SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hardware Support (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Reliable Power Supply for HDPVR (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62284)

Narflex 07-28-2015 11:34 AM

Reliable Power Supply for HDPVR
 
I've seen at least one post about this but wanted people's general opinion.

Is there a high quality power supply that people use for their HDPVRs? I'm getting tired of replacing them every year or so when they die (and the associated recording issues that occur before that event happens), and would rather just spring for something that should last a long time.


--------------------------------------------
Update: instead of buying small power supplies and having them repeatedly fail, power it from your PC.

Here's a link to basic instructions for connecting the HD-PR to your PC's power supply.

Skirge01 07-28-2015 11:49 AM

The Netgear ones I was buying as replacements only lasted a year or so. As a result, I wound up going back to the originals from Hauppauge.

Taddeusz 07-28-2015 11:58 AM

The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.

Narflex 07-28-2015 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taddeusz (Post 574528)
The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.

Do you have a link to the one you bought?

Opus4 07-28-2015 12:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taddeusz (Post 574528)
The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.

Could you point out which model it is on their site? My to-do list also contains "order extra HD-PVR power supplies"... I had a couple from Hauppuage, but I used them to replace the power supplies on my home energy usage monitor, because apparently lots of those types of power supplies go bad.

Andy

Taddeusz 07-28-2015 12:19 PM

No, sorry, looked in my email and I couldn't find it.

Narflex 07-28-2015 12:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taddeusz (Post 574531)
No, sorry, looked in my email and I couldn't find it.

Can you go look on it when you're home to see if there's a model number or something?

wayner 07-28-2015 01:19 PM

Any idea why we still have these issues? At first it was due to with capacitor plague - but surely those bad capacitors are now all gone?

Here is a blog entry on the subject from four years ago: https://valkyriemt.wordpress.com/201...-fail-for-all/

Taddeusz 07-28-2015 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 574533)
Any idea why we still have these issues? At first it was due to with capacitor plague - but surely those bad capacitors are now all gone?

Here is a blog entry on the subject from four years ago: https://valkyriemt.wordpress.com/201...-fail-for-all/

You'd think. But I believe there are still cheap capacitors coming out of East Asia. They work and last long enough for the thing attached to exit warranty. People just dig out another power supply and move on. I've even had a cheap HP printer that I had to toss because the power supply went south. Wasn't worth replacing and it wasn't any kind of standard power supply.

ThePaladinTech 07-28-2015 03:38 PM

http://badcaps.net/

wayner 07-28-2015 03:42 PM

These discussions remind me of those announcements made at Woodstock "The brown acid is bad, man!"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKoLlKmQSHU

dstanley 07-28-2015 07:14 PM

I ended up adding two molex power brackets to the back of my server and made up cables to power my four HD-PVR's.

http://www.ncixus.com/products/?sku=29342

Over time I must have bought about six replacement transformers and this mod should be the last time I have to mess with the power for these things.

Been rock solid since doing this mod.

Dwight

mgpaulus 07-28-2015 07:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dstanley (Post 574542)
I ended up adding two molex power brackets to the back of my server and made up cables to power my four HD-PVR's.

http://www.ncixus.com/products/?sku=29342

Over time I must have bought about six replacement transformers and this mod should be the last time I have to mess with the power for these things.

Been rock solid since doing this mod.

Dwight

Reg. Price: $4.22 USD On-Hand Availability:
This Product is Not Available
This item is no longer available. Notify me if this product is available again.
- See more at: http://www.ncixus.com/products/?sku=....w26bNCNw.dpuf

Nice idea, but not very good if we can't get one.... :bang:

KryptoNyte 07-28-2015 07:43 PM

You can find something similar with a quick search.

http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Powe...dp/B003KQ3RSS/

Dwight, do you have any fine detail on how you wired in the HD-PVR's? How long have you been running like this? Curious.

dstanley 07-28-2015 07:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 574545)
Dwight, do you have any fine detail on how you wired in the HD-PVR's? How long have you been running like this? Curious.

I actually bought my brackets from eBay but I wanted to find a reliable link to show what they looked like. I followed this guide here:
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Mounting...PVR_Internally

I have Molex tools and used cut off cables from dead power supply's that I had from old HD-PVR's

Dwight

KryptoNyte 07-28-2015 07:59 PM

Very good. Thank you.

tvmaster2 07-28-2015 10:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Narflex (Post 574524)
I've seen at least one post about this but wanted people's general opinion.

Is there a high quality power supply that people use for their HDPVRs? I'm getting tired of replacing them every year or so when they die (and the associated recording issues that occur before that event happens), and would rather just spring for something that should last a long time.

I use one purchased from Radio Shack, going on three years now. I'm out of town...will post the make/model when I return.

EDIT: turns out I had a reference on my ipad: http://www.amazon.com/Enercell-5VDC-...ct_top?ie=UTF8

it's a radio shack house brand, but doesn't seem to be available at their web site. interchangeable tips are purchased separately I believe. even though it's not listed on RS's site, quite often they have things in the back. 2730411 is the RS skew.
PS - I run my system thru a Furman line conditioner to minimize voltage fluctuations.

Narflex 07-29-2015 12:11 PM

Ohhh...that's an awesome idea to just use the PC's power supply to power the HPDVRs. I shall be doing that sometime in the near future. :)

wayner 07-29-2015 12:29 PM

And don't even worry about getting a bracket. If most Sage users are like me they will have some old molex Y connectors around - and they are pretty much obsolete since SATA hard drives don't use that type of connection. Just cut off one of those, twist the wire onto the barrel connector from a failed HD-PVR power supply, apply a bit of solder, or use a crimped butt connector, and you will be good to go as long as the HD-PVR isn't too far from the PC. You can just feed the cord out the back of the PC where the PCI cards would go.

Narflex 07-29-2015 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wayner (Post 574558)
And don't even worry about getting a bracket. If most Sage users are like me they will have some old molex Y connectors around - and they are pretty much obsolete since SATA hard drives don't use that type of connection. Just cut off one of those, twist the wire onto the barrel connector from a failed HD-PVR power supply, apply a bit of solder, or use a crimped butt connector, and you will be good to go as long as the HD-PVR isn't too far from the PC. You can just feed the cord out the back of the PC where the PCI cards would go.

That was exactly my plan. :-)

stuckless 07-30-2015 05:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dstanley (Post 574546)
I actually bought my brackets from eBay but I wanted to find a reliable link to show what they looked like. I followed this guide here:
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Mounting...PVR_Internally

I have Molex tools and used cut off cables from dead power supply's that I had from old HD-PVR's

Dwight

This is a great idea, indeed. I thought I was the only one who was replacing HDPVR power supplies :( I've bought them from several places, but I now usually just end up buying them direct from Hauppauge. The last time I bought twice as many as I needed, and I'm already on my last set :(

Taddeusz 08-02-2015 06:12 AM

Sorry it took me so long to get back. Apparently I got it and my HDHomeRun power supply mixed up. I had ordered one from Digi-Key. The one on my HD-PVR is and old D-Link power supply, model AF1805-A 5.0v 3A.

timg11 08-02-2015 02:07 PM

I've been investigating spare power supplies for my HD-PVR also. Based on the experiences shared here, that's the weakest link, so I should have a spare or two. Due to the room layout, my HD-PVR is about 10 feet from the SageTV server computer. USB works OK over that distance, but I'm thinking there might be too much voltage drop on 5V DC unless I used really large wire. Although I like the "PC power supply and bracket" approach, I'm going to stick with a standalone power supply. (also, there might be "ground loop" issues - differences between the PC's ground potential and the component video input ground. I know that's a common problem with audio, but I'm not sure if it would be equally problematic with analog video).

There are many 5V 3A power supplies available, with varying levels of quality.
From my measurements, the HD-PVR power connectors is 5.5mm OD and 1.3mm ID.
Most of these off the shelf power supplies have 5.5mm by 2.1 or 2.5mm ID connectors. So you can hope it is reliable with a bit of mis-alignment, or cut off the plugs from bad power supplies and solder them on the new.

Here's an example of one that looks very similar to the original, but has the 2.5 mm ID plug.

I'm thinking that if 3A supplies have a short lifetime, maybe 4A or 5A capacity would be less stressed and last longer?

One I found is from All Electronics
CAT Number PS-544. This is a laptop-style 5V 4A inline supply, rather than a wall-wart style.

Edit June 2016 - PS-544 is gone, but PS-534 is a 5V 3A supply http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...-supply/1.html

There are also a number of open-frame type 5V 5A supplies for LEDs (such as this). They appear to be Chinese imports of unknown quality. One commenter mentioned excessive ripple so they may not be usable for HD-PVRs.

From commercial distributors like Mouser, there are some options:
That is 5V 5A but the plug is 2.1mm ID. It's a bit expensive for quantity 1 because Mouser is a commercial distributor and doesn't want small orders. I'm not convinced buying a product from a unknown manufacturer like "Meanwell" through Mouser is worthwhile, when comparing to a similar product from an unknown manufacturer (UpBright) on eBay at half the price.

I think I'll order one or two from All Electronics and see how it performs.

timg11 08-09-2015 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by timg11 (Post 574710)
One I found is from All Electronics
CAT Number PS-544. This is a laptop-style 5V 4A inline supply, rather than a wall-wart style.

I have received the PS-544 from All Electronics. I can confirm that it works with the HD-PVR. I did have to change the plug, since the one it comes with is the wrong diameter.

KryptoNyte 08-09-2015 05:04 PM

I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.

Taddeusz 08-09-2015 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 574931)
I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.

The problem is that constantly using power supplies that will go out is that then could eventually cause permanent damage to the attached device.

ccsmoke 08-10-2015 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 574931)
I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.

When mine went out, I started noticing a delay, then started getting some sound dropouts. About 2 weeks later I rebooted the computer and it wouldn't recognize the device under usb. I replaced with Dlink one.

Narflex 08-21-2015 02:50 PM

Thanks for the recommendation here...I did the 5V+ molex connector to the HDPVRs this past weekend and it's working beautifully. :)

KryptoNyte 08-22-2015 03:10 PM

Got a photo of that connection, Narflex?

Narflex 08-22-2015 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KryptoNyte (Post 575859)
Got a photo of that connection, Narflex?

No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. :) (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)

KryptoNyte 08-22-2015 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Narflex (Post 575861)
.... Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

Fingers crossed, I don't burn the house down.

Olias 08-25-2015 06:29 PM

Don't these newbies know to search before they ask questions? :)
Here's a long running thread about HD-PVR power supplies and replacements.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57010

Fuzzy 08-26-2015 01:14 AM

It's a shame is that the HD-PVR2 runs on pesky 6V instead of the much happier 5V.

tvmaster2 08-26-2015 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Narflex (Post 575861)
No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. :) (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)

four pictures are worth 4,000 words :)
if you ever get time, it would be great to see those four steps in color

wayner 08-26-2015 06:52 PM

I did the same thing - here is my photo. I used butt connectors rather than soldering.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/zw...=w1104-h828-no

tvmaster2 08-26-2015 07:36 PM

the HDPVR is up on top?

wayner 08-26-2015 07:39 PM

Yes - it is on a shelf a few feet away with my cable boxes. I have three cable boxes and two HD-PVRs although I will soon be hooking up a third HD-PVR.

tvmaster2 08-26-2015 08:56 PM

excellent idea labelling the end of the drives :clap:

wayner 08-26-2015 08:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tvmaster2 (Post 576085)
excellent idea labelling the end of the drives :clap:

You learn by experience! In fact it is a good idea to have different drive sizes or manufacturers to know which one to pull when the drive goes bad. Luckily this server doesn't have two of any of the same drive, unlike some of my previous hardware.

rickgode 09-15-2015 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Narflex (Post 575861)
No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. :) (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)

THIS! BEST IDEA EVER! I knew I read it somewhere. I just spliced my power supply from the CPU to my HD-PVR and it is working perfectly now! I only went through two Hauppauge power supplies!

Thanks guys!

Ricky


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.