SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Mac Edition (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   sagetv placeshifter and mountain lion (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60389)

skyonic 05-30-2013 08:06 PM

sagetv placeshifter and mountain lion
 
does anyone know if placeshifter 6.6.2 works with mountain lion?

thank you

Carlton Bale 05-31-2013 05:46 AM

I'm not sure about placeshifter. I use the mobile web interface plug-in with Safari and that works well for watching and managing TV recordings.

will 06-04-2013 07:45 PM

Placeshifter does not work on the OS X ML. I had issues just getting past the setup screen after connecting to the server (luckily you can get around it by modifying your client properties file on your server). However, every time I tried to play a video it crashed... :bang:

I am running SageTV client though on a iMac. I run Sage on Windows 7 in Parallels Desktop 8. It works great, buttery smooth if you use the right codec (I'm using CoreAVC 3). I was even able to get an IR remote to work (a Tivo remote - if you are wondering) by setting Parallels to use the built-in IR sensor of the Mac. I love it and it works great as my Kitchen TV/Computer. With Parallels you can even run the client in coherence mode so you don't have to see Windows, just the SageTV app that runs great full-screen or windowed (I have a SageTV icon in my dock even and the power button on my remote can launch the app if Sage is off).

So that is a solution; a pretty good one once you get it setup. Because of how great the client works for me, I'm sure you could also get Placeshifter to work within Parallels.

Another option, which I just implemented, is hooking up a Slingbox 350 to an extender. It works well for watching TV, though the quality, even on network, isn't as good as a client/extender. However, when you are remote, the Slingbox has much better quality than Placeshifter and you can watch DVDs and use your iPad, iPhone, Android, or any computer as a client.

tvmaster2 06-07-2013 07:45 PM

so with the Slingbox, I'd connect it to a HD200 for example? How would I view and control Sage remotely in this scenario....could I use an iPad as a viewing/control device when I'm in say the U.K.?

will 06-08-2013 09:31 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by tvmaster2 (Post 553129)
How would I view and control Sage remotely in this scenario...

You could view SageTV either through a computer by visiting watch.slingbox.com, via an iPhone/iPad/Android (each App costs $15), or via Sony Internet Player with Google TV/Netgear NeoTV/WD TV devices (I believe the Slingbox app is free for those devices but I haven't verified this).

You can control your HD200 via an IR blaster that is built into your Slingbox. It works and can control an HD200 as long as you use the proper custom remote setup. I've attached the custom remote file I found online and verified that it works. Just don't be taken back that the remote looks generic, the author didn't create an image of the SageTV remote. When I first loaded it, I expected my SageTV remote to appear so I didn't think it was loading correctly until I finally just tried it out.

The only issue with the built in IR blaster is that the video feed from the Slingbox is on a ~5 second delay so sending commands can be tedious to say the least. A good work around for that is to setup TiSageTV remote and use your phone to select what to play on the HD200. I use it and it works pretty well except for when the app crashes every now and then.

I've attached a screen shot of what SageTV looks like when viewed from a web browser (it can play fullscreen or as a pop-up window you can resize). The text for the UI isn't sharp like Placeshifter but video looks great, esp. when compared to using Placeshifter remotely (and you can play anything your HD200 can).

tvmaster2 06-08-2013 09:41 PM

ok, thanks for all this info. I have a WDTV somewhere, just not sure if it's the correct version. iPad is likely the way I'd go. What's the best part of using a Slingbox over other remote methods?

will 06-09-2013 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tvmaster2 (Post 553168)
What's the best part of using a Slingbox over other remote methods?

For me the best part is how easy it works and the lack of transcoding. My Sage server is getting old and is unable to do live transcoding of h.264 recordings (HD-PVR recordings). With a Slingbox, the device takes care of all the transcoding. Also, the Slingbox can adjust quality on the fly for your connection. So if you are viewing the recording on your iPhone with LTE and go into a 3g area it will lower the quality so the video can keep playing - I don't believe the other Sage mobile options can do that.

Of course the big downside to Slingbox is that it costs money. However, I have been very satisfied and think it is a good value.

skyonic 07-25-2013 09:51 PM

to Answer my original question
 
Just wanted to say ... i borrowed a 2013 Macbook pro 13" with mountain lion ... installed Placeshifter

had zero issues connecting and playing back anything off my sagetv server

upon installing placeshifter, sage required an auto download to get Java, took a could of minutes and it worked fine

i had NO issues

will 07-26-2013 07:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skyonic (Post 554743)
Just wanted to say ... i borrowed a 2013 Macbook pro 13" with mountain lion ... installed Placeshifter

had zero issues connecting and playing back anything off my sagetv server

upon installing placeshifter, sage required an auto download to get Java, took a could of minutes and it worked fine

i had NO issues

What version of Java are you running?

bs4free 11-01-2013 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skyonic (Post 554743)
Just wanted to say ... i borrowed a 2013 Macbook pro 13" with mountain lion ... installed Placeshifter

had zero issues connecting and playing back anything off my sagetv server

upon installing placeshifter, sage required an auto download to get Java, took a could of minutes and it worked fine

i had NO issues

Could you please tell me how, I have been trying for a year with no luck..

skyonic 01-09-2014 11:11 AM

sagetv on mac os 10.9
 
1 Attachment(s)
ok i'm using a mid 2010 i5 macbook pro i have a clean install of 10.9 java 1.6

on the back end i'm running sage 6.6 with winxp.. i hope this answers some questions, i have not tested other any other os yet


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.