SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Weak Power Supply ? 65 W (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3886)

Droid 03-03-2004 01:47 PM

Weak Power Supply ? 65 W
 
I just completed my PVR. EPIA 933, DVD, WinTv 350, 512K RAM, 200 gig 7200 WD drive. I am running the sage 2.13 software and am getting wierd non repeatable issues. No video, network not working etc... If the case I am using (ultra compact microITX) with 1 PCI vertical slot etc. It only has 4.5a 65w powersupply. Could this be too little and causing the flakeyness?

fidget 03-03-2004 03:00 PM

Re: Weak Power Supply ? 65 W
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Droid
I just completed my PVR. EPIA 933, DVD, WinTv 350, 512K RAM, 200 gig 7200 WD drive. I am running the sage 2.13 software and am getting wierd non repeatable issues. No video, network not working etc... If the case I am using (ultra compact microITX) with 1 PCI vertical slot etc. It only has 4.5a 65w powersupply. Could this be too little and causing the flakeyness?
Yep, it is too whimpy. I know that idotpc.com has a 100 W DC-DC converter that may work, along with a 100W external power supply.

My system is a 1 GHz EPIA system, 256 MB RAM, 80 GB HDD and a PVR-350. With the stock 60W DC-DC converter, I could boot but not connect to the network. If I replace the power supply with a 135W it boots just fine.

I haven't tried the 100W DC-DC converter yet, but that will happen this summer when I have more time (and fewer things to record).

Droid 03-03-2004 09:23 PM

Ok, now what do I buy? Can I buy just the brick (110W 12V AC Adapter (EDAC Power))or do I need both the brick (AC/DC 12V) plus the 100W DC DC converter?

Can I just get a new case/PS?

fidget 03-03-2004 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Droid
Ok, now what do I buy? Can I buy just the brick (110W 12V AC Adapter (EDAC Power))or do I need both the brick (AC/DC 12V) plus the 100W DC DC converter?

Can I just get a new case/PS?

You would need both the 100W DC-DC converter (or here if you have an EPIA-M, like me) and the 100W brick. Otherwise, you will be limited to the smallest capacity component in the chain.

rrussell 03-04-2004 07:55 AM

With a hi-speed HD like that, you'll also have to be aware of heat inside the case. Ventilation and air flow is essential.

I solved both that problem and the power one by moving my storage drive to an external firewire enclosure. Of course, this was after I jumped thru hoops fixing BOTH the power and cooling problems. But then I was left with a noisy fan. OH well.

Another good DC/DC board is from a guy called Audioforge on ebay. He's got one going now here:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&category=3670

You'd be on your own for the brick, but I've been working off of the one that came with my case (Casetronics 2699R) 24/7 for months now.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.