SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV v7 Customizations (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Plugin: Schedules Direct EPG (not for v9) (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59978)

rkulagow 04-11-2017 06:35 PM

Hi - did we resolve your issue?

rdefino 04-12-2017 04:47 PM

yes you did. Thank you. working great now.

Oatz 07-14-2017 05:36 AM

As a luddite still running SageTV 7.1.9.256 on XP, is there any way to get Schedules direct running without moving to SageTV 9?

I have a SageTV 9 server running but haven't fully migrated the slew of settings and complicated (for me) ir blasting configuration.

Can't we download an old working SaveTV 7 plugin, the last working plugin by slugger? I know it's not through the plugins menu as it seems to be replaced by the new version which is listed as incompatible.

My last day of EPG data is Sunday and my wife will likely murder me on Monday if I don't get this resolved.

Yes I've waited till the last possible minute! :eek:
Thx in advance! :D

RonBoyd 07-15-2017 07:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oatz (Post 607908)
As a luddite still running SageTV 7.1.9.256 on XP, is there any way to get Schedules direct running without moving to SageTV 9?

I am in the same predicament. The SDEPG Plugin is still listed but installation fails with a message it can't find http://sourceforge.net/projects/sage...g-jar-0.0.8.1. Using that Link shows a "file not found"-type error.

I can find "sdepg.jar-0.0.8.1.zip" on that web site but don't know what to do with it.

Anyway, a little help would be greatly appreciated.

(FWIW, I have a Windows 10 64 bit laptop that I will dedicate to SageTV v9... as soon as I get a moment or two.)

graywolf 07-15-2017 08:53 AM

Your best bet is to upgrade to V9 which has built in SD EPG support.
Even if you can find the old V7 SD EPG Plugin, there is no guarentee that it will still function if there were enough changes to the SD EPG format since then.

EnterNoEscape 07-15-2017 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by graywolf (Post 607958)
Your best bet is to upgrade to V9 which has built in SD EPG support.
Even if you can find the old V7 SD EPG Plugin, there is no guarentee that it will still function if there were enough changes to the SD EPG format since then.

Fortunately there is effort to maintain backwards compatibility, but I agree with this advice. If you want the best experience, I would upgrade to v9. v9 also has better integration that the plugin would not be able to provide through actual API methods and will receive regular updates as Schedules Direct adds new features.

RonBoyd 07-15-2017 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by graywolf (Post 607958)
Your best bet is to upgrade to V9 which has built in SD EPG support.

Okay, Okay. <chuckle>

I upgraded to v9. (I have been putting it off because it is a Vista machine that out-lived its usefulness in 2007/8.) The procedure, actually, went extremely well and everything seems to be working as expected... and (Yippee!) much, much faster than with v7.

However, I have an Error message that informs me "No EPG license key specified" and tells me to go to "Setup Video Sources" and select "EPG Lineup" to enter the license key. "EPG Lineup" is not one of my choices -- only the eight Tuners and two WebFeedEncoders.

I am still connected to the original v7 EPG. How do I get past this?

graywolf 07-15-2017 10:50 AM

Go into Video Sources and there should be a choice for Schedules Direct

RonBoyd 07-15-2017 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by graywolf (Post 607969)
Go into Video Sources and there should be a choice for Schedules Direct

Sorry about that. I added " that the only sources listed were the eight Tuners and two WebFeedEncoders" to my previous post while you were posting. Even when I selected add new source, those same choices are all I get.

Tiki 07-15-2017 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RonBoyd (Post 607973)
Sorry about that. I added " that the only sources listed were the eight Tuners and two WebFeedEncoders" to my previous post while you were posting. Even when I selected add new source, those same choices are all I get.

Go to Setup-> Setup Video Sources.
Pick any source from the list (press ok or right arrow).
You will see a screen with details about that source.
Arrow to the right and then down to the EPG lineup for that video source (press ok).
Follow the prompts to set up a new EPG source that uses Schedules Direct.
You will want to go through the channel lineup to make sure you have the right channels enabled / disabled and mapped the way you want it.

Repeat these steps for each video source (you will probably just set most of your tuners to use copies of the same EPG lineup

RonBoyd 07-15-2017 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tiki (Post 607974)
Go to Setup-> Setup Video Sources.
Pick any source from the list (press ok or right arrow).

Okay! All is right with the world again. In fact, more than alright... v9 is well done. I am happy.

Thank you for all the help.

Oatz 07-19-2017 07:48 AM

So I just upgraded to Sage 9 as well and the SD EPG was built in as advised, configured the IR blasting and all is good. :dance:

Thanks!

For those holding onto their Sage 7 rigs, fretting the upgrade, it ain't so bad at all. I would suggest using Win 10 32bit as a few of my special items needed a 32bit OS (notably FIREWIRE drivers for my Sci Atlanta STBs).

Also to note, if you did a free upgrade to Windows 10 (which you can still do as of July 2017!) you can install either Windows 10 64bit OR 32bit with the same key!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.