SageTV Community

SageTV Community (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/index.php)
-   SageTV Software (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   wiz.bin corruption?? (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65984)

mgpaulus 05-22-2019 04:56 PM

wiz.bin corruption??
 
I have some wierdnesses happening, and I'm thinking I have a problem with my wiz.bin.

I have a cr@pload of recordings (I'm at work and I don't have specifics at hand. If needed, I can provide). I also have a much smaller set of Videos that are mainly rips or other sources (playon, etc).

The issue I see is, every once in a while, if I "move" a media file from Videos to Recordings, it screwed up my listings.

E.g., recently I moved Mission: Impossible, Rogue Nation from Videos to Recordings. When I went to look for it in Recordings, I see Rogue Nation is now has 112 "copies" or instances. However, when I look at the actual details of one of the instances, I see that the entry is actually for another file.
If I go into BMT and try to update details for that 2nd instance that isn't the correct file, then it seems to also change details for some (I haven't looked to see how many instances it affects) of the other duplicate shows.

My conclusion is that I have some linked entries in wiz.bin that shouldn't be linked. And I'm not sure how to correct this. I don't want to delete the duplicates, because I'm afraid it'll delete the underlying file, which I don't want to happen.

Just wondered if anyone else had seen anything like this, or if they have any ideas on how to correct the issue?

Thanks

PeteCress 08-25-2019 01:17 PM

I get the occasional Wiz.bin corruption and my workaround has been to back it up nightly, so I have a large number of backup copies.

When things go South, I fall back to the previous night's backup and, if that doesn't work, rinse and repeat until it does.

Two things I discovered long ago:
  • It's bad practice to use Windows' FileManager to delete movies and TV recordings. Creates response problems navigating lists... Pointers to nowhere in Wiz.bin is my guess.
    .
  • Booting up Sage with a props file devoid of any
    movie or TV import refs, letting it run for a few min, and then shutting it down and re-booting with the regular props file seems to have a "Compact-and-Repair" effect on Wiz,bin.

nyplayer 08-25-2019 06:25 PM

Forum must be slow responding to threads 3 months old .. Joking :rofl::rofl::rofl:

NoodleNT 08-29-2019 08:41 PM

Just noticed mine is like 2 GB! What are the correct steps to fix this now?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.