SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Okoro HTPC w SageTV Option (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41344)

HelenWeathers 04-20-2009 10:01 AM

Okoro HTPC w SageTV Option
 
http://www.geektonic.com/2009/04/oko...indows-or.html

Brent (GeekTonic) has this up today.

Okoro's Media PC has options of SageTV, SageTV HD Extenders and Hauppauge HD-PVR.

mikejaner 04-20-2009 11:28 AM

Quote:

To see pricing, contact the Okoro sales team
Fail

Edit: Let me explain myself. This usually means if you have to ask, you are not willing to pay 3X the price for what you can build yourself. :)

Brent 04-20-2009 11:41 AM

Yes, it's definitely meant for the high-end consumer who calls up the custom installer and has them do everything for them. And yes it will cost a LOT.

Good to see SageTV getting some traction in that market actually.

mikejaner 04-20-2009 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brent (Post 353870)
Yes, it's definitely meant for the high-end consumer who calls up the custom installer and has them do everything for them. And yes it will cost a LOT.

Good to see SageTV getting some traction in that market actually.

Good point. In today's market though, it's gonna be though.

QueOnda 04-20-2009 11:46 AM

You can actually price out the system: http://www.okoromedia.com/custsys2.asp

I did a quick and dirty check and seems they are charging $247 for SageTV install.

spike5884 07-24-2010 10:08 AM

At it again
 
Looks like they have a new version out with CableCard support. And according to the article, still has the SageTv option!!!

Okoro's ultraslim SX100 HTPC updated with quad CableCARD support

gplasky 07-24-2010 10:33 AM

Either WMC or SageTV is a choice when you order the system. But either product only supports the tuners they currently support. Okoro's cablecard tuner still requires DRM and as such wouldn't work with Sage, The default tuner, Saber 2020 works with either media center software.

Gerry

zjennings 07-24-2010 12:19 PM

Quad CableCard and SageTV .... Done!
 
If Okoro can do it, why can't we?

http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/24/o...ecard-support/

Quad CableCard with WMC or SageTV (optional).

Just waiting for the word from Ceton that these cards are actually shipping.

Yippie!

Zach

* merged *

Fuzzy 07-24-2010 01:03 PM

SageTV is an option on that system.. They don't say anywhere that the CableCard tuner WORKS with sage. Don't read things that aren't there. The default tuner (the 2020) DOES work with sage.

Fuzzy 07-25-2010 04:55 PM

I'm positive they can't do 'CableCard in Sage'. All they say is that they can preinstall SageTV on their system. Also, stop making new threads when there are threads existing covering the topic already.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...284#post438284

zjennings 07-25-2010 04:58 PM

Oops
 
Sorry, that didn't show up in my user CP.

Must be a bug in the system. It looked like my post had been deleted.

Oh, and, you're wrong. Just because that is what their website used to say, does not mean it didn't change.

I'm guessing SageTV 7 (since that is what they say will be installed) will work with Ceton's Quad CableCard tuner.

But since neither the Ceton card or SageTV 7 is officially out yet, I guess we will just have to wait and see.

Zach

* duplicate posts from multiple threads deleted *

zjennings 07-25-2010 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuzzy (Post 438299)
SageTV is an option on that system.. They don't say anywhere that the CableCard tuner WORKS with sage. Don't read things that aren't there. The default tuner (the 2020) DOES work with sage.

Fuzzy, where does it say that?

"Your Choice of Software
Choose between Windows 7 or our SageTV 7 software. You can even have it without any software. We give you the option to purchase our HTPCs with or without software with additional savings to you."

That's all it says. SageTV 7!

Must be that they know something that we don't?

Zach

zjennings 07-25-2010 05:07 PM

Merging
 
I posted this in a new thread, should have added it here. Sorry.

If Okoro can do it, why can't we. If you go to http://www.okoromedia.com/model.asp?model=SX100

Choose "Customize"

Then choose SageTV.

Your only option on the next page for a tuner is a Quad CableCard tuner: "Quad (4) Digital CableCard Tuners - Record 4 Premium HD Cable Channels"

It must be Ceton's quad tuner in there. If they got it working, it shouldn't be a problem for us. Can't wait for those cards to be available.

Zach

gplasky 07-25-2010 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zjennings (Post 438446)
I posted this in a new thread, should have added it here. Sorry.

If Okoro can do it, why can't we. If you go to http://www.okoromedia.com/model.asp?model=SX100

Choose "Customize"

Then choose SageTV.

Your only option on the next page for a tuner is a Quad CableCard tuner: "Quad (4) Digital CableCard Tuners - Record 4 Premium HD Cable Channels"

It must be Ceton's quad tuner in there. If they got it working, it shouldn't be a problem for us. Can't wait for those cards to be available.

Zach

You need to look a little closer.
The Ceton is the only known 4-tuner cablecard tuner. On Ceton's own website it states this is currently only supported by Windows Media Center in Windows 7. (Not supported by previous Windows Media Centers or Sage TV)

They offer SageTV or Windows Media Center because the default tuner that comes with the card is the OTA Saber 2020. Either one will work with that tuner card.

The version of SageTV they offer is 6.5(?) where 6.6 is really the released version. They is no support within SageTV 6.6 for any of the following that the Ceton board supports:
Quote:

•Open Cable Unidirectional Receiver Specification - OC-SP-OCUR-I08-081114
•Digital Receiver Interface Specification - OC-SP-DRI-I03-090206
•CableCARD Copy Protection 2.0 Specification - OC-SP-CCCP2.0-I10-090904
•CableCARD Interface 2.0 Specification - OC-SP-CCIF2.0-I20-091211
Go all the way thru your "Customize Order" to Step 4, the Extras. There you can also order a Hauppague HD-PVR for use with your satellite or cable system.

There may be a chance that further on down the road SageTV 7 may support the Ceton tuner but that Okoro releases 8/22 and we have no idea when SageTV 7 will even be out of beta.

Don't get me wrong-I would love to have the Ceton card work with Sage. But for now it's not going to happen. Actually there is probably a better chance of Sage working with the SiliconDust Prime product before the Ceton card.

Gerry


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.