SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   HDHR Prime Available For Pre-Order on Amazon, $207.20 USD (or not) (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55469)

mayamaniac 05-02-2011 04:36 AM

HDHR Prime Available For Pre-Order on Amazon, $207.20 USD (Update: Not Avail))
 
http://www.amazon.com/SiliconDust-HD...ta/B004HKIB6E/

So who's gonna swipe their credit card first? :p

Any word whether SageTV will ever officially support this cable card tri-tuner? Will the SageDCT/SageMCTuner method work?

***Update***
Silicondust pulled the pre-order. It's no longer available.

***Update 05-13-2011***
Silicondust officially announced the pre-order of the 3 tuner version for $249.99, with a release date of 06/29/2011. And the 6 tuner version is priced at $499.99 and available in the coming weeks.
http://www.silicondust.com/products/hdhomerun/prime/
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815345006

mikejaner 05-02-2011 04:59 AM

Just pre-ordered mine. Worst case scenario I won't be able to use it with SageTV. I am assuming there will be enough demand for it I can sell it on eBay if all else fails.

tmiranda 05-02-2011 05:42 AM

Just ordered mine too.

DevNull 05-02-2011 06:33 AM

It's been removed. I suspect it's due to Nick's post on the Silicondust forums.

reggie14 05-02-2011 08:31 AM

I'm awfully tempted to pre-order this as soon as they start. I figure that gives me almost 30 days to cancel the pre-order if I lose hope that Sage will support it.

mayamaniac 05-02-2011 12:37 PM

At least we know how much it will cost. :)

panteragstk 05-02-2011 01:03 PM

I wonder how much the 6 tuner version will be?

tmiranda 05-02-2011 06:18 PM

I received an email at 6:07 from Amazon saying my order was canceled because they "posted the wrong price." The least they could have done was man up and tell the truth.

I'm annoyed SiliconDust is planning to release the 6 tuner version instead of the 3. I understand the business decision but there is no way I'm going to pay $400 for a tuner device.

wayner 05-03-2011 05:58 AM

The 6 tuner version is still a network device? I guess this means it is using a Gigabit network since 6 streams would take about 120 Mbps. You better make sure you don't have any network problems before using that sucker.

matt91 05-03-2011 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 496236)
The 6 tuner version is still a network device? I guess this means it is using a Gigabit network since 6 streams would take about 120 Mbps. You better make sure you don't have any network problems before using that sucker.

it actually is two units in one large housing, so there are two of everything, except power, i believe. that is, two card slots, two network connections, two RG6 feeds, etc.

from: http://www.silicondust.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9781
I believe that SD can certify the PCB and firmware, and then reuse it in multiple products. In this case, SD will just place two 3-tuners PRIMEs in a single enclosure and sell it as a 6-tuner PRIME. They only share power because it is not part of the data protection path. All other interfaces are doubled (2 CC, 2 ethernet, 2 RF). They can sell two products and only fund the R&D and certification of one. They also have a partnership with Hauppauge to offer at least one more CableCard product. This will allow SD to share some of those costs with Hauppauge.

reggie14 05-09-2011 05:46 AM

I'm guessing pre-orders on the HDHR Prime will start today, thought it might be limited to just the 6-tuner version.

Are you guys still planning on getting the 3-tuner version? Sage hasn't said anything about supporting it yet.

EnterNoEscape 05-09-2011 11:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt91 (Post 496248)
it actually is two units in one large housing, so there are two of everything, except power, i believe. that is, two card slots, two network connections, two RG6 feeds, etc.

Wow, I wasn't under the impression we were talking about 2 cable cards with this unit. If I had known that, I would have had my eyes on the Ceton card and not even been interested in the Silicondust offer. I guess I'm going to continue to wait for someone to come out with a 6 tuner that runs off one cable card.

TechJunkie 05-09-2011 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape (Post 497196)
Wow, I wasn't under the impression we were talking about 2 cable cards with this unit. If I had known that, I would have had my eyes on the Ceton card and not even been interested in the Silicondust offer. I guess I'm going to continue to wait for someone to come out with a 6 tuner that runs off one cable card.

Do you have to use both cablecard slots? Could you use one cable card for 3 tuners and use OTA for the other three or just not use the other three?

EnterNoEscape 05-10-2011 07:55 AM

I don't know, but for the premium, it would probably be cheaper to wait for the 3 tuner version and just get a normal ClearQAM tuner.

matt91 05-10-2011 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TechJunkie (Post 497207)
Do you have to use both cablecard slots? Could you use one cable card for 3 tuners and use OTA for the other three or just not use the other three?

I'm pretty sure that you can use OTA for the other three. the link I provided covers lots of questions like this, IIRC.

wrems 05-14-2011 07:28 AM

Silicon Dust just announced details for a pre-order:

http://www.silicondust.com/products/hdhomerun/prime/

mikejaner 05-14-2011 08:21 AM

Ok, preordered again, hopefully this one will stick!!!

mayamaniac 05-14-2011 02:05 PM

Looks like it's official this time. Still waiting for word on whether this will work with SageTV officially or through the SageDCT/SageMCTuner method. Otherwise, I hope with the release of this product, it'll make Ceton drop the price of their 4 tuner card a little.

wayner 05-14-2011 03:27 PM

Why wouldn't you get a bit of a break for the six tuner unit? It sells at a $0.01 premium to two three tuner unit.

Why would you not order multiple three tuner units rather than the six tuner version?

mayamaniac 05-14-2011 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 497953)
Why wouldn't you get a bit of a break for the six tuner unit? It sells at a $0.01 premium to two three tuner unit.

Why would you not order multiple three tuner units rather than the six tuner version?

They basically joined two 3 tuner units together to make the 6 tuner unit, cause you need two cable cards for the 6 tuner. So IT IS like buying two 3 tuner units with no discounts. I guess one unit would take up less space and requires only one coax input and one power adapter, whoopeedoo.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.