SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Clients Development (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Amazon FireOS & Placeshifter Mini-Client (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66037)

Jackass 07-21-2019 10:31 PM

Amazon FireOS & Placeshifter Mini-Client
 
There have been several random discussions in the forums the past 2-3 years, but haven't seen a consistent workable solution yet. Has anyone had any luck fighting the Sage login screen and the Amazon keyboard for the placeshifter client?

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65990
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...t=63637&page=3
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65915

Fire Tablets
- the login screen pops up and immediately the Android/Amazon keyboard appears
- I can type in my username just fine
- I cannot advance to the password field without dropping the keyboard
- Once keyboard is dropped, it doesn't come back and therefore can't type password

FireTV/Stick
- the login screen pops up and immediately the Amazon keyboard appears
- once the keyboard appears, there is no way to escape, enter, tab, etc
- only option is to exit Sage at that point

We take our FireStick with us on vacation and it would be awesome if we could access Sage from it. Currently we can only access Sage if we bring a full laptop or use an Android phone. Bring our MiBox won't be nearly as handy dandy, especially since it kind of sucks for access to HBO and Prime.

NetworkGuy 07-22-2019 06:58 AM

+1:thumb:

I think the issue is cause by the fact we can not advance to the next field to enter the password. I have not found a way around it.

KarylFStein 07-22-2019 11:33 AM

I don't suppose Amazon lets you load another keyboard. I had this problem when using a third-party virtual keyboard on my tablet. I switched to the Google keyboard just for this and it worked.

sic0048 07-23-2019 07:23 AM

I also think loading another keyboard will make it work. I realize Amazon makes that hard to do, but I've used this toolbox to make changes.

The toolbox does not require root and it is plug and play. It's super easy to install Google Services which includes the Play Store app which will then give you the ability to install apps like other keyboards (including the Gboard).

You can also remove (or restore) any of the installed Amazon apps too as I'm sure there are a few that you don't use.

In fact, I'm writing this response from an HD10 that I have used the toolbox with to install the Google Services. Im using Nova Launcher instead of the FireOS launcher and Brave instead of the stock browser. I also installed the SageTV Miniclient from the Google store (even though it is available from the Amazon app store). I don't recall having to do anything special to log into the Miniclient and it works just fine.

NetworkGuy 07-23-2019 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sic0048 (Post 621554)
I also think loading another keyboard will make it work. I realize Amazon makes that hard to do, but I've used this toolbox to make changes.

It looks like the Toolbox is just for Fire Tablets, not Fire TV.

Compatibility:

Amazon Fire HD 8 (2017).
Amazon Fire HD 8 (2018).
Amazon Fire HD 10 (2017).
Amazon Fire HD 8 (2016).
Amazon Fire HD 7 (2015).

NetworkGuy 07-23-2019 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KarylFStein (Post 621547)
I don't suppose Amazon lets you load another keyboard. I had this problem when using a third-party virtual keyboard on my tablet. I switched to the Google keyboard just for this and it worked.

I connected the Harmony Bluetooth keyboard to my FireTV Stick and was still not able to jump to the password to login. :nono:

VCRUser 07-23-2019 09:08 PM

Would putting the FireTV app on a phone or tablet work? That allows using the phone's keyboard. In some test runs (NOT with Placeshifter, though) I've found that you often need to use the FireStick remote to position the cursor in the appropriate fields, but can then enter text via the app and it goes into the field. It's kind of clunky and often takes a few tries to get it working. I find that connecting a BlueTooth keyboard works better. But again, I haven't tried with PlaceShifter since I'm only using it from home so far.

NetworkGuy 07-24-2019 02:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VCRUser (Post 621566)
But again, I haven't tried with PlaceShifter since I'm only using it from home so far.

You can test from home, just create a Placeshifter entry and fill in the Locator ID. Placeshifter will ask for the userid/passwd when you go to connect.

NetworkGuy 07-24-2019 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VCRUser (Post 621566)
Would putting the FireTV app on a phone or tablet work?

I just tested with the FireTV app on an Android phone. I got a message that the app was not using the standard FireTV keyboard. But it would not even send any keystrokes to the login screen. :nono: :(

motoman666 10-24-2019 11:52 AM

Has anyone figured the credentials thingy out?? I have these on every tv in the house. Now that i have better internet i would like to take firestick with me on Vaca and get sage. If we could only put in the credentials.

NetworkGuy 10-29-2019 03:02 PM

One the login information is entered, the mini-client remembers it.

If we knew where that was stored, we might be able to create an entry so it does not prompt next time.

TGsell 01-13-2021 11:39 AM

Possible fix to keyboard issue using FireStick miniclient
 
Ive been trying to login to my server via the internet as many have and always ran into the login screen and having the FireStick keyboard 'in the way'. By accident I tried the 'Space' button after entering username and password set on my server for placeshifter client and bingo...I'm logged in.. Perhaps the app sees this button as 'enter' ... regardless it seems to work.

TGsell 01-13-2021 11:39 AM

Try "space" ! see my post

sic0048 01-14-2021 10:51 AM

The "space" button will generally "select" a checkbox when it is the selected text. (This isn't a SageTV function, it's a larger general function of the way apps are programmed).

It's been my experience that the "Automatically LogIn" option can only be selected by pressing the spacebar after putting your credentials in. You will see the green checkbox appear. Pressing "enter" will not actually select this option.

VCRUser 03-02-2021 09:21 PM

Not Fire-related, but password-entry related
 
On my new server I'm trying to set up placeshifter users. I setup some login/password combos, but when I try to enter any of them on my phone, I can enter the login fine. I use the swipe-in to get to the next field, and then type in the password. Hit the "back" button to dismiss the keyboard. Click "automatic login" and "login," and am told that the login is incorrect. Multiple repeats, multiple double-checks of logins and passwords. Multiple heads banged against multiple walls. Did the same thing using a bluetooth keyboard.

I went through this with the old server and can't for the life of me remember how I fixed it.

sic0048 03-03-2021 12:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VCRUser (Post 629154)
On my new server I'm trying to set up placeshifter users. I setup some login/password combos, but when I try to enter any of them on my phone, I can enter the login fine. I use the swipe-in to get to the next field, and then type in the password. Hit the "back" button to dismiss the keyboard. Click "automatic login" and "login," and am told that the login is incorrect. Multiple repeats, multiple double-checks of logins and passwords. Multiple heads banged against multiple walls. Did the same thing using a bluetooth keyboard.

I went through this with the old server and can't for the life of me remember how I fixed it.

You double checked on the main SageTV server what the actual placeshifter username and password are? I've been tricked a couple of times when I "thought" I knew what they were and then went back and found out that I was wrong!

VCRUser 03-03-2021 03:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sic0048 (Post 629166)
You double checked on the main SageTV server what the actual placeshifter username and password are? I've been tricked a couple of times when I "thought" I knew what they were and then went back and found out that I was wrong!

Yes - more like quadruple-checked, created some new ones and triple-checked them. No help.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.