SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Beta Test Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   MVP does not connect (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20817)

Tomahawk51 10-20-2006 05:50 AM

MVP does not connect
 
Has anyone else noticed that under the past 2 v6 betas (v11, v12) that the MVP doesn't seem to connect?

I never had this issue under v5. It just sits at the Connecting to SageTV screen indefinitely.

Sometimes I can get it connected by going to my server and opening Sage. Most often I need a restart.

I am running in service mode.

MrApollinax 10-20-2006 05:55 AM

Another user lotus was having a similar issue. Check this thread to see what was happening to him. In one of his posts he mentions that a fix for his problem will be coming with the next beta release.

Lucas 10-20-2006 05:56 AM

Mine connects with 6.0.11 but does not connect with 6.0.12.

I sent the logs to beta test support who say that the issue is addressed in 6.0.13...

Tomahawk51 10-20-2006 05:08 PM

hmm...I'll have to wait for v13. Thanks for the info!

rickgillyon 10-20-2006 05:37 PM

I had no problems with 6.0.11, 6.0.12 is hopeless, Sage are still trying to work out why...

AndyS 10-20-2006 05:52 PM

I had problems with 6.0.11 where my MVP would not restart after a power-off. I would have to restart the server in order for the MVP to start workin again. This happened 2 or 3 times in the week that I was running on that release.

I moved to 6.0.12 yesterday and so far haven't seen this behaviour.

Andy.

AngelofDeth 10-20-2006 06:09 PM

What revision of the MVP is having these problems? Kind of worrisome in the case I get another... My current one has never seen the connection problems I see on here all the time.

rickgillyon 10-20-2006 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyS
I had problems with 6.0.11 where my MVP would not restart after a power-off.

This is exactly the problem I have with 6.0.12 that I didn't have on 6.0.11, if you're talking about a hang on the "Booting" screen...

Lucas 10-21-2006 12:22 AM

This is the problem I have and the only way to get it to continue booting is to go back to 11.

BTW my MVP is European PAL model Revision D3 if that means anything.

AndyS 10-21-2006 10:44 PM

It has now happened with 6.0.12. I'll file a bug report in the morning. This really affects the WAF (not to mention recording gaps while I reboot the server), so much so that I might have to go back to V5.

Andy.

rickgillyon 10-22-2006 04:43 PM

Seems to only happen for me when running the service...

AndyS 10-22-2006 07:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickgillyon
Seems to only happen for me when running the service...

For the record, I'm running as a service and see the problem.

rickgillyon 10-23-2006 03:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyS
For the record, I'm running as a service and see the problem.

Turn the service off and see if it fixes it (just temporarily, I mean!). Just run the UI on the server and use the MVP for a while.

Hopefully this will have given Sage an idea where the problem is...

Lucas 10-23-2006 04:37 AM

That might be a different problem than what I experience. I don't run the service.

Here's an extract from sage_0.txt on what's recorded when the MVP is switched on.

Πεμ 10/19 20:55:42.665 Server got broadcast packet: java.net.DatagramPacket@1fcd7d4
java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: 8
Πεμ 10/19 20:55:42.849 at java.lang.String.substring(Unknown Source)
Πεμ 10/19 20:55:42.850 at sage.as.a(Unknown Source)
Πεμ 10/19 20:55:42.850 at sage.a.a.for(Unknown Source)
Πεμ 10/19 20:55:42.850 at sage.SageTV$5.run(Unknown Source)

AndyS 10-23-2006 10:31 AM

Bug report filed.

Andy.

rickgillyon 10-24-2006 10:45 AM

Anyone with the problem where the MVP does not connect please raise a bug report, as Sage are having trouble isolating the problem and it looks like I'm the only one who has reported it!

The more reports, the more chance of tracking it down...

BobPhoenix 10-24-2006 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickgillyon
Anyone with the problem where the MVP does not connect please raise a bug report, as Sage are having trouble isolating the problem and it looks like I'm the only one who has reported it!

The more reports, the more chance of tracking it down...

Will do. I should have a log from last night that I can send them. Had to reboot the server then. Unless I have had enough debuglog statements to overflow 4 logs. It will not be the default only STV but I can probably get one like that tomorrow or the next night as I will also change back to just the Default STV when I get home.

BobP.

Edit: Just to clearify something - by reboot the server - I meant the SageTV service. I haven't rebooted the actual PC in about 6 months.

Edit2: Bug report sent.

AndyS 10-24-2006 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickgillyon
Anyone with the problem where the MVP does not connect please raise a bug report, as Sage are having trouble isolating the problem and it looks like I'm the only one who has reported it!

The more reports, the more chance of tracking it down...

You're not the only one who reported it. They have asked me to stop running Sage as a service, and so far I've not seen the problem.

Andy.

David G 10-24-2006 01:03 PM

This was happening to me with the latest v5. I was running the service. The way I got it fixed was by restarting the sage server (inside of sage, NOT rebooting the computer). I upgraded to the latest beta and haven't seen this issue yet - can't remember if I'm running the service currently - my htpc's always on so I don't really need it.

nick_l 10-24-2006 01:19 PM

.11 but not .12
 
I had the problem w/ .11 but not yet with .12. Running as a service. If I have this problem with the latest version Ill file a bug report.

Nick


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.