SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Placeshifter (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Placeshifter failure from outside LAN (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66676)

VCRUser 03-04-2021 03:28 AM

Placeshifter failure from outside LAN
 
I had posted this in the Android miniclient area, but now suspect it's place-shifter related. Rather than pasting in the whole thing (which I think is frowned on), would appreciate help re:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...&postcount=850

Essentially, I can't get a remote placeshifter client (specifically the Android miniclient) to work with two Windows 8.1 installations. The symptoms & attempts to resolve are detailed in the post linked above. I'm beginning to think there may be a Windows 8.1 configuration tweak required - but have no clue what it might be.

VCRUser 03-04-2021 08:49 PM

Solved
 
I found the answer in this old thread:


https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40332

Apparently, despite the ability to tweak external ports when configuring a server, at least in my case as well as the one described in the linked post, only 31099 works. Also, my router allows me to port-forward a given external port to only one local machine (I guess any router would probably insist on that). That means "There can be only one" Placeshifter server in use at a time.

Once I set my new server's port to the default 31099 everything worked as expected. Since the old server will be decommissioned once the new one is in place (it's been crashing daily, hence the need for the new one), I'm ok with having only one working externally-reachable PS server. But it's an issue for anyone who does need more than one.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.