SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV HD Theater - Media Player (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   HD300 responds slowly (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66117)

Media Quest 10-09-2019 06:26 PM

HD300 responds slowly
 
New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.

Any ideas?

wnjj 10-09-2019 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Media Quest (Post 622379)
New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.

Any ideas?

Are there media directories full of shows/DVD's that are importing or is this system completely fresh? If SageTV is busy importing it may be causing lots of disk accesses and will slow things down.

wnjj 10-09-2019 06:54 PM

Also there is a setting related to photo loading that some have found to help resolve circles (at least where photos or movie posters are loading).

The sage.properties setting is in my post here:
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=15

RonBoyd 10-13-2019 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Media Quest (Post 622379)
New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.

I don't have a solution because I have the exact same issue.

JustFred 10-13-2019 09:00 AM

What are the values for JVM Heap (found on the Setup -> System Information screen) ?

Post a copy of the sagetv_*.txt log files (captured within minutes after the spinning donut occurs) to allow inspection and go beyond guessing at the problem/solution. In your posting, tell us the approx. time the issue occurred so we can correlate it to a timestamp in the log.

RonBoyd 10-13-2019 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustFred (Post 622416)
What are the values for JVM Heap (found on the Setup -> System Information screen) ?

Post a copy of the sagetv_*.txt log files (captured within minutes after the spinning donut occurs) to allow inspection and go beyond guessing at the problem/solution. In your posting, tell us the approx. time the issue occurred so we can correlate it to a timestamp in the log.

263MB/377MB/1909MB

The txt file was too large to attach so I truncated it to ten minute period but it was still too large to attach so I will paste the ten minute period that includes the spinning circle issue which happened at ~9:56.

Well... even when I cut it down to a two minute period, it is still too large to paste or attach.

How would you suggest I get the file to you? (I have forgotten how to share Dropbox files.)

Oh, let's try it with OneDrive - https://1drv.ms/t/s!And3oqMOSdYIiIJ3Ff7vly3Db0vo2Q

JustFred 10-13-2019 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 622417)
263MB/377MB/1909MB

Looks like you've allocated plenty of JVM heap space, so no problem there.

Quote:

The txt file was too large to attach so I truncated it to ten minute period but it was still too large to attach so I will paste the ten minute period that includes the spinning circle issue which happened at ~9:56.

Well... even when I cut it down to a two minute period, it is still too large to paste or attach.
Easiest way to post your logs is to zip them up first.

Looking at the log, the most relevant events are:
@ 9:44 - "Countdown to Kickoff" starts recording from Silicondust HDHomeRun Tuner 1074B30E-3
@ 9:56:36 - recording ends
@ 9:56:37 - Comskip finished processing the recording
@ 9:56:38 - Hang Detected (lasts for about 8 seconds)

When Sage-x64 (and plugins) was installed, was a COMPLETELY clean installation performed (as opposed to installing on top of the existing .properties files and x86 plugins) ?

Do the spinning donuts occur when no Sage plugins are installed?

RonBoyd 10-13-2019 08:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustFred (Post 622419)
When Sage-x64 (and plugins) was installed, was a COMPLETELY clean installation performed (as opposed to installing on top of the existing .properties files and x86 plugins) ?

Do the spinning donuts occur when no Sage plugins are installed?

Yes, it was clean install on a new machine... with no other major programs installed on it.

I don't know, I am unsure about uninstalling all the plugins to find out.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.