing me.

Got both dockers installed, and i'm trying to set up my tuners.
HDHR3-CC (3 channel cable card.)
I've noticed, the lineup dct_hdhomerun.properties file doesn't have a populated channel listing in it, like on my current windows setup.

how do I kick off the console-only script such that the docker updates the lineup file properly? I tried opening a docker console and I get the following:

Running OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV...
OpenDCT Digital Cable Tuner for SageTV is already running.

stopping the service kills the docker, so that doesn't work.

It sounds like you have never run the channel scan on the HDHomerun device itself. Note that this is not required nor is that file being populated required to use the tuner.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.