SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Beta Test Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Stuttering playback or pauses in playback (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5132)

kny3twalker 05-06-2004 02:05 AM

Stuttering playback or pauses in playback
 
anyone experincing anything like this (Stuttering playback or pauses in playback)?

I am experiencing stuttering on the server with pauses tried every codec I can think of

I am experiencing pauses on the client with also trying alot of codecs

I am not having any 30 sec pauses or anything like that

playback is much better than .017 for the clients

but just 1.2 pauses

furthermore I just wanted to add that I get audio and video stuttering when changing channels

Well if anyone else experiencing problems please post
Frey has already said in the forums he believes there are no outstanding problems but playback should be the biggest issue if there is a problem
smoother playback wihtout pauses is desired before v2 goes retail

Mike Young 05-06-2004 07:12 AM

We were disccusing this on another thread, but that problem, I belive occurs only on the client.
Currious what record rate you are using...I have found that I cannot use 5.6gb without stutter on client, but my server was fine.
Other than that, the causes I have found for stutter like you describe in order :

1. Other software or services loaded (ZoneAlarm, Nortons or other utilities)
2. Fragmented or disorganized disk (use 64K blocks)
3. Disk errors (run chkdsk /r
4 Bios settings
5. Wierd Network settings


mike/

Cabalsan 05-06-2004 08:10 AM

I also get a stutter but it only happens after coming out of a 10 Sec Fast Forward.


I am using SageTVRC2 (2.0.17). Have upgraded from 1.3.8 to 2.0.11 to 2.0.14 to 2.0.17. This problem was not in the earlier versions. Something changed between 14 & 17 as nothing has changed on my system at all - no driver/window updates & no added softare.


-Cab

*edit* Oh I use 2Gb/hr recording mode only on my HTPC.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.