SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Customizations (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Plugin: PlayOn in Online Services (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon VOD, etc.) (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44446)

joe123 05-28-2010 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 (Post 427823)
Anyone think this is doable?

Thanks

Sounds like it will work, but let's think about this.

You are suggesting virtual IPs on the PVR server, but the end point (HD200 in my case) has only one IP and cannot be changed without major SageTV mods. No?

Your idea on the surface looks good however :D

jpaddock3000 05-28-2010 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joe123 (Post 427824)
You are suggesting virtual IPs on the PVR server, but the end point (HD200 in my case) has only one IP and cannot be changed without major SageTV mods. No?

Yeah, my idea is to have multiple virtual IPs on the PVR server and to utilize those for the requests to PlayOn. The clients and media extenders will connect to the normal NIC on the server and nothing should need to change with the clients. Just some fancy footwork is needed to get everything transferred properly. It may be as easy as updating the podcast feed URL to be going through the virtual IP as a proxy to the PlayOn server.

jpaddock3000 05-28-2010 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 (Post 427826)
Yeah, my idea is to have multiple virtual IPs on the PVR server and to utilize those for the requests to PlayOn. The clients and media extenders will connect to the normal NIC on the server and nothing should need to change with the clients. Just some fancy footwork is needed to get everything transferred properly. It may be as easy as updating the podcast feed URL to be going through the virtual IP as a proxy to the PlayOn server.

To add on to my idea, I found that it is really simple to install loopback adapters in Windows. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/839013

You can then setup NAT: http://forum.codecall.net/tutorials/...indows-xp.html

This should be a good start to get PlayOn to see multiple IP addresses.

EP, anyway you can start playing with these ideas to see if it is feasible?

Thanks

mzup 05-28-2010 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 424058)
Don't worry, pretty soon this constant cycle of breaking/fixing won't be an issue...

http://static.flickr.com/4059/4621660286_ef26867646.jpg

Ok I just installed 7 and am I missing something cause I don't see the upnp browser plugin as an option? Had it working in 6 with no problems.

OK Nevermind. I must be losing my mind I saw the next time I looked. Is there any way to make the amount of clicks it takes to get to it shorter?

BBCritical 05-29-2010 02:22 PM

Menu items In V7
 
My menu options do not show up in online services. I have Online -> More Online Videos ->Online Services Exe Menu -> UPnP browser -> A menu with various upnp servers on my network including Playon -> Playon

Is it supposed to be this way?

Is there any way I can change this to directly add the playon menus to the more online videos section? I am using the default xml....

:confused:

joe123 05-30-2010 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 (Post 427831)
EP, anyway you can start playing with these ideas to see if it is feasible?


Evil, any change you will be adding this any time soon? PlayOn policies says that they will stream more than one stream to any PlayOn license, so we are playing by the rules.

Having this feature will enable us to be able to stop a stream, switch and later come back and be able to resume the first stream where we left off.

evilpenguin 05-30-2010 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joe123 (Post 428141)
Evil, any change you will be adding this any time soon?

Nope, that idea won't work. The Sage Server is the one who actually asks for the video so they would be the ones that would have to fake the multiple IP addresses. Prolly the best bet is to explain to PlayON how SageTV and its extenders interact and ask them to allow multiple streams to the same IP address.

Peter_h 05-30-2010 09:02 PM

Hey EP,

I've been having problems with the plugin for SageTV 7. I posted in that thread, show I be posting here instead?

-Peter

jpaddock3000 05-30-2010 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 428197)
Nope, that idea won't work. The Sage Server is the one who actually asks for the video so they would be the ones that would have to fake the multiple IP addresses. Prolly the best bet is to explain to PlayON how SageTV and its extenders interact and ask them to allow multiple streams to the same IP address.

EP, doesn't your plugin tell Sage what URL to access? If so, wouldn't providing a url that uses a proxy that then goes to the correct location work? I don't know what a playon url looks like, but think of this as an example.

Current UPnP2Podcast:

URL=http://netflix.com/movies/abc123

Modified version of UPnP2Podcast:

URL=http://192.168.1.50@http://netflix.com/movies/abc123

This would then send the request to the 192.168.1.50 network adapter which would then send everything past the @ to the playon server from a different IP address.

Does this make sense?

Thanks

jpaddock3000 05-31-2010 03:00 PM

I also did contact PlayOn about allow multiple streams to the same device and this is their response.

Dear Jason,

Unfortunately this isn’t something that we can correct as DLNA has restrictions that we can’t overcome and this would be one instance of that. When we recognize a device we get the IP address and user agent string. This is what we see as “different devices”. Somehow the guy that made the SageTV plugin would need to spoof the IP address and user agent strings to get a new stream to start.

Regards,
Alex

PlayOn Support
www.playon.tv

joe123 05-31-2010 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taddeusz (Post 385087)
Anyway, I've decided to install VMWare Server and create a virtual machine for not only PlayOn but also my other non-critical functions such as commercial detection.

Anyone figured out how to process PlayON for commercial dectection?

joe123 05-31-2010 03:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 (Post 428402)
Somehow the guy that made the SageTV plugin would need to spoof the IP address and user agent strings to get a new stream to start.

Evil, that's you! :D

joe123 05-31-2010 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 (Post 428402)
I also did contact PlayOn about allow multiple streams to the same device and this is their response.

I concur. I too asked PlayOn about streaming to two HD200 from one PVR and here is what they said:

Dear Joe,

I actually had a customer ask this same question earlier. PlayOn will stream to multiple devices. However, in your instance your PC
is the device because your Sage boxes are just extenders. PlayOn will only stream to a single video to one device. This means that
your PC will be that one device and that even though you have 2 Sage boxes they will only be able to be used one at a time. If the
SageTV PlayOn plugin developer can come up with a unique way to spoof the IP address and the User Agent for the device then it
should work. But the developer of the SageTV plugin will need to do this as there is nothing we can do to fix this on our end.

Regards,
Alex

PlayOn Support
www.playon.tv
So PlayOn is OK with being able to stream to more than one SageTV HD200 (or suitable display).

evilpenguin 06-07-2010 02:12 PM

I'm having Andy lock down this thread in favor of the v7 version. Please don't repost old issues in new thread, i'm aware of them and i'll get to them when I have the time.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.