SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Customizations (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Plugin: PlayOn in Online Services (Hulu, Netflix, Amazon VOD, etc.) (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44446)

macsupergeek 05-18-2010 02:35 PM

Playon feeds
 
Has anyone successfully setup the TVLinks feed? I have the plugin installed and if I use a upnp browser I can see the feeds, the problem is that there is just too many to download the full list and I don't want all the feeds anyway, so I wanted to really break it down and define down to like the by letter feed or even specific shows, but I think the name of the feed is an issue as the sub folder to TVLinks is "TV:By Letter" and I think that colon is screwing up my search -- am I supposed to put like a ^ in there so that I can use the colon as a colon and not as a sub-folder marker?

mogrinz 05-18-2010 10:30 PM

Stuck on "The Video list is downloading"
 
I've enjoyed Hulu for months now, but suddenly I am always stuck on "The Video List is downloading"

I've narrowed it down to UPnP2Podcast hanging when I run

UPnP2Podcast.exe "PlayOn:Hulu:+2" debug

The problem is - nothing has changed on that PC or my network. Still no anti-virus installed, and Windows Firewall is OFF. I've updated to the latest PlayOn software as well.

Is anyone having similar problems or do you have any suggestions?

patja 05-19-2010 09:13 AM

Memory consumption issue?
 
First, love the plugin. Functionally it is working great for me. I'm running WHS with HD200 extenders, and running Playon on a separate Windows 7 machine that is beefier than my WHS box.

An issue I am observing which may or may not be related to the Playon plugin is creeping memory consumption on SageTVService.exe on the WHS box. Once it gets over 400MB or so, I see impacts on all Sage functions (recorded TV, videos, just navigating the UI) and need to restart the service on the WHS box to resolve the problem.

I have seen this before with other plugins and it seemed to get resolved by updates to those plugins. Other than this one, I only run the web interface and SJQ. The only reason I think the Playon plugin might be causing the problem is that everything was running very stable for months, and I only saw the creeping upward memory consumption past about the 300MB barrier when I installed the Playon plugin. It takes a few days to get up past 450MB or so where I see it impact general usability of Sage.

Is there a log or other diagnostic I can enable to get more information to determine if it is the playon plugin causing the problem?

markds 05-19-2010 02:10 PM

playon 2.59.3790.84 05/18/2010
 
Looks like it broke with most recent upgrade. The comedy central premium preview not showing. Colbert & Daily returning no video(s).
Everything else seems ok. (Hulu, Netflix, etc.)
Per playon support:
"The problem is with your device. It is not browing the actual folders PlayOn is advertising. It may have a bug where it is caching old/stale data.

Since we do not test with or support that device, we do not know why it would do this"

:confused:

evilpenguin 05-19-2010 02:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by markds (Post 424052)
Looks like it broke with most recent upgrade. The comedy central premium preview not showing. Colbert & Daily returning no video(s).:

Don't worry, pretty soon this constant cycle of breaking/fixing won't be an issue...

http://static.flickr.com/4059/4621660286_ef26867646.jpg

markds 05-19-2010 02:19 PM

thanks for the teaser
 
:)
looking good
thanks for the link

ace007 05-19-2010 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 424058)
Don't worry, pretty soon this constant cycle of breaking/fixing won't be an issue...

http://static.flickr.com/4059/4621660286_ef26867646.jpg

Curious why it won't be a issue if Play-on keeps changing their interfaces. What will be different with the integration with the new version of Sage?

evilpenguin 05-19-2010 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ace007 (Post 424116)
Curious why it won't be a issue if Play-on keeps changing their interfaces. What will be different with the integration with the new version of Sage?

What time is it? Past 6pm EST? Perfect!

Sage was nice enough to add the dynamic sub-folders I requested to v7. I had originally requested them to add in support for Netflix TV shows, but I soon realized that with a little ingenuity I could use also use them to implement a *completely generic* UPnP browser like you have on the Wii/PS3/XBox.

In other words NO MORE .PROPERTIES FILES! :goodjob:

ace007 05-19-2010 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 424119)
What time is it? Past 6pm EST? Perfect!

Sage was nice enough to add the dynamic sub-folders I requested to v7. I had originally requested them to add in support for Netflix TV shows, but I soon realized that with a little ingenuity I could use also use them to implement a *completely generic* UPnP browser like you have on the Wii/PS3/XBox.

In other words NO MORE .PROPERTIES FILES! :goodjob:

Cool.. so will you be releasing a new version of your plug in tomorrow to go with the Version 7 beta. :dance:

Unfortunately I think I'll probably need to wait a few weeks before upgrading to the beta to keep myself out of trouble with the wife if there are still too many issues but I'm looking forward to the upgrade.

evilpenguin 05-19-2010 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ace007 (Post 424127)
Cool.. so will you be releasing a new version of your plug in tomorrow to go with the Version 7 beta. :dance:

Unfortunately I think I'll probably need to wait a few weeks before upgrading to the beta to keep myself out of trouble with the wife if there are still too many issues but I'm looking forward to the upgrade.

It's already available in Sage's brand new built in v7 Plug-in manager :)

skyeclad 05-19-2010 04:59 PM

Oh this is so good. Just what we really needed!

PLUCKYHD 05-19-2010 05:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evilpenguin (Post 424130)
It's already available in Sage's brand new built in v7 Plug-in manager :)

And it is working great :)

gibsonpa 05-19-2010 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD (Post 424161)
And it is working great :)

This is GREAT news! Have been using the plug in for many months...and no issues. This plug-in has pegged the WAF at 100% for months!

Thanks for all the hard work.

evilpenguin 05-20-2010 02:06 PM

FYI, the new v7 UPnP Browser plug-in is available.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48429

Please go ahead and upgrade the v7 and start using this. I'll prolly try and keep the .properties for this plug-in going while v7 is in Beta but once it goes official i'll be stopping.

dinki 05-20-2010 02:32 PM

EP, will the v7 version of the plugin support the cache file I have to use to connect to my Playon server (not on the SageTV server)?

evilpenguin 05-20-2010 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dinki (Post 424612)
EP, will the v7 version of the plugin support the cache file I have to use to connect to my Playon server (not on the SageTV server)?

Yep, just copy the .cache files over to be next to UPnPBrowser.exe and you'll be good to go. Truth be told, that version I sent you a while back was just UPnPBrowser re-named ;)

mbowling 05-20-2010 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by patja (Post 423965)
An issue I am observing which may or may not be related to the Playon plugin is creeping memory consumption on SageTVService.exe on the WHS box. Once it gets over 400MB or so, I see impacts on all Sage functions (recorded TV, videos, just navigating the UI) and need to restart the service on the WHS box to resolve the problem.

I am also experiencing heavy memory usage by SageTVService.exe. As a workaround I created a scheduled task to stop and start the SageTV service each day. It would be nice to understand the cause and have a resolution.

Zippster 05-20-2010 05:16 PM

Just installed Sage 7 and your plugin is now perfect without all the propertie file issues and hold backs, this is exactly what I was waiting for to buy a 200 to replace my 100 in the family room, being able to search ALL of the Playon server for whatever I want. Thanks EP :clap:

jm9843 05-20-2010 06:29 PM

Never mind! I found my answer on the "SageTV v7 Customizations" forum.

Quote:

Is my configuration for the new Sage v. 7 plugin typical?

I have to navigate to Hulu with the following clicks (8 of them!):

Online -> More Online Videos -> Online Services Exe Menu -> Online Services Exe Menu -> UPnP Browser -> PlayOn -> Hulu

Is there a way to reduce the # of clicks to get to the good stuff with the new plugin. Maybe a way to specify a default UPnP server to skip the "UPnP Browser" step at the very least?

Thanks and great work on the plugin!

mkanet 05-21-2010 07:50 PM

Support for Playon plugins
 
Sorry if this has been covered. I tried searching around but couldnt find an answer.

I just added a Playon plugin. It's showing up under the "Plugins" tab of the Playon Settings. However, I dont see anything related to it when I look through the different channels under Online Services. Do I need to manually add an entry somewhere? If so, could someone please be kind enough to show me how to do it? I have already upgrade Playon to the latest version and restarted my PC.

Thanks in advance!
Michael


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.